We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Degli Orafi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

So I stayed in the spring on my first ever trip to Italy. The location is just amazing. I walked right out to the Ponte Vecchio and right around the corner to the Uffizi Gallery. The breakfasts that I had there were delicious. I am not a huge fan of sweet stuff for breakfast, so the selection of eggs and breads and cheeses and meats were just perfect for me. The staff was lovely and when you check in you get a coupon for a free drink at the bar. The terrace bar is realy pretty...I don't now why it's not busier...I enjoyed it when I got back to the hotel after a busy day of shopping or sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your first trip to Italy!
We are thrilled that we were able to fulfill you expectations and that you found our American buffet breakfast complete and tasty. We also thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our Rooftop bar. The entire team look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    176
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
160
464
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The aroma is fresh, relaxing - you know you are going to have an incredible vacation. The staff is curteous and attentive. They know the best restaurants, the best shops, and the best times to be had in Firenza. When my credit card wouldn't work they helped me contact the company. The location is perfect - steps from the Uffizzi gallery, along the Arno, near Ponte Vecchio. I ran to easily from the hotel to Piazzale Michelangelo - the steep grade is worth the view from the top. Watch out for bikes! My room was comfortable and quaint. After a good nights sleep, I brunched on the included breakfast. Meats, eggs, cheese, tomatos, yogurt, juices, pears, figs, assorted breads and pastries, what's that? cheese cake?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review of your recent stay with us.
Your contribution points out exactly what we seek to provide - good personal service, comfortable rooms, cleanliness, a romantic and relaxing atmosphere with our beautiful views and a delcious buffet breakfast on top of that! I am pleased that we were able to fulfill your needs and look forward to welcoming you again in Florence,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Firstly the location is great. We were lucky enough to have an upgrade and had 'the room with a view' and it really was amazing with a large terrace. The terrace bar was lovely we couldn't understand why it wasn't busier. The breakfast was probably one of the best I have had. The service from reception and breakfast was all excellent. We booked a trip and restaurants through reception and the advice was always good.

This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay!
It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our free upgrade! Your enthusiasm for our hotel and for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the nearby future,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our tour leader chose this hotel for it's location and all of us were glad that she did. You are no more than three minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio in one direction and about the same in the other to the Uffizi Gallery and other sites. This hotel is non-descript from the front, but the inside is very worth staying. We had what they would call an apartment, a room with a small kitchen, table, and sofa, a small office room, a generous bedroom and bathroom. Their breakfast buffet was generous, something for all tastes. Whenever we get back to Florence, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel.
We all look forward to seeing you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was last year on October with a friend, and the stuff, service and location were fantastic, I will come back again!!!The view from the restaurant is beautiful, you can choose the view over the Arno or to choose the view over the Domo.

Room Tip: The room that was in the film A room With a View has a terrace with a view over the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was fantastic and we are more than thrilled that you will come and stay with us again!
We will be waiting for you in Florence

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location is amazing: on the river, 3 minutes' walk to Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi gallery, 5-10 minutes to pretty much everywhere else. But don't expect views from your room as only some superior/executive rooms have views over the river. We didn't mind as the front of the building is probably quite nosy and we enjoyed the views from the rooftop bar instead.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, and served until 11.00, which is a bonus if you fancy a lie-in.

Two small negatives:

1. At check-in, we were taken to a "suite" instead of the classic room we had booked. The suite was in fact a self-contained apartment, including kitchen/living area and located at the very back of the buidling, facing some building work. It was generally very dated and a bit shabby, not at all what we were expecting. I guess they might have thought we'd enjoy some more space as we were staying 5 nights. Either way, we went straight back to reception and to their credit, they switched us to the requested type of room immediately. We were towards the back of the building, with a bit of a view on the rooftops and the room was generally quiet.

2. As we'd had great success following reception staff recommendations of local/non touristy aperitivo locations (every place we went to was very nice, full of locals and good value), we asked another staff member where to go for good steak and were directed to a nearby restaurant. The fact that they had a pile of cards to distribute should have immediately alerted us that it wasn't what we were looking for... Anyway, we found two busloads of japanese tourists exiting and another huge group waiting to enter as we approached and decided instead to follow our noses back down the street to trattoria where the steak and the service were great.

Generally service was efficient & friendly, especially at the rooftop bar.

A couple of tips:

1. The rooftop bar's tuscan wine by the glass is lovely and it was cheaper (as was the beer) than at most places outside of the hotel. They serve some complimentary snacks with your drinks at aperitivo. And of course the views are gorgeous! I'd recommend going there at sunset.

2. The best sandwiches in Florence can be found next door at 'Ino.

3. Go for steak around the corner at the Antico Fattore trattoria. We kept ogling the massive rib of beef in the window when walking past and weren't disappointed when it reached our plate.

Room Tip: Only some superior/executive rooms have a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed our fantastic rooftop bar and that you found our perfect location comfortable for all your sightseeing in the city.
Thank you very much for your feed-back in regards of the restaurant recommendations. We apologize if you found one of our staff members suggestion faulty, hopefully you had a overall good Tuscan cuisine experience.
Regarding the room assignment you are right, we decided to give you a free upgrade to a big Suite due to the amount of nights booked, but as stated we had no problem changing you back to the standard room reserved. Usually our clients love to be upgraded sometimes not, it is a personal choice and we are happy to be able to serve every request or need.
We look forward to welcome you back to Florence!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything about this hotel is done well. The classy style and decor of the room, to the fantastic rooftop bar which was a great way to end the day and begin the evening!
I am in a wheelchair and the facilities in the disabled access room were appropriate, and there is a special lift to enable a wheelchair user to get access to the ballroom where the breakfast buffet is served. The staff were very friendly and helpful and suggested two great restaurants for us to dine at.
The location of the hotel to the Ponte Vecchio and the galleries is fantastic and we were able to walk/wheel to all sights as well as to the train station for a trip to Pisa.

Room Tip: Room 304 is the disabled access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review after your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that our disabled access was sufficient for you and that we were able to give you a enjoyable stay. Thank you for complimenting the staff and our beautiful rooftop bar, they will be thrilled to hear this.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the nearby future

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#26 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Degli Orafi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.