We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 458 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband researched hotels before we went on our trip and this hotel had great reviews by everyone. We agree, it is in a fantastic area, you can walk every whereand the staff is awesome. You can't beat the fantastic breakfast on the rooftop (overlooking Florence), and wine in the evening watching the sunset. Our room had a mini kitchen and a huge bathroom and our room was very comfortable. This historic hotel is awesome. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    97
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
131
416
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We loved the location and the staff was so accomendating. The weather was great so in the afternoon we rested on the deck

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel offered wonderful accomodations - our room was on the small size but had nice large bathroom, very clean, classic furnishing, very modern amentities. The best parts were the friendly staff who offered wonderful restaurant recommendations and the rooftop terrace - where they served a delicious breakfast every morning. The terrace was open 24 hours a day so you could go up at night to sit, have a glass of wine & enjoy the amazing views of Florence by the Arno. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were so pleased with this hotel, and absolutely would stay here again if we are fortunate enough to return to Florence. At the quieter end of the historic district, yet only a few minutes walk to everywhere you want to go, the location is perfect. In fact, it's right near the river, too, which was great for our evenings when we wanted to eat at restaurants across the river in the Oltrarno district that were authentic rather than touristy.

The hotel itself is a historic building, and has the charm and character of old Florence. Our very favorite part was the rooftop terrace. For breakfast, we were treated to a delicious feast on the terrace, and at night we would sit on an even higher terrace with a glass of wine and watch the sun go down over the river. The views from the terrace are amazing, and the hotel staff was excellent. We highly recommend this classy hotel and wish we were there right now!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Although I had booked a deluxe room in the tower, when I arrived I had been given an apartment in the adjacent building. Unfortunately, above my room there was a banking business and during the day until early evening it was very noisy. When I approached staff on two occasions they were dismissive and said they were fully booked and could do nothing about it.
I had been really looking forward to staying in this hotel, but would not stay there
again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Booked this hotel from the internet and we were pleasantly surprised. It is within walking distance to major attractions and the hotel is absolutley superb! We booked a grand delux room, it was spacious, gorgeous detail in the decorating, clean and very comfortable. If they were sold out we would have liked to stay for 2 more days.
Breakfast is served on the roof top terrace, with views of tuscany and the city. It is located beside the most expensive shops, Prada, Tiffany, ect but a 2 min walk and you are in a beautiful open market where everything is very afforable. Location is great!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I booked a suite - it was in the adjacent tower (same lobby, different elevator). Very large, two big, marble bathrooms, lovely decorating! The staff was friendly and very helpful with very nice, professional touches. The rooftop terrace was delightful, the location was very good. It is a reasonable walk from the train station even pulling your luggage. It is very close to the Ponte Vecchio and close enough to the Uffizi, Academia and Duomo - really nothing more than a 10 minute walk.

Very much enjoyed our stay and when I return to Florence I wouldn't waste a second looking for anywhere else to stay. This one is a solid winner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.