We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Say Enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We cannot say enough good things about Antica Torre. My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel last April. Upon checking in, our bags disappeared and were in our room before we signed the register. A member of the staff then took us on a tour of the may amenities offered at Antica Torre. We were shown two rooftop terraces overlooking both Il Duomo and central Florence and on the other side, the River Arno and Ponte Vecchio. A guest can sit comfortably to view the panorama while enjoying a favorite drink and snack offered at the nearby honor bar.

Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with a window view of Il Duomo. Breakfast offered an endless variety of fresh food, fruits and beverages. When the chef added a new dish, we were honored to be asked for a critique (always A+). Dinner recommendations and reservations were cheerfully given by the friendly and professional staff.

Our memorable visit to Florence was enhanced with our stay at Antica Torre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Albert H,
what a pleasure to read your wonderful message!
We are absolutely glad you appreciated every single point of your stay at the Antica torre Tornabuoni, it's such a pleasure to satisfy our guests and much more we will do our best to get your return in Florence even more memorable!
Please contact me for everything you may need.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    110
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
153
475
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Pros:
- Excellent location. There is simply no topping it. 2 min to Ponte Vecchio and all the other major tourist sites. Surrounded by luxurious boutiques. Good restaurants in the area.
- Indoor and outdoor sitting area in one of the towers with breathtaking views of the Duomo. Tea is free. I just wished we had time to utilize the space more.
- Comfortable rooms with tasteful decor. Everything functioned well. In fact, I can't think of a single thing that I would like to have changed.
- Great breakfast area with outstanding city view. Breakfast spread is wonderful from warm food, pastries, yogurt, fruit, etc.

Cons:
- While the employees are cordial and efficient, I will say that the hotel is a bit undermanned for this price range, and thus the front desk's demeanor is a bit brusque. Be prepared to carry your own luggage, don't expect high quality concierge service and you'll be much happier.
- No front desk service after 10pm. Would be tragic if you forgot to grab your keys, etc.
- My husband wanted to enjoy the beautiful views from the terrace at breakfast, but was harassed by pigeons. He joined the rest of us indoors for the remainder of our stay. The breakfast servers could also be a bit on the slow side, they seem to be undermanned as well.
- The same trombone player played in the piazza below our room every evening. We found the performance quaint and romantic the first night. Unfortunately the guy had an extremely small repertoire consisting of "Godfather" theme song and "Danny Boy", so by the third night, we felt tired and impatient...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Aquavanguard,
thanks a lot for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate the analysis of pro and cons you made and I'm happy that at the very end the valuation is excellent; at the same time I'll take the opportunity to give more information to all the Tripadvisor's users; infact Reception closed at 10.00pm but we have a night porter available for emergencies so don't worry: you could forget the key without any tragic situation because our porter will be happy to open you the front door!
I hope to welcome you in a next future and please feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful little hotel for 3 nights in July 2014 - had high hopes based on the tripadvisor reviews and photos we had seen, and this place exceeded our expectations. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly, and a special thanks to Lorenzo the barman for his great G&T's. The views from the 2 rooftop terraces are second to none - both of the city and the beautiful Duomo, as well as the Arno River - perfect place to relax and watch the sun set over Florence. We could even see the Duomo from our bedroom window. The breakfasts included in the room rate were absolutely DELICIOUS! Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear RandWjhb,
I should thank you for the kind comment posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm extremely happy to see that the Antica Torre Tornabuoni exceeded your expectation and I believe that your opinion will help many other travellers.
I'll invite Lorenzo to read your message and I can say he will be enthusiastic.
Please contact us directly everything you may need.
Warmest Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I am an international author and my wife and I return to Italy every year. Firenze is of course breathtaking to visit and the Tuscan surroundings. And I know of no better hotel for location, classic classic interior and amazing staff and, and, and….Trust me, this hotel is a wonder and romantic. Here is the url to see my full review on this hotel and Florence
http://noahbenshea.com/heavenly-firenze/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Noah b,
I cannot say thanks enough for the wonderful comment you left on Tripadvisor and much more for what you publish on your web page.
I'm grateful, from the bottom of my heart for your words: grazie.
As you come to Italy every year I wish we can welcome you again on the next so, please contact me directly in order to assure the best available service.
Grazie,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This small hotel near the Arno was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. The location is excellent, the rooms comfortable and spacious and the service superior. Martina at the front desk could not have been more helpful to the five of us. She made excellent dinner reservations and was always willing to help. The views from the terraces are the best in Florence. A great morning breakfast with a wonderful staff. We highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear OhioBuckeye1215,
thnaks for sharing your experience about the Antica torre Tornabuoni on Tripadvisor.
I'll thank personally all the staff and obviosly I'll congratulate Martina which took a good care of you!
I wish you can come back in Florence soon and I invite to reserve directly in order to have our warmest welcome.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed the first night of our honeymoon on 20/06/2014 here. It is the most wonderful hotel. The staff are second to none. We were taken to be shown our room and the roof top terraces personally by Maria. We were simply stunned by our room having its own terrace and a complimentary bottle of a Prosecco waiting for us to celebrate our nuptials. I nearly cried when I saw this!

The views from their terraces are simply superb! The staff were so kind, friendly and very professional. We would certainly return here if we are lucky enough to visit Florence again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear pennyal,
Thanks you for choosing the Antica torre Tornabuoni for your honeymoon.
We are glad to offer a bottle of champagne for such a great celebration and we will be happy to offer a special teratment if you'll decide to spend your first anniversary with us.
Please feel free to contact me anytime directly.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Antica Torre di Tornabuoni is situated at one of the best spots in old Florence. Overlooking the Arno River, near the main attractions such as the Uffizzi, and in front of the main Ferragamo store at the fashion street, this former nobility estate turned into a boutique hotel gives you all the comfort and the convenient access to enjoy Florence. The room is spacious and the view over the river is pleasant and soothing. The staff is very attentive and the concierge gives you a knowledgeable advice on restaurants and places to visit. Some excellent restaurants are situated at a walking distance from the hotel and you can hardly get lost in town having the river Arno as reference point. By its location, comfort and classical atmosphere, this hotel is an excellent center for exploring all the marvelous attractions of Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Edmundo F,
thank a lot for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us.
I'm extremely glad you appreciate the location, as well the staff courtesy and the room style so we invite to return and visit us on your next visit of Italy.
I recommend to book directly in order to offer the best available service.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#6 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#17 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,939 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#21 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#6 Business Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.