We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and awesome location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and awesome location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for only one night but wished it had been more! The location of the hotel is perfect, you walk out the front door and are given an amazing view of the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge. We were greeted immediately by very friendly reception and taken personally to our rooms and given a tour of the roof top terrace. Our room was very large! It was like a mini-apartment, with a large bathroom and separate seating area with a couch and coffee table. The room was very clean and we had a perfect view of the Arno River, right outside our window. The highlight of this hotel was the roof top terrace! The panoramic views are breathtaking. You can watch the sunset from here and enjoy a drink. The convenience at this hotel was great, if the bartender is not there at the time you can pour yourself a glass and they will charge you later (honor system); coffee, water and tea were always free. We loved this hotel and the location, and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jamie A,
grazie for the kind words regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad you appreciate the views, the room size, the terraces and our "honor bar" - we love to offer the chance to feel our guests relaxed!
Everything you may need, please feel free to contact me anytime.
Kind Reagrds,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    92
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
117
373
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitsett, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Antica Torre de Via Tornabuoni (Ancient Tower on the Via Tornabuoni). This hotel has a limited number of rooms inside an ancient palazzo situated a few steps from the Arno river, directly in front of the Farragamo building on one of the most exclusive streets in Florence. What a treat! When we arrived, we were escorted to the roof top balcony for a 360 degree view of all of Florence. This hotel has a fabulous location, the rooms are great and the staff is attentive and helpful. Before we arrived, the hotel emailed us to see if they could do anything to make our stay better. We choose to have a private car pick us up at the SMN train station and take us into the Chianti region for a 4-5 hour wine tasting tour which turned out to be one of the highlights of our time in Italy. When I return to Florence, I will try to stay here again.

Room Tip: The specific room is not as important as the central location in Florence and the roof top balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lucas750,
grazie for sharing your experience with many other travellers.
I'm pleased you had a wonderful time in Florence and I'm happy to hear that the guided tour of the Chianti was one of the highlights of our time in Italy, in fact, the driver with whom we cooperate, Beppe, is really great!
We look forward to welcome you in a next future.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni. It is located in a very convenient spot in Florence, and the rooftop bar/restaurant is not to be missed any time of day. The staff was very accomodating, the rooms were clean and convenient, and we greatly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear rjbirder,
thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm pleased you appreciate location and staff and the bar in the panoramic terrace and I look forward to welcome you again in a next future,
Kind Reagrds,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights of our 19 night honeymoon and this was our favorite hotel. The hotel is enchanting. It's in the perfect location of the city of Florence. I think it is only 11 rooms of so. The staff was very accommodating and spoke perfect English which made us comfortable. Also upon check in there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us ---very cute!!
The breakfasts were delicious, the honor bar was really awesome and the best art of it all was the terrace!!! We had a picnic up there every night even had pizza and wine we brought in from a store. I will never forget our time here. It was an awesome experience I highly suggest this hotel for couples!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Michelle S,
thank you for choosing the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 for your honeymoon.
I'm glad you felt comfortable with our multilingual staff and that you appreciate the bottle of prosecco we offered you!
I hope to welcome you for all anniversary to come!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our 5th floor room was lovely. We were here on San Giovanni (the celebration of Florence's patron saint) and enjoyed the spectacular fireworks from the rooftop patio. My only wish is that our stay was longer. This hotel is beautiful, super service (an honor system in the bar upstairs during off hours), wonderful breakfast and delightful happy hour. You can't get a better view also. Our room (501) had a small patio that faced the clock tower for which the hotel is named. Superb!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear andysmom,
grazie for the wonderful words you spend about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
It's a pleasure you have the opportunity to be in Florence during the St. John's celebration, in fact, we always offer a gala dinner for our guests and the night will end with the fireworks, that this year were amazing!
I wish you could stay longer on your next visit of Florence and please, feel free to call me anytime.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater,NJ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the six months leading up to the trip and throughout our stay the entire staff was fantastic. Everyone was attentive, from the various email requests to making dinner reservations or just answering general questions. Grazie Mille!

We stayed in rooms 502 and 503, both of which had nice views of the city. The balcony on 503 also had a view of the Duomo. The rooftop views however are unmatched. One afternoon we went to Amici Di' Ponte vecchio Da Stefano for sandwiches and had lunch on the roof admiring the Duomo. Also a great view at night with a glass of wine or hot chocolate.

We had a minor issue with one of our rooms and at checkout the manager offered a reduced room rate to compensate for any inconvenience. Just a final nice touch to an already wonderful stay.

Room Tip: 502 & 503 have balconies with a small table and chairs. You can see the Duomo from 503 and the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear NJWillieB,
grazie for the kind comment posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad yo uhave the opportunity to stay in the only 2 Grand Deluxe rooms with balcony we have, even if the view from the terrace is ineffable.
I'm sorry for any inconvenient incurred you but, as you can understand, your satisfaction is our unique goal, so I'm very glad you appreciate the compensation I offered you at check out.
SInecrely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

When travelling with a family, it's always nice to have a bit more space, and an extra bathroom! We stayed in the Renaissance Suite, which was beautiful. Breakfast is served on the terrace which has gorgeous views over Florence. The staff are incredibly helpful and extremely knowledgeable. Although a suite sounds expensive, it was still less than the cost of two hotel rooms. This hotel is ideally located, within a few steps of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. It is also only an easy ten - minute walk from the railway station. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Cazwinkie,
Thanks for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad you feel comfortable and that the room was suitable for your family, especially, our Renaissance Suite has 2 huge bathrooms, one with bathtub and the other with shower; so it's the perfect sulotion for families.
I wish to welcome you back a next future and I'll take the opportunity to offer the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.