We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Location, service and style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!! Location, service and style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a 3 night city break in Florence for my wife's 40th birthday. Very lucky to have booked the Hotel degli Orafi. What a location! Next to the Uffizi and less than 30 second walk from the Ponte Vecchio. Room (304) was lovely, but not much of a view, which is ironic as it's the hotel where the 80's oscar winner, Room With a View was filmed! We had great service an incredibly comfy bed and very pleasant and helpful staff. A wonderful break! Thank you so much to the Hotel degli Orafi!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor!
We are proud to hear that all your expectations were met during your stay and that you enjoyed your vacation in Florence. It is a pity that you didn't manage to get a river view room ( just as Lucy Honeychurch!) , but hopefully you had the time to admire our fantastic views from the Roof terrace. Perhaps we will be able to surprise you for your next birthday celebration but remember that the famous "Room with the view" is bookable on our website.
Wish you a warm welcome back to hotel degli Orafi!

Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    216
    48
    13
    8
See reviews for
190
549
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Orafi serves as the perfect base to explore Florence. Steps away from the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio, a beautiful breakfast room with ceiling frescoes and a charming terrace bar with views of the Arno. The rooms were big, the staff attentive and the champagne complimentary :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. We wish you a warm welcome back to Florence and Hotel degli Orafi!

Best regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We added two nights in Florence and couldn't extend our stay at our "original" hotel, so we decided to splurge a bit and stayed here for the location and comfort.
The hotel is on the Arno and a short-block from the Ponte Vecchio, with the Uffizi on the other side. And, despite the astonishing (for October) crowds all around, the hotel itself was a quiet oasis.
The room was a bit smallish, but very comfortable. The bathroom was good sized, although the shower was one of the "corner" models where you can't bend down to get the soap you've dropped without opening the doors. Good hot water and pressure, nice towels, good lighting - everything you would expect given the price.
The breakfast was one of the best European buffets I've experienced. A luxurious room with attentive and hard-working wait-staff.
Also worth noting is that while many other hotels at this time of year, their air conditioning was functional. In fact, it was so functional it was too cold and we had them turn it off (European hotels often seem to control individual rooms from the front desk...don't they trust us?).
The desk staff were also quite excellent. Very professional but not aloof.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing thoughts with us. We’re so pleased to hear that our location was convenient for your stay in Florence, and was a good value for the cost.
We are happy you appreciated our buffet breakfast in our beautiful and yes very luxurius former ballroom!
We were lucky to have you with us since you relocated to us after a part of your stay in another hotel, so hopefully you will decide to book another vacation in Florence and enjoy a full Hotel degli Orafi experience!

Welcome back
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York city
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Orafi is ideally located, ideally maintained and ideally operated...can't beat that! I had only ever traveled to Italy once before and that was just Rome for 5 nights. I was worried that Florence would be a disappointment with gruff, distant locals and bad service like we experienced in Rome. What a difference! Our Tuscan trip and stay at the Orafi made me feel like I really belonged in Italy (my family emigrated a hundred years ago to the US). The rooftop bar is like being in a friend's (posh) living room, with some very helpful and charming staff plus a view to kill for. Our party had two rooms, one in the back on second floor which was huge and had a semi private terrace (small but cute) and one in the front facing the Arno. The front room was cold at night but the staff gave extra blankets. Unfortunately it was October and too early for heat to be turned on (some strange local ordinance??). Well, anyway that was not much to complain about and the staff were courteous about it and offered to change rooms. Breakfast was good, the location is perfect. We stumbled upon a restaurant down the Lungarno that was great- I think it was Mare y Tierra?? And if you want that gruff old fashioned Italian experience there is a restaurant around the corner i think called the Antico ....can't remember the rest, which was crowded, loud and full of impatient staff! It was funny more than anything else, plus we met other guests from Orafi while there. The great thing about this location and the Hotel was that it offered a comfortable environment without being too touristy or too snooty. Ideal I guess is the word.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service of our team was up to your expectations!
We would love to have you with us again and hope to hear from you very soon
For any enquiries let us know!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

