We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 nights here as a special treat for his 60th birthday. A complimentary bottle was in our room on arrival. We really did enjoy it our room was very nice with a view of the duomo and uffizi. The staff were really helpful, breakfast was a fantastic choice including bacon and eggs served in a beautiful room over looking the vecchio Corridor. It is very central to all the main sites.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear that all your needs were met during your stay and our location served as a convenient starting point to any Florence city outing. I am also delighted you enjoyed the helpfulness of our staff and our delicious American buffet breakfast, that we are very proud of.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    175
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
149
444
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Batumi, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel Degli Orafi is truly a four star hotel in their front desk operations and room service and in style and location too. This was my second time in four years to stay there. Only a couple of minutes walk from the old Ponte Vecchio Bridge, connected by ancient secret cat walks and tunnels to the Uffizi Museum, with also perhaps the best hotel breakfast in all of Florence, with a stunning view from the breakfast room expansive windows, only if you can take your eyes off of the parabolic shaped ceiling frescoes within. A truly sumptuous breakfast is included in room charge and is served until a leisurely 11am. Ristorante Caffe Pitti across the street from the Palaccio Pitti, a ten minute walk across the old bridge from Hotel Degli Orafi, serves the freshest truffle dishes I have ever eaten and I highly recommend trying them out, with or without a wine from their fine and reasonably priced wine list.

I paid for a regular basic room, of somewhat small size, but spacious enough certainly for two. My significant other, started to look more and more like Helena Bonham Carter, in ROOM WITH A VIEW, as time meandered on like the Arno River, even though we did not have any view, and I am not complaining. Despite the quaint floor space we had a lovely medium sized patio with a small metallic eating table with chairs and an overhead protection from the winter rain, where we could both play out dialogue together from film script memories, to the pitter patter of the nearly icy rain.

The hotel umbrellas provided to guests during the rainy winter season were first class, as large and sturdy as PGA golf tournament umbrellas, but much more elegant. The small palm sized little free Hors d'œuvres and pastries in the rooftop terrace café/bar, are quite satisfying too, with excellent views of some of the surrounding churches and towers and tiled rooftops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this magnificient review of our hotel!
Your beautiful and detailed description will strongly encourage us to uphold and improve our excellence.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay at Hotel degli Orafi!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed for three nights at the Degli Orafi. The room was full of character, a stone arch with mirror and a sitting room arrangement with the bed on a mezzanine level. I loved it, and despite the lack of a view from the room itself, the bar on the fifth floor compensated with its view across the tiled rooftops to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio etc. Just gorgeous.
To note - the bed was accessed by a wooden stair - not for anyone who has difficulty with steps and made night time trips to the loo a bit of a trek. The bed was firm and very comfortable. As we stayed in February the room was warm and welcoming, but it was noticeably warmer in the sleeping area than downstairs in the sitting area. This might mean that the sleeping area could possibly be a little hot in summer - something to watch out for.
The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Decent selection of toiletries. Toilet and bidet, bath with shower over, double washbasins. All very clean, modern and tasteful.
The breakfast room was another delight - the vaulted ceiling painted just like the Uffizi corridor. And the food was excellent. The hotel staff were all helpful. The hotel was impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. Its position could not be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and hope to have the chance to welcome back to us for another memorable stay.
The room you stayed in was a Junior Suite and some of them have a stair up to the sleeping area with a living room downstairs. All important information about our rooms can be found on our website. The hotel has both heating and proper air conditioning, so there won't be a problem staying in the room, not even during the very hot summer months.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We loved this hotel! It is small, charming and perfectly located near the Ponte Vecchio, with all of Florence within walking distance. Our room had a spectacular view of the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio which was simply amazing. The room and bathroom were clean and up to date. The breakfast buffet was incredible, abundant and delicious, which we enjoyed enormously surrounded by beautiful frescoes. The staff was helpful and courteous. A rooftop lounge with views also provided a peaceful place to go after a day of exploring the unbelievable art and history of this romantic city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and romantic description of our hotel!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and cannot wait to get the chance to welcome you back to us in the nearby future

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is the perfect location for a visit to Florence. It's right near the Ponte Vecchio on the north side of the river Arno...you can walk to any corner of the city very easily. This hotel is elegant with old charm, but it's not dated. The room we had was spacious enough for a couple, bathroom was modern with a great tub. The breakfast included was quite good and the dining area has nice views. The bar on the top floor was a great addition to have as we were there with multiple friends and it was a nice meeting space before and after dinner and going out. There is an outside rooftop part of it, it was just too chilly to use it while we were there. The front desk recommended one of the best restaurants I've been to ever. Free wi-fi and comfy seating in the lobby area...which was nice to come back to and unwind while sharing all of the day's pictures with people back home. I would book again here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Splurge for the river view if you can afford it. That's the only thing we didn't have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. It is a real satisfaction to hear that you would return in a heartbeat!
This makes us very proud of our hotel, service and staff. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back ot us in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fantastic location with a rooftop bar that has the best view in the city and excellent American drink selection. We had two perfect dry martini's and amazing snacks while sitting on comfortable couches with a nice view of the Duomo. If it wasn't so cold we would have sat outside on their lovely terrace.

Our room was a loft, very spacious and comfortable, breakfast was fresh and delicious, and the staff was very accommodating to our every need. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel will do their best to accommodate requests for views and larger beds - just send them an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel degli Orafi. We're happy to hear you had a good stay and hope that you will come back and visit us again, maybe this summer so you can enjoy the sun and a refreshing drink from our lovely terrace!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel graciously hosted all 20 of us and our advisors for about 10 days. Some things to appreciate:
-A delicious breakfast from 7-9:30 in the morning. Consists of fruit, eggs, bacon, salami, various cheeses, yogurt, sweet breads, sometimes cakes, salad; tea, and coffee are served as well.
-Situated right next to the Old Bridge; and located not far from the Duomo, Pitti Palace, Uffizi Gallery and more. There were always a lot of people around and felt very safe outside of the hotel.
-Suite rooms are beautiful and spacious. They include a kitchen with a few utensils.
-Free still and sparkling water everyday. (A surprisingly hard commodity to get during our trip while not at the Hotel Deli Orafi.)
-Free wifi for 7 days, and a library with a computer and printer at hand on the 2nd floor of the non-suite area of the hotel.
-Many available maps for you to take, and the library has guidebooks to Florence and Italy.
-5th floor bar connects onto a panoramic terrace.
-Close to a choice of ATMs if you exit the entrance and take a right around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor!
It was a real pleasure to host your group and we are proud to hear that you were fully satisfied during your stay. We hope you have brought back a lot of great memories from Florence and wish to welcome you back in the nearby future

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#14 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#23 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.