We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard 3-Star Hotel near Train Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delle Nazioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delle Nazioni Hotel to your Saves list
Delle Nazioni Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #203 of 460 Hotels in Florence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Standard 3-Star Hotel near Train Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The first time I was in Florence in April/May 2006, my friends and I stayed in Hotel Delle Nazioni. This is a 3-star hotel located on Via L. Alamanni, the left side of the Santa Maria Novella railway station.

The hotel claimed to be close to all of the city's major sights and attractions but this is not really true. It takes about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the Duomo and other attractions. However, the hotel has reasonablely-priced large rooms; we paid only Euro 90 for a double room. This price was not bad because we got a spacious, modern and clean room.

The thing that irritated us was that the hotel was quite a long walk from the city centre and the good pizzeria and restaurants. When we got tired/exhausted from a whole day of sight-seeing, it was quite an effort to walk back to the hotel. In fact, we practically had to drag and hobble ourselves back. We wished we got a closer hotel !!

The hotel has a casual modern friendly atmosphere and it claimed to have elegant interiors. On-site facilities include a bar, breakfast room, free Internet point, Wi-Fi Internet connection in the lobby and bar. The hotel also has a private garage for its guests. The double bedroom and bathroom were clean, modern, and large/spacious. The double bed was also large, with clean sheets. There was also built-in closet, table and chair, and italian satellite TV.

However, the breakfast was standard; it was a cheapy breakfast of dry breadrolls, thin slices of cheeses and hams, dry cornflakes and cereals, diluted milk and orange juice, and instant coffee from machines (which was really awful). There were also packets of brioches, petite toasts and dry biscuits. We didn't enjoy the breakfast; we're better off going to the local cafes for fresh hot cappucinos/cafe latte and brioches/pastries.

Overall, our stay at this hotel was OK, for the price we paid for a hotel in Florence. But for the next visit, I would rather chose to stay closer to the city centre!

Directions: Via L. Alamanni was the main street just next to the left of the central train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    360
    208
    74
    37
See reviews for
184
390
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were told that we had got an "upgrade" to an apartment on the first floor. We gratefully accepted. Massive mistake. The room looked nothing like the website, although extremely clean. There were shutters on the windows that let in the slightest light in and couldn't be adjusted. The "sound proof windows" as stated on the website is an utter joke as I had to sleep with earplugs I brought from home for the entire three night stay. The mattress was comfortable, but the pillows were bits of foam. No joke, foam. Uncomfortable and weird. No coffee or tea facilities in the bedroom, 10channels on the tv all in Italian and the breakfast average. You have to leave your key at reception every time u leave your room which is highly inconvenient when returning and the staff are a tad arrogant, and don't really go out of their way to explain the city. Overall I will never stay there again and glad to be in a comfy room here in Rome tonight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister and I just got back from Italy and only stayed one night in this hotel and we wished we would have booked it much longer. The staff was friendly, the room was spotless and the breakfast was fabulous! We could see the Duomo from our balcony. I can't believe how affordable the rooms are. It certainly is not a luxury hotel but if you are looking for a clean, affordable and convenient place to stay...then look no farther! Hopefully we will get to go back to Florence and when we do, we will definitely stay here again. :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdellenazioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mandy,

we really thank you for your review and we are happy to see that you completely understood the efforts and the atmosphere of our Hotel.

We work really hard to transfer to our guests the feelings we have and the satisfaction of the hotel and of all staff so that all of them can feel part of us and we really appreciate when someone like you can feel all this.

Hope to have you here again and make your experience be even better than the last time.
Enjoy your life
Elisabetta Argento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from weekend in Florence, and stayed again in Hotel Delle Nazioni . We arrived on Saturday afternoon at Santa Maria novella train station . The rain was really really heavy and the wind blustery , we came out and were in our hotel in about 6minutes , how good is that . I have been to other cities and walked around in circles trying to find hotels which state they are a few minutes from train station!!!. Hotel Delle Nazioni is also very close to the Sita bus station, there are loads of really good resturants nearby, . The staff are friendly and helpful and the entire hotel is very clean . They could improve on the breakfast , fruit could be added , . Great hotel and will definitely return again .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Delle Nazioni Hotel is located about 200 meters from the Santa Maria Novella train station. It's an ideal hotel if you're arriving to Florence by train. A short walk from the hotel to most major attractions make this an ideal Tourist hotel. The staff were Friendly and courteous. Our room was larger then most and had a balcony overlooking the city. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Delle Nazioni was more of a modern hotel, which was surprising, but nice. The room was small but enough for a couple, the bathroom was tiny and uncomfortable.
Breakfast was average, but there was free cappuccino.
Location was great, just in front of the station and close to the main sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In November 2012 I stayed for a week at the Delle Nazioni in Florence.

