We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever, no doubt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sorbettiera

La Sorbettiera
P.zza T.Tasso, 11/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
055 5120336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,966 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: "Vi mostriamo come si fa" è il nostro slogan. Gelateria artigianale di lunga tradizione, produciamo giornalmente nel nostro laboratorio a vista un gelato di qualità, anche senza glutine. Il gelato alla frutta è privo di lattosio e derivati del latte, preparato prevalentemente con frutta fresca di stagione. Ogni gusto è studiato nei minimi particolari. E poi.....Frappè, frullati, semifreddi.....e tanto altro. Cono o coppetta? Specialità: Crema antica, Catrame (cioccolato fondente), cacio e pere, ricotta, caprino, pistacchio, nocciola e tanto altro!
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best ever, no doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

last year we went to rome and then i said: best gelato ever!!!
nothing like coming to Florence and realizing how wrong i was!!
La Sorbttiera is the place i will recomend to anyone traveling to Tuscany and hopefully we will come back one day!
Salted Caramel is one you can't miss, but they are all great and you can even ask to try a spoon of one or 2 flavours... i even tried asking in italian, but english was fine too. (chocolate is so tastyyy... and mulberry - gelso in italian nhammy) Nothing to compare with those artigianale on the streets os firenze! Believe the reviews... it's really THAT good! (this coming from a lactose intolerant that is willing to take risks once in a while...)
What we did was, got on the bus nº13 back to town from Piazzale michelangelo and exited on Piazza T.Tasso. When facing the garden - your backside to the main road) it's on your right side then just go along the sidewalk. It's a tiny winy counter with such tresors inside! We enjoyed ours seating in the garden and went for a repeat!!! it was our last day in firenze!!!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    122
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Florence (maybe all of Italy?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well, technically it's tied for the best with Cantina del Gelato, but it turns out both establishments have the same supplier and serve the same ice cream. The owner at La Sorbettieria is very friendly and speaks excellent English, and part of the fun of going there is seeing what new flavors are available, as a couple of the flavors change daily. La Sorbettieria was our local haunt while we lived for three weeks in Florence, and on an academic trip a bit later, I brought a group of 20 college students there to taste it for themselves. Every single one of them proclaimed it the best gelato they'd found in Italy. Friendly service, generous servings, fair prices, and incredibly good ice cream—it's the total package. Try a waffle cone with salted caramel, caffe and buontalenti as your three scoop combo.
One note on location: Google Maps has it wrong, so if you're looking for it on your iPhone, note that it's along the wall on the Tasso square, right between two of the trattorias. Look for the awning directly across from one of the soccer courts and you've found it. Closed on Wednesdays.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Total delusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm a great fan of ice creams and her products. and so i decided to look on tripadvisor what are the best places. i wish i couldn't do it after walking for 30minutes we found it. Was nothing special the same think or maybe better for sure u can find it in a lot of places.
Nit even economicly.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant gelato & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

If only this gelato store was closer to our hotel we would be here twice a day! Instead we visited it after Gusta Pizza & it topped off a lovely meal
The guy serving was fantastic & we sampled a few flavours before making our choice. My boyfriend said the banana flavour was his favourite. The caramel salt, hazenlnut & a special Firenze cream flavour were the others we chose & we did not regret it. Brilliant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Gelato, away from the crowds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Over the bridge, past all of the touristy areas, right next to this little park, you'll find one of the best gelatos I have ever had in my ENTIRE LIFE. No joke.

So, I found this place on trip advisor and the reviews were so high, I just HAD TO drag my friends along with me. It's a walk away from the Boboli Gardens, but I think it's completely worth it. Unlike other gelato places, they don't have their gelatos on display. Instead, they're kept in these metal containers that are covered with a metal lid. That's when you know it's legit.

Flavors:

Cookies: BEST FLAVOR EVER. No lie. There are huge chunks of chocolate fudge-like cookies with vanilla gelato and it's just delicious. The cookies are crunchy yet fudge-y..there's seriously no way to describe the magic that is the cookies gelato.

Dark Chocolate: ANOTHER AMAZING FLAVOR. Ok, this thing is apparently like 70% cacao and if you're like me, and you prefer your chocolate dark. This is the gelato for you. It's sooooooo rich in flavor. So chocolatey (and not that sweet fake chocolate stuff). This stuff is real chocolate and it's delicious!

Salted Caramel: highly recommended on trip advisor and with good reason. This thing is delicious. The salt brings out the caramel flavor and it's so rich and flavorful and amazing.

If you're in florence and you have the time, or even if you don't, I say come here. It's a really local, non-touristy spot and you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorbettiera also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Sorbettiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sorbettiera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.