We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delle Nazioni Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delle Nazioni Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delle Nazioni Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 461 hotels in Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! The walls as do thin you can here people next door plugging things into the outlets!! I did not sleep at all because I could hear everything going on from all sides of the rooms next door; running water, flushing toilets, conversation, walking around, doors shutting, phones ringing, and some RIDICULOUS coulpe "making noises" for 2 hours! I called the front desk to complain about the noise and the response was, "ok". I would rather sleep in my car then stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Direttore generale at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Client,
We are very sorry that your stay was not according with your expectations.We were surprised of your review but you didn't come down at the front desk. to change the room as you asked following your call.
Our staff is always at disposal to satisfy customer's requests.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Delle Nazioni, we send our warmest wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    350
    199
    78
    33
See reviews for
146
321
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are a traveliing family of 2 adults and two kids and when we were about to check in the hotel, they were about to give us two double rooms on two different floors. My husband was about to let it go as we normally use one room for the entire family as kids co-sleep with us. But anyone with the right mind would find that way too impractical.

Luckily, we pressed on. The reception staff was just way too busy at that moment to attend to our needs but then she asked us to wait so she could offer a solution.

After the peak time in the hotel passed, they were able to listen to the situation and managed to find us two rooms in one floor, not adjacent to each other. If only family rooms were vacant!

We asked for the baby cot but they were able to provide only after 8PM probably due to misunderstanding again.

The kids love the breakfast so that's a good sign.

The hotel location is really close to Santa Maria Novella Train Station. We had a day trip to Pisa wherein the meeting place is the train station so that worked fine for us.

I suppose thumbs up for this hotel in terms of addressing problems.But these problems should be avoided in the first place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Hotel.
We are really sorry that you have to wait a longer time for the check-in, usually when it comes as family it is specified in the booking especially with kids, we did not know that you were a family until your arrival, as you saw we did our best to satisfy your request.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel, we promise no troubles
Best regards,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I guess my title begs the question of where the center of Florence lies, but right next to the Santa Maria Novella train station is good enough for travelers. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough (for those looking for accommodation in this price range).
I have brought three tour groups three times now and recommended it to an English friend who thoroughly enjoyed his stay. There is free wifi throughout the building and half a dozen desktops in the reception lounge. The breakfast is excellent: you have a choice of cereals, bacon, eggs, sausages, toast, cheese, etc., with tea, coffee, or juices.
The Nazioni has been modernized and represents excellent value for money in a central location.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr David,
We really appreciated your review, after three stays at the Hotel Delle Nazioni, you are our best testimonial of the services offered: rooms, breakfast, internet connection, cleaness... You had the opportunity to verify the changes, group after group
We are working hard every day to improve our hotel to offer a better service. We look forward to welcome you in the near future,
Sincerely,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked 2 double rooms at Delle Nazioni...
Spacious rooms with wifi service, big toilets, served great breakfast for a hotel of this grade and price!
The lady reception was the friendliest and most helpful we've met throughout our entire Italy trip!

Restaurant Tip: Discovered a very nice Italian restaurant *forgotten the name but it's just by the main road which one will hardly miss* and is just 3 mins walk from Delle Nazioni Hotel.
They served the very best steak we've had throughout our entire trip in Italy, not forgetting their delicious pasta, risotto and has a wide range of wine selections!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Joane,

We really appreciate the beautiful words and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in our Hotel.
The restaurant that we recommend is called "Trattoria dell'Oste"
Thank you from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future.
Sincerely,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Located just next to the train station, you can simply walk from there for 2 minutes.
The room is very very spacious.
Breakfast, average, but still nice.
Free wifi, but you have to connect again each time you use your device.
Just one little comment, the bathroom is not very comfortable. The flushing of the toliet is not powerful enough, you have to flush a number of times. And the shower water was running like a pillar, not shower.

Room Tip: Think with this budget and location, it's a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Sandy,
thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Hotel.
We really appreciate the beautiful words and are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in the Hotel.
Thank you from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future.
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The courteous staff, spotless rooms and comfy beds made our trip to Florence so enjoyable. It was located across the street from the train station, so it was very convenient when we travelled on to Venice later in the week. The staff was wonderful--very helpful and acommodating. A wonderful hotel

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotels to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Italy for a week and we stayed in Rome (Hotel Impero), Florence and Venice (A Tribute to Music). Out of all 3 hotels, we both loved Delle Nazioni the best - not only because it was the cheapest, but because it was so fab that we found it hard to believe it's a 3-star hotel!

Location:
We chose this place because of its proximity to the train station; it's a 5 minute walk from Firenze Santa Maria Novella. We did get lost at first (we're not that great with map reading) and we almost missed it because it's in this nondescript building, but once we found it, we felt it was very easy to find our way around the area.

Room:
Once again, we got the highest floor and a room with a huge balcony (complete with a coffee table and 2 chairs) with a fantastic view to boot - it was breathtaking! We could even see the beautiful Medici Chapel from the balcony (side note: that's how close we were to some of the attractions too, e.g. the Statue of David was 15-20 mins away on foot).

Needless to say, sunrise was an amazing sight. Wake up early to catch it!

There were countless wall sockets around (one by each side of the bed, by the desk, etc.), a full-length mirror, a nice bathroom (boasts a bidet) and plenty of space to hang your clothes, put your luggage aside, etc. All I can say is considering the price we paid, we were really amazed at how great this hotel was.

Food:
Compared to our other hotels, the breakfast spread was quite good. There's eggs, all sorts of bread (plus a toaster), ham, cereal, coffee, hot chocolate, etc.

Hotel grub aside, there's this restaurant you HAVE to visit if you're in the area. Osteria dall'Oste is just down the road from the hotel and both the food AND the service is excellent. Try the Florentine bistecca - it's their signature dish and it's absolutely phenomenal.

---

I have to also mention that the service here at Delle Nazioni was good. They called us to check if everything was okay minutes after we stepped into the hotel room, and they're very polite and helpful. I'm definitely going to recommend this place to anyone who asks me for a great, value-for-money place to stay in Florence!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view and you'll get the one with the balcony - the noise from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delle Nazioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Nazioni Hotel

Address: Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delle Nazioni Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Delle Nazioni in Florence is located right next to Florence's main railway station Santa Maria Novella. All of the major attractions are only minutes walk away. Free high speed wi-fi internet, buffet breakfast and recently renovated rooms with private en suite bathrooms and LCD TV mean that you are guaranteed cheap, comfortable and central accommodation in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Delle Nazioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Nazioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delle Nazioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.