We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the walking tourist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delle Nazioni Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delle Nazioni Hotel to your Saves list
Delle Nazioni Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #201 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal for the walking tourist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Delle Nazioni was my recent abode for one week, during a first-time visit to Florence. Unsure of what to expect for the relatively low price in a central area, I have to say I was positively surprised in every regard.
The hotel is very well located right next to the Santa Maria Novella train station, which is convenient not just for getting in, but also as a platform for going on a one-day outing to a nearby city. There is a lot of local commerce nearby, including a generally bleak-looking but practical mall under the station, and good restaurants (checking-in should entitle you to a 10% discount at a traditional restaurant next door to the hotel).
Despite staying in a room on the fourth floor, I wasn’t lucky enough to get one with a particularly appealing view – but that didn’t seem important since there was so much to see outside. The Basilica of Santa Maria Novella is right around the corner, with the Old Perfumery and Ognissanti in the back street, and the historical centre less than a ten-minute walk away. Other than that, the room was neat, spacious, warm, well-lit, and perfectly equipped with all the necessities a tourist needs – plus the minor perk of Sky News and CNN reception.
Sporting modern decoration and comfortable facilities, the hotel was very good as a base to kick off the day with a solid breakfast (usual continental treats, including pain au chocolat and delicious scrambled eggs), and welcoming to return to later in the day, exhausted from all the walking and sightseeing. The staff were helpful, very nice to talk to, and professional, making the overall service extremely satisfactory.
(Very) recommendable for the walking tourist looking for easy access, comfort, and practicality.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, with corner rooms having a more spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel Delle Nazioni.
We really appreciate the beautiful words and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in the Hotel.
Thanks from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future
Have a nice day & regards,
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    360
    208
    74
    37
See reviews for
184
391
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The first time I was in Florence in April/May 2006, my friends and I stayed in Hotel Delle Nazioni. This is a 3-star hotel located on Via L. Alamanni, the left side of the Santa Maria Novella railway station.

The hotel claimed to be close to all of the city's major sights and attractions but this is not really true. It takes about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the Duomo and other attractions. However, the hotel has reasonablely-priced large rooms; we paid only Euro 90 for a double room. This price was not bad because we got a spacious, modern and clean room.

The thing that irritated us was that the hotel was quite a long walk from the city centre and the good pizzeria and restaurants. When we got tired/exhausted from a whole day of sight-seeing, it was quite an effort to walk back to the hotel. In fact, we practically had to drag and hobble ourselves back. We wished we got a closer hotel !!

The hotel has a casual modern friendly atmosphere and it claimed to have elegant interiors. On-site facilities include a bar, breakfast room, free Internet point, Wi-Fi Internet connection in the lobby and bar. The hotel also has a private garage for its guests. The double bedroom and bathroom were clean, modern, and large/spacious. The double bed was also large, with clean sheets. There was also built-in closet, table and chair, and italian satellite TV.

However, the breakfast was standard; it was a cheapy breakfast of dry breadrolls, thin slices of cheeses and hams, dry cornflakes and cereals, diluted milk and orange juice, and instant coffee from machines (which was really awful). There were also packets of brioches, petite toasts and dry biscuits. We didn't enjoy the breakfast; we're better off going to the local cafes for fresh hot cappucinos/cafe latte and brioches/pastries.

Overall, our stay at this hotel was OK, for the price we paid for a hotel in Florence. But for the next visit, I would rather chose to stay closer to the city centre!

Directions: Via L. Alamanni was the main street just next to the left of the central train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were told that we had got an "upgrade" to an apartment on the first floor. We gratefully accepted. Massive mistake. The room looked nothing like the website, although extremely clean. There were shutters on the windows that let in the slightest light in and couldn't be adjusted. The "sound proof windows" as stated on the website is an utter joke as I had to sleep with earplugs I brought from home for the entire three night stay. The mattress was comfortable, but the pillows were bits of foam. No joke, foam. Uncomfortable and weird. No coffee or tea facilities in the bedroom, 10channels on the tv all in Italian and the breakfast average. You have to leave your key at reception every time u leave your room which is highly inconvenient when returning and the staff are a tad arrogant, and don't really go out of their way to explain the city. Overall I will never stay there again and glad to be in a comfy room here in Rome tonight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister and I just got back from Italy and only stayed one night in this hotel and we wished we would have booked it much longer. The staff was friendly, the room was spotless and the breakfast was fabulous! We could see the Duomo from our balcony. I can't believe how affordable the rooms are. It certainly is not a luxury hotel but if you are looking for a clean, affordable and convenient place to stay...then look no farther! Hopefully we will get to go back to Florence and when we do, we will definitely stay here again. :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mandy,

we really thank you for your review and we are happy to see that you completely understood the efforts and the atmosphere of our Hotel.

We work really hard to transfer to our guests the feelings we have and the satisfaction of the hotel and of all staff so that all of them can feel part of us and we really appreciate when someone like you can feel all this.

Hope to have you here again and make your experience be even better than the last time.
Enjoy your life
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from weekend in Florence, and stayed again in Hotel Delle Nazioni . We arrived on Saturday afternoon at Santa Maria novella train station . The rain was really really heavy and the wind blustery , we came out and were in our hotel in about 6minutes , how good is that . I have been to other cities and walked around in circles trying to find hotels which state they are a few minutes from train station!!!. Hotel Delle Nazioni is also very close to the Sita bus station, there are loads of really good resturants nearby, . The staff are friendly and helpful and the entire hotel is very clean . They could improve on the breakfast , fruit could be added , . Great hotel and will definitely return again .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Delle Nazioni Hotel is located about 200 meters from the Santa Maria Novella train station. It's an ideal hotel if you're arriving to Florence by train. A short walk from the hotel to most major attractions make this an ideal Tourist hotel. The staff were Friendly and courteous. Our room was larger then most and had a balcony overlooking the city. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Delle Nazioni was more of a modern hotel, which was surprising, but nice. The room was small but enough for a couple, the bathroom was tiny and uncomfortable.
Breakfast was average, but there was free cappuccino.
Location was great, just in front of the station and close to the main sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delle Nazioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Nazioni Hotel

Address: Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delle Nazioni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delle Nazioni is located in the centre of Florence, 50 mt. From the main Railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Traditionally known as a comfort hotel, the Delle Nazioni has diversified and loyal custermers. All Florence major attractions are walking distance ( Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio,Uffizi, Piazza Signoria). Florence International Airport is located about 6 Km away, 15 minutes by taxi. In Room Facilities: Air Conditioning, Direct Dial Telephone, Safety deposit box, TV, Hair dryer. Facilities: Laubdry Service ( Week), Wireless connection in all hotel, Free internet Point. 24 Hours reception staff. F&B Facilities: Lobby Bar, Breakfast room: Cold European Buffet from 07.00 To 10.00 Am, Dispensing Machine: 2nd, 3rd and 5th Floor for soft drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Delle Nazioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Nazioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delle Nazioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.