For my 50th birthday my husband treated me to a trip to Florence and we stayed in the Hotel Degli Orafi for four nights. Our first impression was positive and we were welcomed by a very friendly and courteous gentleman on the reception who gave us all the information we needed about the hotel’s amenities. Our room on the second floor was spacious, clean and well equipped; although for us Brits who are used to the cold, slightly on the warm side. The large double bed had crisp cotton sheets with extra pillows if needed. The beds are firm, as other reviewers have noted, but to be honest they are perfectly adequate for the few nights we stayed there. The roof top bar is a great place to unwind after a hard days walking and eating, with lovely and helpful staff too. One of the highlights of our trip was that although we did not mention it was my ‘significant birthday’ they must have noticed the card my husband gave me in the morning and to our delight we found a bottle of chilled wine and nibbles when returning to our room in the afternoon. This was a lovely gesture and added to the wonderful day I had celebrating my birthday. Breakfast is a real treat, sitting in the ornately decorated breakfast room overlooking the river Arno is perfect; the buffet has lots of choice which was always fresh and very tempting. The location is perfect with the Galleria Uffizzi and the Ponte Vecchio only steps away from the hotel entrance and within easy walking distance of all of the many other sights that Florence has to offer. Would I stay there again – without hesitation, the Degli Orafi is everything you could want from a hotel in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a perfect birthday and holiday experience in Florence. Hopefully you will be able to return to us very soon, we would be so honored to have you with us again,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I dont think I can write a review that will fairly describe the amazing experience we had at this lovely hotel but I will try to summarize the reasons I think this hotel is a hidden jewel in Florence. First and most of all location location location!! I dont think previous reviews were clear enough... The hotel is in the most blessed location!! It is right in front of the ponte vecchio and literally behind the uffizi gallery and the vecchio palazzo, walking distance to EVERYTHING! including the whole historic area, shopping, restaurants and the train station. There is a terrace in the roof where u can have drinks or eat and you can see the palazzo veccio and the duomo!! gorgeous!! Reason 2 outstanding customer service. The staff was cortuous and went out of their way to make u feel at home, when we got to the hotel we were received by a cornucopia of fresh fruit in our room and complimentary drinks at the roof terrace bar, everybody spoke english and the water was free. 3 a lot of extras which u dont get in every italian hotel including free RELIABLE internet and at least one English channel (international CNN) I stayed in 4 different at least 4 star hotels im Italy and none of them offered that. Also wonderful complimemtary breakfast with variety and all u can eat buffet. Finally the fourth reason are the rooms which are spacious, spotless and quite comfortable. I did not get either noise or weird smells like other reviewers. Also I noticed an available computer with printer in a nice sitting area outside each floor which I did not use but was a great touch! Finally I would like to say that the reviews here dont do the hotel justice. I did an extensive research and chose this hotel due to location but still had concerns before I got there but the minute I got there I realized what a gem this hotel is and was surprised it didnt have more clear and begter reviews. All in all my boyfriend and I absolutely loved the hotel and are recommending it to our friends. We are looking forward to going back to florence and staying at the oralfi again. Thank you for a wonderful stay and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely honored to have received such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. To hear that our hard work has payed off is a great satisfaction and my team is more motivated than ever! We cannot find enough words to thank you for this amazing publicity and would like to invite you back to us very soon. We are eager to welcome you back to your second home and Florence family and give you another fantastic Hotel degli Orafi experience!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

great location--steps from Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio & Palazzo della Signoria; every other major site, church, Pitti Palace, etc easy-walk close. Very clean room & hotel with free wifi, comfortable bed, extra pillows, big windows, big closet with small safe, a little balcony overlooking red tile rooftops. Nearby restaurants of all levels. Best of all the lovely breakfast room (some days the table looking into the Vasari Corridor (figures in Dan Brown's novel Inferno) and down on the Arno River was available) with beautiful high & chandeliered painted ceiling. Excellent breakfast buffet with lots of choices, fresh, delicious. Staff helpful. Lovely sitting rooms on ground floor and adjacent to breakfast room. Would stay here again and again. Highest recommendation

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review about our hotel!
I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be warm and friendly and that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations, that we were able to provide you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon!
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.