We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We booked two double rooms. On check in we were upgraded to two studio apartments. They were a little bit away from the rest of the hotel rooms but were excellent. Plenty of space and very comfortable. Hotel is in a great location next to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. Still pretty quiet. Nice bar at the top of the hotel where you can get an evening drink with great views (with a free soft drink - including Prosecco and Beer). Good breakfast selection in a very classy room. All in all very good.

Room Tip: Stay in a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family to Hotel degli Orafi!

The entire team is thrilled that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us and we definitively hope to welcome you back next year!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    196
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
173
510
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our stay at the Hotel Degli Orafi was average at best. I found the front desk staff to be courteous but not very genuine or friendly. The hotel itself was in nice condition and was a good size. Our room was in a terrible location. We were placed in a room right next to the kitchen and near the breakfast room. I was woken up very early every morning with clanging pots, pans and dishes. I should have asked to move to another room. I also was not impressed with the breakfast. The pastries were not very fresh. It was very lackluster. Next time I will definitely stay at a hotel in another area of the city that isn't just shuffling tourists in and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.
We'd like to start with saying that it's very disappointing to hear that you didn't find our hotel genuine and friendly, like most of our guests do. Of course we would have changed you to another room if you'd told us, we are used to solving problems every day. It is a real pity when our customers don't communicate to us, since we are busy serving all our guests and therefore cannot know every individual problem that might occur. Our staff is very attentive and usually pick-up if something is wrong but in this case they thought everything was fine
Our breafkast meal has a vaste choice of products, also for allergics upon request. I am sorry you did not appreciate this gem, open until 11 am in the morning! Not common in most of other hotels. I happy that you at least liked the hotel and that it looked fine to you.

We would be happy to seeing you again in Florence!
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel degli orafi has an enviable location, on the Lungarno, right by the Ponte Vecchio, a step from the Uffizi Gallery. It's a nice hotel, actually in a historic building itself, and I recommended it. We found the hotel to be very quiet and well-soundproofed (room 309), the service on the front desk is great, and the breakfast is excellent. Car parking is difficult - valet is €32 per day, otherwise you have to park on the street across the river and buy a ticket from 8h-20h. The hotel needs to improve its wifi, which is free (for one device per room) but unreliable and difficult to connect. But this is a lovely hotel for people wanting to get to know Florence. A real joy was waking up here at 7am and going for a run along the Arno, in the cool morning air, before the city filled with tourists.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that you where overall satisfied with our services and thank you for your kinds words and feed-back.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of Firenze. Great view, perfect location right at the end of Pointe Vecchio Bridge. HOWEVER, it is loud from street noise and the beds are hard as a rock. I still recommend for location and helpful staff, but if you have back trouble - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
It was indeed a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent an long weekend here & cannot find the words that express how amazing the place is. Location is ideal for sightseeing in Florence & the hotel staff & facilities are first class.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & the hotel was spotlessly clean
Fresh flowers & sparkling wine in the room were really appreciated & our sons benefitted from an upgrade to a Junior Suite (without any request)
Great hotel, great staff & great location. Definitely one to stay at if travelling to Florence

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comment after your recent stay with us!
It was nice to hear that you appreciated our free upgrade to one of the large and comfortable suites. I am also happy you enjoyed our other services an that you found our staff helpful and kind, something I'm very proud of and that will be a great source of motivation for them.
The whole team joins me to say - Welcome back!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oilville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights, and loved it. They had a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room on ice for us when we arrived with a nice note (it was our anniversary.) The rooftop bar was nice with views of the Arno on one side and the Duomo, other sites on the other. The breakfast buffet was in a beautiful room, and had a very wide selection of breads, cheeses, yogurts, nuts, eggs, meats.... As other reviews have mentioned the location is awesome (next to the Uffizi and Ponte Veccio a couple minute walk the other way.)
A couple reviews mentioned the staff in a negative way. We had a very different experience. We found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. Prior to the trip we asked for a couple suggestions, and they responded within a day. Once there the front desk staff were gracious when we arrived, they setup a day trip for us, they made reservations at a restaurant for us, they gave us directions, they gave us some basic help and advice with some airline issues, called us a cab when needed.... We had fairly straight forward requests, but we always felt they were very willing to assist us, and were friendly and empathetic while helping. The two men at the rooftop bar were also efficient and friendly when engaged (but would remain removed when we wanted to talk to each other.) If we were returning we would absolutely stay here again, and if any friends were traveling we would recommend this hotel with full confidence.

Room Tip: We stumbled into room 208 which has a balcony looking out the back of the hotel. it was fantastic t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us,they are very much appreciated! It is wonderful to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you liked our services. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for all of us.
The entire team is looking forward to your next visit to Florence!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Bad service. Great location but not worth the rude people here. Bathroom was awful and front desk personnel are rude. I have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the worst. If you only want location, however, this is the place. But it's not worth it to me and I am a lawyer who has stayed in some pretty nice hotels all over the world. This place is not at all tourist-friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Sir,
I may seem a little bit unapologetic but I honestly find your review unfair and offensive since you do not mention any single reason why our staff has been so rude to you. I would have appreciated if you had given us some explanations instead of assuming they have been rude without giving any idea of what has happened. Our staff is open to any kind of criticism from our clients unless it is fair and honest.
You have only mentioned something about the bathroom and the freezing air conditioning upon check-out to our receptionist threatening a bad review but .....YOU DID NOT SAY OR ASK ANYTHING AT ALL during your stay with us and I feel very sorry for that since we could have done something to avoid your disappointment.
Yours Sincerely,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.