We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delle Nazioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Delle Nazioni Hotel to your Saves list
Delle Nazioni Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Located just next to the train station, you can simply walk from there for 2 minutes.
The room is very very spacious.
Breakfast, average, but still nice.
Free wifi, but you have to connect again each time you use your device.
Just one little comment, the bathroom is not very comfortable. The flushing of the toliet is not powerful enough, you have to flush a number of times. And the shower water was running like a pillar, not shower.

Room Tip: Think with this budget and location, it's a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Sandy,
thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Hotel.
We really appreciate the beautiful words and are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in the Hotel.
Thank you from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future.
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    330
    197
    73
    36
See reviews for
169
368
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The courteous staff, spotless rooms and comfy beds made our trip to Florence so enjoyable. It was located across the street from the train station, so it was very convenient when we travelled on to Venice later in the week. The staff was wonderful--very helpful and acommodating. A wonderful hotel

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotels to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Italy for a week and we stayed in Rome (Hotel Impero), Florence and Venice (A Tribute to Music). Out of all 3 hotels, we both loved Delle Nazioni the best - not only because it was the cheapest, but because it was so fab that we found it hard to believe it's a 3-star hotel!

Location:
We chose this place because of its proximity to the train station; it's a 5 minute walk from Firenze Santa Maria Novella. We did get lost at first (we're not that great with map reading) and we almost missed it because it's in this nondescript building, but once we found it, we felt it was very easy to find our way around the area.

Room:
Once again, we got the highest floor and a room with a huge balcony (complete with a coffee table and 2 chairs) with a fantastic view to boot - it was breathtaking! We could even see the beautiful Medici Chapel from the balcony (side note: that's how close we were to some of the attractions too, e.g. the Statue of David was 15-20 mins away on foot).

Needless to say, sunrise was an amazing sight. Wake up early to catch it!

There were countless wall sockets around (one by each side of the bed, by the desk, etc.), a full-length mirror, a nice bathroom (boasts a bidet) and plenty of space to hang your clothes, put your luggage aside, etc. All I can say is considering the price we paid, we were really amazed at how great this hotel was.

Food:
Compared to our other hotels, the breakfast spread was quite good. There's eggs, all sorts of bread (plus a toaster), ham, cereal, coffee, hot chocolate, etc.

Hotel grub aside, there's this restaurant you HAVE to visit if you're in the area. Osteria dall'Oste is just down the road from the hotel and both the food AND the service is excellent. Try the Florentine bistecca - it's their signature dish and it's absolutely phenomenal.

---

I have to also mention that the service here at Delle Nazioni was good. They called us to check if everything was okay minutes after we stepped into the hotel room, and they're very polite and helpful. I'm definitely going to recommend this place to anyone who asks me for a great, value-for-money place to stay in Florence!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view and you'll get the one with the balcony - the noise from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Took the train from Venice to Florence. Got a taxi to take us to the hotel and laughed along with the driver when we realized that the hotel was across the street. He had to go around the block because it was a one way and we tipped well to make it up to him. In the hotel we had to wait because there was a tour bus from France that was checking in and because we had to get our bed changed from a twin room (our fault). Room was large and very clean. We had a patio with table and chairs. One night we just brought wine and sandwiches to the room and sat out on the patio after a long day of sight seeing. Breakfast could be chaotic. The ugly happened when we returned one evening and the woman at the front desk said her colleague "Michael" would be happy to get us a bucket of ice, and to go to the bar. No one there but two women that were told to also go to the bar to get their bottle of wine opened. We waited and Michael never showed. One woman saw a wine opener behind the bar, opened their bottle and filled a bucket with ice for us. Next thing the woman at the desk came flying up the stairs screaming at everyone for going behind the bar. Grabbed the bucket of ice from me, filled a plastic trash bag with the ice and shoved it at me. Yes, we should not have gone behind the bar. No one said anything but sorry. I went to our room mad and decided to wait until the morning to see how I felt. Still mad. Her behavior was inexcusable. I complained the next morning and the man at the desk apologized and said he would like to buy us a drink. Appreciated it but we were not going to take him up on it. When we returned later that evening there was a bottle of wine. The following days the staff approached us asking if we would care for anything. This hotel really tried to make things right and we highly recommend the hotel because of that. The bed was comfortable and what was great was the patio door lifted outward from the top so you could have the door open. The street noise did not bother us--we enjoy the energy of Italy.