When planning my trip I used the reviews on this and other such websites to guage the quality of what was supposed to be a mid-range hotel. The reviews seemed reasonable and the price for a week was good for a room with a double bed and bed and breakfast.

After arriving by taxi outside the hotel, my first impression was not great, the building did not look great from the outside and the area seemed a little rougher that I was expecting but inside the hotel, it was actually quite nice.

I arrived in the evening and was checked in quickly and efficiently by the guy on the desk. There was an additional charge of 3 euros per day, that I had to pay on arrival and that was a tax imposed by the city which I was already aware of as it was mentioned on the Thomas Cook website when I made the booking.

I had a room on the third floor and at first glance it looked clean and tidy with reasonably stylish decor. The bed was a good size are quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean but as I am quite a large chap, I felt the shower was a little on the small size and had trouble picking up the soap when I dropped it,

While everything seemed fine at first, an issue became apparent after a few hours in my room. The room became very warm, even with the window open and though there was an air conditioning system, it was not possible to control it from within the room, instead it was controlled by the hotel and was essentially one system for each floor. The air con did eventually come on but not until part way through the night and when it came on, it actuallty woke me up. I managed to get back to sleep but when I woke up in the morning, I had an awful cough. I have asthma and an allergy to certain types of dust and it felt like the air conditioning was just blowing out hot dust. I got out of the room and after a couple of hours I felt more or less fine again.

I am not one to complain much so I didn't bother saying anything about it and the second night it was not as bad. By the third night,and for the rest of the week, it didn't really bother me, so it was probably just dust had built up in the air vent in the room and after the first night, it had mostly been blown out and had settled in the room and its only when I breathe in dust that it actually bothers me.

For the rest of the week, there were no real issues with the room or hotel though one oddity was that some guests were asked to hand in their room key each time they left the building while I was not asked. For the whole week I was wondering if I was supposed to hand it in and they had just forgotten to tell me or if it was only certain rooms.

A good point to the hotel was that there was a vending machine on some of the floors which was handy. They also had a good selection of tour leaflets at the reception and you could book them through the hotel.

When I booked my stay at the hotel, I booked bed and breakfast, I did however decide not to eat at the hotel. I did take a look at the selection on offer and it seemed like a standard continental style breakfast buffet but I decided to find something a bit more interesting and to my own taste. Because of this I cannot comment on the quality of the food provided by the hotel.

One benefit to staying at this hotel is if you plan to travel around Tuscany or to other parts of Italy as it is over the road from the train and bus stations.

For those just staying in Florence, it is not far from the city centre. By my calculations, it takes about 2-4 minutes to Santa Maria Novella church and about 7-10 minutes by foot to get to the Duomo and the city centre. This largely depends on your route but cutting through the underground shopping mall in front of the train station can both speed up or slow down your journey depending on if you go in any of the shops.

In most aspects, the hotel was good and value for money. I gave it 3/5 but I would have given it 4/5 were it not for the air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delle Nazioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Nazioni Hotel

Address: Via L. Alamanni 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delle Nazioni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delle Nazioni is located in the centre of Florence, 50 mt. From the main Railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Traditionally known as a comfort hotel, the Delle Nazioni has diversified and loyal custermers. All Florence major attractions are walking distance ( Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio,Uffizi, Piazza Signoria). Florence International Airport is located about 6 Km away, 15 minutes by taxi. In Room Facilities: Air Conditioning, Direct Dial Telephone, Safety deposit box, TV, Hair dryer. Facilities: Laubdry Service ( Week), Wireless connection in all hotel, Free internet Point. 24 Hours reception staff. F&B Facilities: Lobby Bar, Breakfast room: Cold European Buffet from 07.00 To 10.00 Am, Dispensing Machine: 2nd, 3rd and 5th Floor for soft drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Delle Nazioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Nazioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delle Nazioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.