We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Giovanni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 461 hotels in Florence
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Can't beat the location; view of the Duomo square from our window! Very roomy and comfortable room. Shared bath wasn't a problem (always one available). Wifi only in common area. A bit loud due to street traffic, but completely blocked if the windows are closed.
Overall, great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    60
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was as we expected, and had everything we needed. The beds are firm but comfortable and we had a view of the Duomo square out of our window. Couldn't beat the location. The host at this hotel is very helpful, and recommended great restaurants that we tried on the two nights we had in Florence. The room did not have airconditioning but it had a standing fan which worked fine for us even in the 35C degree heat. Overall, a great stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights this June. The very best thing about this hotel is its location. You're literally in the center of Florence and thus can walk anywhere. The owner Umberto (my apologies in advance if I spell his name wrong) is very friendly. The room is comfortable enough for 2 persons and clean. If I still couldn't afford a 4 or 5 star hotel the next time I visit Florence, I'd definitely stay here again (lol).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Please note that Hotel San Giovanni is not a 4 star luxury hotel. That is not the experience you will have if you stay there. But let me tell you what experience you will have: the experence of staying in a 800 year old house the antique fresco's decorating the walls, a view of the duomo from your bedroom window, falling asleep to the sounds of Piazza San Giovanni, or, if you like, enjoying the sights and sounds yourself and not having to worry about a long walk home after the partying is done. The Hotel itself is well kept, clean, and safe. I would not have an issue staying there as a single woman traveling alone. Above all, however, the hotel's location simply cannot be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location with a view of the Duomo. We had a shared bathroom which was always available and clean.
Wi fi not available in rooms but available in the common area. Very helpful owner . Worthwhile recommendations for restaurants and travel etc. 10 mins from station. Good value in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel provided great value at the time of our stay (Easter weekend). For 75 Euros a night, it provided simple, clean accomodations within walking distance of the train station, and just steps from the Duomo. The bathrooms are located outside the bedrooms, and can be either shared or private depending on how much you pay, but were kept clean. Our room's window opened up to a view to the left of the Duomo, and one night there were even performers playing music right below our window (in front of a large crowd in the street below). Although the furniture (all wood) was a bit dated compared to other hotels we stayed at in Venice and Rome, my significant other felt it gave the place character and charm. The only downside was that the free Wifi is only accessible from the lobby, not the room, but that wasn't too inconvenient since we spent most of our stay outside seeing the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights... great location.... 10 minute walk from train station.... simple basic hotel with great view of the Duomo....
hotel itself is quiet hotel with basic room.... our room had 2 beds.... with a private bathroom across from our room..
no service and no receptionist (the guy that manages it is in the hotel for few hours in morning and afternoon)

the only bad part is the wifi... wifi reception is only good in the main front hall of the hotel... does not reach to the rooms....

other than that, the hotel is a simple place to stay with a good price

would defintely stay here again for basic hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Address: Via de Cerretani 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Giovanni 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a characteristic old worldly Florentine pensione. It is located in the heart of Florence's historical center right on the corner of Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square). This superb location means all of city museums, galleries and other tourist attractions are within a short walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located in two medieval tower buildings that in the 16th century became the bishops private residence. Today it is still possible to see in some of the rooms the original frescos. You will enjoy the amazing view from your window of one the world's most beautiful piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.