Room Tip: We recommend the balcony floor. Loved listening to the church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for the time spending to write many nice words about our hotel and rooms. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding about the bar that is allowed only to our staff for many reasons and it is forbidden to the public. Hoping to welcome you again in the near future we remain,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Campania, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Delle Nazioni for two nights on a recent trip to Florence. The hotel is in an ok location, right next to the station which is very convenient...but a bit of a walk to the centre of the city. Nothing to complain about if you don't mind walking twenty mins or so.
The room my boyfriend and I stayed in was pretty big and had two large windows over looking the station. The down side was the noise of the busy road below, which didn't turn out to be a huge problem for me, but my boyfriend was frustrated by it.
The staff were average in terms of service, there were a lot of guests and at times it seemed a bit of a ship em in ship em out kind of deal.
A pretty good selection for breakfast, I didn't get to eat much of it as I was suffering from the flu...but if I had been myself I would have eaten quite a lot of it! Beware of the coffee machine though...rubbish!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and for taking time to write it.

We continuously reiterate to our customers that we cannot help you if we are not informed, as you know at the bar we have an express coffee machine, italian express coffee and cappuccino can be served on demand.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Delle Nazioni Hotel
Sincerely
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor. My deciding factors were quality, price, and closeness to the train station. The hotel exceled in all three areas. We stayed for two nights in March. It was our first stay there.

My impressions:

• The hotel staff was absolutely first-class. Everyone was helpful and friendly. After a long trip from the states to FCO and then a train ride to Florence it was a pleasure to deal with them.
• The hotel is really a few just a few minutes from the train station.
• The interior of the hotel (lobby, bar, breakfast area) were all nicely done. Don’t be fooled by the plain exterior, you will be surprised when you walk in.
• The rooms were very nice decorated.
• Some people have complained that there was a lot of noise if your room faced the street. Our rooms did not so I can’t speak to that. We didn’t hear any trains or passers-by in our inside rooms.
• The breakfast was very nice and always well-stocked.
• There was a bar that served mixed drinks at reasonable rates.
• No problem with the wi-fi.

Any negatives? Not really, only a few things to watch out for.

• There are a few steps to go up to the front desk. If you are carrying a lot of luggage leave it by the elevator.
• The showers were very compact.

I will definitely stay there again for my next visit to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superfuffi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good evening M Rimantas,
We are truly grateful for the beautiful review, it means that our efforts to make your stay pleasant, have been successful, it is a great prize of continuing to give better service.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Delle Nazioni, we send our warmest wishes
Sincerely
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Delle Nazioni was my recent abode for one week, during a first-time visit to Florence. Unsure of what to expect for the relatively low price in a central area, I have to say I was positively surprised in every regard.
The hotel is very well located right next to the Santa Maria Novella train station, which is convenient not just for getting in, but also as a platform for going on a one-day outing to a nearby city. There is a lot of local commerce nearby, including a generally bleak-looking but practical mall under the station, and good restaurants (checking-in should entitle you to a 10% discount at a traditional restaurant next door to the hotel).
Despite staying in a room on the fourth floor, I wasn’t lucky enough to get one with a particularly appealing view – but that didn’t seem important since there was so much to see outside. The Basilica of Santa Maria Novella is right around the corner, with the Old Perfumery and Ognissanti in the back street, and the historical centre less than a ten-minute walk away. Other than that, the room was neat, spacious, warm, well-lit, and perfectly equipped with all the necessities a tourist needs – plus the minor perk of Sky News and CNN reception.
Sporting modern decoration and comfortable facilities, the hotel was very good as a base to kick off the day with a solid breakfast (usual continental treats, including pain au chocolat and delicious scrambled eggs), and welcoming to return to later in the day, exhausted from all the walking and sightseeing. The staff were helpful, very nice to talk to, and professional, making the overall service extremely satisfactory.
(Very) recommendable for the walking tourist looking for easy access, comfort, and practicality.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, with corner rooms having a more spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel Delle Nazioni.
We really appreciate the beautiful words and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in the Hotel.
Thanks from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future
Have a nice day & regards,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delle Nazioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Nazioni Hotel

Address: Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delle Nazioni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delle Nazioni is located in the centre of Florence, 50 mt. From the main Railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Traditionally known as a comfort hotel, the Delle Nazioni has diversified and loyal custermers. All Florence major attractions are walking distance ( Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio,Uffizi, Piazza Signoria). Florence International Airport is located about 6 Km away, 15 minutes by taxi. In Room Facilities: Air Conditioning, Direct Dial Telephone, Safety deposit box, TV, Hair dryer. Facilities: Laubdry Service ( Week), Wireless connection in all hotel, Free internet Point. 24 Hours reception staff. F&B Facilities: Lobby Bar, Breakfast room: Cold European Buffet from 07.00 To 10.00 Am, Dispensing Machine: 2nd, 3rd and 5th Floor for soft drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delle Nazioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Nazioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delle Nazioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.