We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'must do' hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 461 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A 'must do' hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 following 4 days in Siena. We had a Grand Deluxe Double with a river view. Perfect hotel for seeing Florence, everything to see and do is a matter of minutes away on foot.

The room was modern and tastefully decorated, view fantastic, bathroom ideal for us with a walk in shower. A really splendid breakfast was on offer and the waiting staff very friendly. The rooftop terrace (where there is an honesty box bar for some parts of the day) and a snack/lunch service has the most stunning views over Florence. Front desk/concierge service really helpful.

The hotel is quite quirky in its layout but it's worth it to maintain the charm and beauty of the building it is located in. It is also literally a stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio. If we are ever back in Florence we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    95
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
126
403
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

30 years of marriage and a wonderful unbeatable location with an unsurpassable roof top vista. The staff were courteous and attentive but never intrusive.The honesty bar is great to sit in the early evening and watch the sun over the Arno. The room was simple and the lift was probably the slowest in the world but ....lovely. Breakfast was truly outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location could not be better. One of the things I loved the most is that this is an 13th century bulding and I love the uniqueness and charm. The accommodations were comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The rooftop terraces are heavenly and the view from our room of the duomo was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The roof top terraces (there are two!) are breathtaking. At night you can have a glass of wine, grab your sweetheart, and look out over the Duomo and city feeling like a Medici. In the morning you will have your breakfast, one of the best, overlooking the river Arno. The reception staff could not be better, especially if you are not Italian and are looking for genuine care, and interest in having the best the city can offer! Their guidance and recommendations were great. If you leave the city for a few days to venture to Tuscany they will keep your bags for you for free. the bathrooms are modern and spacious, which we really appreciated. I hope to return many times with family and friends to Florence, and will always be staying here.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are big, I don't think you will go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed hear during our honeymoon. It was my first time to Italy and we visited several cities. We stayed here for our time in Florence. The hotel was absolutely fabulous in every way. Our room had a great view and the breakfast at the top floor was a nice start to each day. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were fantastic. The real star of this hotel is the location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Got the feeling that they will do almost anything to make your stay a pleasant one. Our room had a wonderful view. Great breakfast on the roof top. "Honor" bar on roof top. Next visit to Florence will definitely stay here. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. Some of the rooms have private terrace. Even without private terrace, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This must be one of the most romantic palaces in the world. But when booking be sure to request a room with a view...! Everything is perfect, service, location, wonderful breakfasts on the rooftop terrace. Although our stay coincided with the world cycling championships, which disrupted the city somewhat, the Management went overboard to overcome all sorts of problems, such as taxis, garage, etc. Really commendable

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.