We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Florence
Burwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent stay in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent three nights here with my wife last month. We find out all hotel staffs were extremely friendly in Front office, Breakfast room and housekeeper as well. Our room was nice, clean and spacious with a king size bed. The bed and linens were very comfortable. Thank for making our trip very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay!
It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us on many future occasions,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    177
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
151
448
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were in Florence for three nights and stayed at the Delgi Orafi for one of the nights. We were only disappointed that we did not stay there all three nights. This hotel is fantastic and we highly recommend it. The room that we stayed in was spacious, with a living area and a kitchen. Bathroom was clean and looked new, but small like the typical Italian Hotels.

At check-in, you get a coupon for a complimentary drink that can be used on the terrace bar upstairs, which we used to get some pretty good wine. There’s a lovely view of the Duomo and the Bell Tower from the Terrace. The bartenders, especially the lady, was really friendly and took really good care of us. They even served good finger foods free, which you don’t find at other hotel happy hours.

They had the best breakfast served in any of the hotels we stayed at. Lot of pastries, fresh yogurt that I ate with Cereal, a Cheesecake to die for, smoked salmon along with the deli meats that you find at other hotel breakfasts. They also had scrambled eggs/bacon/sausages in addition to the typical Italian bfast items.

The hotel is also very very close the Uffizi Museum and the Ponte Veccio bridge, and about 5-10 mins walk from the main area with Restaurants and Bars. We pretty much walked everywhere and the only time we took a cab was from the Train station (Novella Santa Maria) to the hotel when we first got there (Cab ride was about 10 Euros). You get used to walking when you are visiting Italy. Also a good way to burn off all the calories from the all the amazing food.

The staff was great. They were very friendly and courteous. They even respond to emails pretty fast. The day before we got there, we emailed them to see if they can get us reservations for the Academia. They promptly replied that they got us reservations for the next day.

One minor thing to note is that the hotel does not have free wifi, but it was about 5 euros per hour or something like that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this amazing comment on TripAdvisor. It is very kind of you!
The entire team is thrilled to read that you enjoyed all our services and that you found them nice and friendly. This will without doubt be an incredible source of motivation to them.
I am sorry though for the internet and inform you that there might have been a misunderstanding since we do offer free Wi-fi access throughout the hotel. The only additional cost is for our business center, located in our historical library room.
We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back, very soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 to celebrate our Ruby Wedding (we went to Rome for our honeymoon so seemed apt). Hotel outstripped my expectations, especially the staff We did ask for the "Room with a View" as it was our Anniversary but had the room behind which was ok but a bit dark and of course overlooked building works which wasn't the hotel's fault. We didn't ask to change room although I am sure they would have done their best as nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was clean and had wonderful bed linen and towels. The bathroom was very good with his and hers basins and the use of robe and slippers was much appreciated. Other reviewers have commented on the roof bar and we too found this very welcome after walking round Florence - especially the Boboli gardens and Pitti Palace (over the Arno) which I can't recommend too highly, especially the Medici jewels. The guy playing the wine glasses just outside the hotel added a quirky touch especially when he asked us to buy his cd! All in all a great holiday to Florence made much more enjoyable by a lovely hotel which, as everyone says, couldn't be more convenient!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your kind comment. It is good hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well appointed, all according to your needs.
We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff which is a crucial part of a successful stay. They will be very happy to hear this. Unfortunately the Room with the view was booked during your stay but we are obviously ( as you kindly stated) always happy to relocate or upgrade our clients to suite their needs. We are happy you found us convenient and of course...romantic! We look forward hosting you again in the nearby future!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its a small, beautiful, in a very good location. Was there November 2011, and when I came back on February 2012. I couldnt stay there since it was full. I guess this hotel is a lot of people's favourite hotel .... I am definitely will plan my next visit to Florence way, way ahead to spent time in this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice comment on Tripadvisor!
We are very sorry if we weren't able to accomodate you for your last stay in Florence. We are eagerly waiting for your reservation and hope to be able to take good care of you during your nex trip!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel. Enjoyed staying here immensely. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Upgraded bathroom. Staff were helpful. Location is ideal! The bar on the 5 th floor has a lovely view and is a great place to hang out before dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review!
We are very pleased that you have had enjoyable stays with us and hopefully we've made you feel at home. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Charming hotel, well located to enjoy all the richness that Florence has to offer. We did have a lovely room with a view of the cathedral! Quiet(with the exception of the church bells which I thoroughly enjoyed). Breakfast fit for a king. Staff were very helpful and kind. Hotel was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor!
It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You cant beat this hotel for location - close to everything. We loved the style and attention to detail of our room, plus the cleanliness was superb, and the maid servicing our room was so efficient. Loved the rooftop bar as well as the gorgeous breakfast room - felt like we were dining in a small palace.

Had only 2 negatives - the bad smell near the lifts as mentioned prior (we were there in September and it wasnt raining), plus the crazy system of not having control of your air-conditioning in the room. If we wanted it turned on or off we had to ring down at reception. Was told by receptionist this is normal in Florence (Not sure?)

On the whole though would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay!
We also appreciate your comments, it is a pleasure to hear that you found the location to be perfect and the room and cleanliness to be up to your expectations. We are also happy you enjoyed our beautiful bar and breakfast room.
We are sorry if you encountered a bad smell close to the elevator during your stay. This can have occured since we were doing some maintenance work on our elevator in September and had the elevator shaft open. Thank you for mentioning this though, we will check it up.
Regarding the air conditioning we inform you that your problem probably occured beacuse you wanted it on in November. Usually a month when Italians start feeling the cold and we switch it off, therefore the need of regulating it from the front desk.
Thank you once again

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#16 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.