We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 460 Hotels in Florence
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a perfect little hotel for my fiance and I to spend our engagement trip. It was small, with very few children present (I saw one the entire 5 night period). It is located right on the Arno river next to the Ponte Vecchio and has excellent view of the river. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet spoiled us with selections of pastries, italian bacon, eggs, fish, meats, cheeses, basically anything you could want for a breakfast was there.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arno, but you might have to pay a bit more for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay and congratulations to your engagement!
I am so happy you chose us for your special vacation in Florence and that you had a wonderful, romantic and memorable stay with us.

We hope to see you again, hopefully for your honeymoon!
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    180
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
163
468
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Germain en laye
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband booked this hotel because it was where they filmed one of my favourite films 'Room with a view'. However, I think I was as disappointed with my room (102) as Lucy Honeychurch. Our view from a first floor bedroom was blocked by the arcade which lines the Arno so you only get a partial view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. When we arrived , the room was freezing because of the air conditioning. We had to ask them to turn it off three times before the room came up to a decent temperature. The room was quite noisy at night especially on Saturday night as people walk past it along the Arno. The reason I didn't sleep well though is that the mattress was really hard; it was like sleeping on wooden boards and quite uncomfortable after a tiring day walking around the city. On the positive side, there was a good choice at the breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs and bacon or cold hams and cheese, cereals, pastries , yoghurt and fruit. There is also a roof terrace where you can have a drink and admire a better view over Florence.

Room Tip: I would advise future clients to ask for a room overlooking the cathedral side which will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you took to write this review.
We are sorry you didn't appreciate our Junior Suite with Arno view. The room booked was located on the 1st floor and yes you can perfectly see the Ponte vecchio bridge but obviously a higher floor view might be more spectacular for some. We would have been very happy to book you a room on a upper floor at your request. The Arcade, I know might be a bit disappointing for some but as mentioned before a very important landmark for Florence called The Vasarian Corridor.
We are perfectly aware of the fact that we are in the city centre, close to all important sights, restaurants, meeting points and therefore cannot hide with the fact that some nights could be more noisy than others, as in any big touristic city.
Regarding the mattress, we inform you that we could have given you a mattress cover to soften it a bit. Our firmer mattresses have been chosen with care due to the major health benefits!
However I am very glad you enjoyed our American buffet breakfast and had the time to relax and admire the views from our fantastic Roof terrace bar!

We look forward to welcoming you again,
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Situated by the river, between the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi this hotel is located in a perfect position for walking to all the sights of Florence. I was particularly pleased that it was very near to the Museo Galileo.
The staff are very friendly and polite and our room was a good size with a beautiful bathroom. The bar has an outside terrace with views across the roof tops towards the Duomo. At night when the dome and towers are all lit up its a lovely place to sit and relax. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the hotel recommendations are good too.
We stayed here for three nights at the start of a nine day holiday in Tuscany and it was a perfect start to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to us for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have just got back from an amazing holiday in Florence! I stayed at the Hotel Degli Orafi which I thought was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and which truly deserves its 4 star rating!
The hotel is family run and attention to detail is faultless. On arrival we were presented with an invitation for a free welcome drink in there terrace bar on the 5th floor which has amazing views!
And in my room was a gift of a night shirt - something I have never received from a hotel.
The location was very close to everything and what made it even more special, i found out the movie "A room with a view was filmed there" perfect!!

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your amazing review of our hotel!
The hotel was indeed the setting for James Ivory’s film “A Room with a View” and hosts the beautiful room with a marvellous terrace overlooking the Arno river and Ponte Vecchio bridge.
Unique in its history, Florentine design, views and location the hotel is a perfect starting point for a comfortable and attractive stay.
I am so glad you appreciated our care and attention with the welcome drink and free gift!
After a long day travelling what could be better than a cool drink on our Roof top bar and then change into a comfy T-shirt.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in a not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here on our first stop in Italy and not to sure what to expect from European hotels, what a wonderful surprise. Beautiful hotel, rooms were generous in size and comfortable, staff was friendly and knowledable,and this had the BEST breakfast of any place we stayed in Italy! Location is very good for walking to all the great sites. Roof top lounge with great view of Duomo was a wonderful place for a pre-dinner drink. Loved this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel!
I am so glad you enjoyed our delicous American buffet breakfast and that you found our hotel friendly and accomodating.

We will be waiting for you in Florence for your next trip to Italy!
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn Heights
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are looking for a upscale hotel in a great location (and the price to match), the Hotel Degli Orafi is a great choice. My wife and I stayed here for three nights on our two-week, 10th wedding anniversary trip to Italy in May 2012. The staff is friendly and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was excessive. The room was spotless clean, if a little small, and the bathroom was one of the best of the trip, with a towel-warmer, which was great when we had to dry some hand-washed laundry overnight. They even do the little perks, like free T-shirts. It is easily walk-able from the train station, on the Arno, and literally right around the corner form the Uffizi. All that said all this, on our next trip (planned for later this year), we are going to skip over the Arno for the authenticity and lower-prices on the other side of the river. Florence is such a compact city, and I don't know that the location -- while, again, fabulous -- is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and hope to have the chance to welcome you again for another memorable stay, so hopefully you won't choose another option for your next trip! If you are interested you can also read about our history on our website and get to know even more about this fantastic location, in the heart of Florence! I am happy you liked your room but would also like to inform you that our Superior rooms and Suite's are more spacious for a longer stay. Usually, if you book in advance you can find very good offers for these upper room categories!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for her birthday as part of a trip around a few Italian cities, we arrived by train and a short taxi ride (10 Euros) through the busy streets and we arrived at the hotel which is brilliantly located close to the Ponte Vecchio.

Our room was actually a small suite or apartment, with are large kitchen / lounge and an excellent sized bedroom and bathroom. We had only booked a standard room so this was a lovely surprise. The location of the hotel could not be better for all the attractions and as the Uffisi Museum was just next door, I actually went round to the ticket office before breakfast to buy our tickets for later that day to avoid the queues.

The second day of our stay was my wife’s birthday and on our return to the room we found a bottle of bubbly complements of the hotel for her birthday with was a lovely gesture.

Reception were very helpful with any requests things like train times or ordering a taxi and the whole stay was great, from the great range at breakfast to the roof top terrace and bar which was wonderful to sit and relax in.

There is everything you could wish for with this hotel and location.Perfect for a long or short stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us.
Your detailed description of a enjoyable stay with us makes me very happy and proud. The small touch of a complimentary gift for a special occasion will indeed brighten up anyone's day and I am so happy you appreciated this little thought from us.
Hopefully we will be able to see you again, in a nearby future for another Hotel degli Orafi experience,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#26 Business Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.