We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sole
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Sole 8, 3rd floor, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very friendly reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a change from sole to diva hotel (partner hotel) the receptionist was very friendly!!! The room was clean but not as pretty as on the pictures from sole (not equal).. Breakfast included till 10am (they started to clean up and close breakfast area at 09:40..) pitty! Thank you anyway for the stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
61
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location is a couple blocks away from central Florence - right by the cathedral and close to ponte vecchio bridge. only downside really is the noise since it is so close to the heart of the city. great restaurants around, free wifi, the workers are so friendly and accommodating. they also have a laundry service which is awesome if you plan on staying there for a while - or there is a laundry mat right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When we booked in Florence we found it hard to find a decent hotel with good prices. I found this hotel on booking.com and the prices were decent so we booked this hotel.

The hotel is very close to SM Novella station and it is in a very good location. Close to duomo and very nice shops. When we got to the hotel it seemed a bit dodgy, because you have to climb up to the 3rd floor to reach the hotel. We were surprised when we got to our room. Small but clean room, newly renovated bathroom and a comfortable bed. There is a tv and A/C that is very helpful in summer. The staff is friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

This hotel isn't a super fancy hotel, but it has all the basics and it's clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very helpfull. Good location in the shopping streets. (Even though we would prefer to stay closer to all the great restaurants rather than close to (exclusive) shopping.)
The room is clean.
We are surprised that hotel Sole only have one star!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Pros: has a lift, relatively inexpensive, clean and cleaned each day, great wi-fi, good location, receptionists are very friendly.
Cons (and quite a lot): budget type hotel, very poor noise cancelation in our room (7), slightly dingy- could use some renovation, mattresses are quite poor, air condition does not function (the story was that the weather in Florence is bipolar so they haven't turned it on yet, yet it was quite humid in the rooms! The customer should always be right).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Up three flights of stairs in an older building on Via del Sole, this recently renovated hotel has an elevator(!), a very helpful and friendly staff, spotless rooms, excellently functioning bathrooms, and air conditioning that worked perfectly throughout the five days we were in Florence during a heatwave in August 2013. So what the elevator's tiny, there's no parking or breakfast --- you've got a comfortable place to rest in the center of one of the world's great cities --- and at 58.90 euro per night for a double room (from the hotel's website)!

The Sole is in a great location between Santa Maria Novella train station and the major attractions around the Piazza della Signoria. We had coffee and pastries every morning at Caffe Megara a few steps away on the next corner and gelato each evening at Gelateria Lorenzo right there too. We had dinner twice at Birreria, downstairs from the Sole, which serves great beer along with Italian and quasi-Mexican style dishes --- not bad at all. Also, lots of other excellent dinner places right in the neighborhood.

We will definitely stay at the Sole when we next return to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Sole for your stay in Florence and thank you also for your good review about us. Me and all my staff are very glad to know that you appreciated your stay here and we hope that you will consider again our hotel if you want to come back in our gorgeus city!

Best regards,
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was very happy staying here and to prove it I decided to stay there again next year.
It was central, clean, quiet, good value and with friendly helpful staff.
What more can I say; this hotel suited me down to the ground and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very glad to know that you liked our hotel during your stay in Florence and I'm also very happy that you will come back here next year. Don't hesitate to suggest Hotel Sole to all friends or family members who want to come in Florence in the future.

Thank you very much and see you soon!

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via del Sole 8, 3rd floor, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sole 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sole, recently re-opened under a new management, is a one-star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Florence. The hotel is in fact situated on Via del Sole, inside the district of Piazza Santa Maria Novella, in a strategic point to visit on foot all the attractions and cultural and artistic treasures which have made Florence one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. The location of Hotel Sole is simply perfect: it’s at only 300 m from the railway station of Firenze Santa Maria Novella and it allows you to reach by walk the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Pitti, Piazza Santa Croce, Via Tornabuoni, the Accademia Gallery and Boboli Gardens, as well as the new Parco della Musica in Parco delle Cascine. The hotel is also close to the Fortezza da Basso, the major trade fair center of the city, and the Palace of Congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.