We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the Arno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Berrien Springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel on the Arno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here. The service was superb. The staff were very delightful and helpful. The hotel location is adjacent to the Arno river and near the ponte vechio bridge ( which is a great landmark to use in finding the hotel). This hotel has a very nice little restaurant on top where you can see the duomo while you eat inside or see the Arno river off the far end of the outside deck. At the end of a touristy day it was great to not try to find somewhere to eat, but just wander upstairs for food and wine. The breakfasts are unbelievable. Beautiful frescos on ceiling in dining room, and views of the Arno river off one end.. I almost hate to share my review because I would like to return next year and would hate to not stay here! Thanks hotel duomo staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor! Hopefully you will be able to come back to us next year, just remember to send us an email as soon as you can. We will be waiting for your return!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    192
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
170
500
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked a suite... Although not cheap, the suite was a lovely size... A cooking area , lounge area , bathroom and bedroom... A bit special! Breakfast was served in a beautiful room of palatial style... Lovely! A seasoned traveler who rarely revisits will in this case!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for these nice and generous comments and for sharing your experience with us.
Indeed, our entire team does the utmost to take excellent care of all our guests and we aim to make everyone feel like home.
We look forward seeing you again very soon and wish you a happy spring!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. We had a room that had 2 bathrooms on 2 floors. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the bathrooms modern. We loved the location: next to the Uffizi Museum and on the river. The breakfast room was beautiful with excellent food. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived after a very cool rainy day and the room had a slightly musty smell but this is the only negative aspect (highly outweighed by the several positive aspects of this hotel), I would definitely stay there agin and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us.
We’re so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay in Florence. We hope you will choose us again for your next vacation, hopefully we can then greet you back with a sunnier weather!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel certainly sits in an enviable position. It's next door to the Uffizi gallery, and less than 100m to the Ponte Vecchio. The hotel itself is a mixed bag. It seems to be two hotels in one. The Orafi and the Tower. The Orafi is the hotel while the Tower is a collection of 'apartments' that have small kitchens, living rooms, and extra bathrooms. We stayed in one of the apartments and so can only really review these...
Good things:
The room was large, comfortable and has all the amenities you could wish for. The bathrooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast is fantastic, just what you need to set you up for the day. If you're lucky you can have breakfast overlooking the Arno. The rooftop terrace is ok, but the only real view is one of the Duomo.
Dubious things:
I wouldn't call it a 'boutique' hotel, perhaps the hotel rooms better fit this description? Not all rooms have views - ours was of a wall. Staff are on the whole very helpful, unfortunately some are very unhelpful (not helpful to book you tickets to a museum then tell you to join the wrong queue).
I can only apologise if this review leaves you uncertain about this hotel, but that's exactly how we feel about it. Could I recommend it to a friend - probably but only if they were desperate to be right in the middle of the Centro Storico...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review after your recent stay with us.
We were astonished to hear that your overall experience was not to your satisfaction.
The hotel, as stated on our website is a 4-star hotel located in an ancient building dating back to the 13th century. The other part, The Orafi tower is a old medieval tower, destroyed and today partly restored. This new part accommodates the big modern Suite apartments. The hotel, as most of the buildings do not have all the rooms facing the Arno river, some face the quiet inner yard, the back of the Uffizi gallery and so on. If you want to be sure to have the view you expect we are more than happy to receive your email with your special request in order to satisfy your needs.
Regarding the staff, I am sorry to hear that you felt that someone was not helpful enough. We daily book tours, restaurants or museums to our clients, without taking any profit for it and as you might have read by the other reviews one of our biggest advantage is our excellent staff.
The Roof top bar is a very popular place, even people not staying in our hotel daily pass to have a look of our amazing views of the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio, the Vasarian Corridor and the other Florence surroundings. I am sorry you didn’t appreciate this little relaxing gem.
As I always say both me and my staff are always available to answer your questions, to change a room or just clear up a misunderstanding. We are more than happy if you stop by the reception, so we get the chance to have a real dialogue.

We truly hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Hotel degli Orafi,
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The oscar-winning film "a room with a view" was filmed here. I haven't seen it, but the title is more than fitting for this boutique hotel just steps from Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are large and luxurious, marble bathrooms twice the size of a typical room in italy. I recommend paying extra to get a room with a balcony, so you can enjoy this famous view. Well worth it.

This is the perfect location to all of the important sites in Florence. The best part of this hotel is the rooftap bar with views of the river on one side and the duomo on the other. The food and the service make the views even more enjoyable. It was an incredible value and delivered a 5 star experience with only a 4 star price. Bravissimo!

Let me know if you have any specific questions I can answer. Safe travels!

Room Tip: Pay for a river view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your detailed comments about your recent stay with us! Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the services of the hotel, the room, the views and our beautiful roof top bar.
We truly hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I toured Italy in October and stayed here for three nights during our visit to Florence. This hotel was great, as it is right on the river and we were able to walk to all sightseeing opportunities. This hotel is a former convent and has beautiful beamed ceilings and offers a wonderful breakfast each morning. We will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel degli Orafi. We're happy to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our perfect location, in the very heart of the historical centre of Florence.
Come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel and I highly recommend it. Our room didn't have the best view, but it had a very nice outside porch that was nice to go out and get some fresh air and enjoy the wonderful weather. I don't know if the other rooms had this, but it was a definite perk. The room itself was quite large in comparison to other European hotels. The best part was the spacious bathroom, double sinks and good-size bath tub. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, everything you need before heading out for the day's adventures. The bar was great too. We stopped there each night before heading out to dinner. They had a great selection of American bourbons, which we greatly appreciated.

The location could not be better. Our patio looked out at the Uffizi Museum. We could walk anywhere within 5-10 minutes. The staff was very helpful when called upon.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our services and the staff and for sharing them on Tripadvisor. It will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of us.
We truly hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again very soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Business Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.