We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had 3 lovely nights in Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni and even though the weather was bad, the hotel gave us a warm welcome. All the staff were very helpful and hospitable (a special mention must go to the breakfast staff! ). The room itself was large and airy with a good sized bathroom and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom, while not in a modern style, was in a traditional Tuscan style and therefore may not appeal to everyone. There was a very comfortable bed and 2 small lounges to sit on in the room. All in all, a very comfortable and welcoming room, in a wonderful location on the Arno River in the heart of Florence! It is walkable from SMN railway station but I wouldn’t recommend this with the number of bags that we had (we caught a taxi, which cost us 10 euros).
Undoubtedly the best feature of this lovely hotel is its roof top terraces. The view is spectacular. You get one of the best views of the Duomo in Florence! And as a bonus the other terrace has an equally good view of the river. This is just the place to sit and have a drink or in our case shelter from the rain with a coffee.
Our only complaint was the internet in our room, or lack thereof. It was at best, only intermittent, so if you are reliant on it (eg for work), you will have problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear EKKSydney_Australia,
"grazie" for the kind words.
I'll print your comment for all the staff and especially, I'll take the opportunity to thank the breakfast staff for their job!
I wish to have the opportunity to welcome again in Florence and please, feel free to contact me directly in case of reservation.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    90
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
113
360
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location next to the river Arno and superb views from the roof garden. Such a joy to sit there and have breakfast in the morning - fabulous selection of foods or a cheeky cocktail in the evening. Staff were excellent - very friendly and kind, superb English skills and very happy to help with dinner booking etc. our classic room was small but very practical with great storage and lovely rooftop views. Great hotel and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear suezzerk,
thank you for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We are pleased you appreciated our terraces and the service, but much more, I'm glad you were satisfy with your room, even if the Classic room is our base category, but, as you mention, we offer the same standards of comforts for all the room's categories.
I wish to welcome back in Florence and everything you might need, please feel free to contact me directly anytime.
Your Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were a group of 5 ladies and therefore decided to treat ourselves to a suite (3 beds and 2 bathrooms) and an adjacent deluxe room (rooms 101 and 102). An outer door enabled us to leave the room doors open if we wished to stay in contact. An ideal arrangement. Both rooms were very nice, very comfortble, overlooking Piazza S. Trinita, although a bit noisy the first night with workmen outside, but not a real problem. We were very impressed by the staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful, from the original enquiry to our actual stay. The staff were clearly happy in their jobs and it showed and was reflected in their performance. The breakfast was excellent to be able to enjoy it while sitting on the beautiful terrace with one of the best views in all Florence, was unforgettable. The upper terrace, with views of the river was also wonderful and an ideal spot to indulge in a prosecco!
We had a couple of good meals inLe Antiche Carrozze across the Piazza, a very jolly one in Golden View across the Ponte Vecchio (we asked the hotel to book for us as ask for a window table for the view of the floodlit bridge) and a slow but good lunch in Osteria San Spirito.
Wonderful trip and outstanding hotel, the sun shone and super ice creams from Gelateria San Trinita across the Ponte S Trinita and also at the Gelateria Carraia, across the next bridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear milbyhols,
I was delighted to read your posting on TripAdvisor and I thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, which I was delighted to read went above your expectations, and you enjoyed everything that was offered to you from every point of view.
I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the not too distant future.
With my best wishes,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here because of the Trip Advisor rating and reviews. As always, we were led to the perfect place. We have two small kids and the room was amazing with a view of the Ponte Vecchio and the Arno. The rooftop was breathtaking and the service was excellent. We travel to Florence often and this will be the hotel we choose for all future stays!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear SbSpall,
grazie for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 in Tripadvisor; in fact, you are the example of how important is the honest opinion of the guests...
We wish to welcome you again in Florence and feel free to contact me directly for your next reservation.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Antica Torre during our April vacation. We loved this boutique hotel with it's spectacular rooftop terraces that offer views of all of Florence. Our room was a large suite overlooking the Santa Trinita bridge with views of the Arno. Our room was more like an apartment. It had a very large living room with sofabed and full eat-in kitchen, Staff was helpful, service was excellent and the location was perfect for touring all the major sights and shopping. A nice breakfast on the gorgeous rooftop terrace was included. We would love stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Cornellmom2,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback.
I'm happy to hear you would love to stay with us again, so if you will be back in Florence you know you have a "home far from home".
Looking forward to welcoming you again and soon,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently had a 6-night stay at Antica Torre and couldn't have asked for more.
Our corner room was comfortable, clean, sufficiently large and had a direct view over Piazza Santa Trinita (with the duomo cupola in the background) and a partial view of the Arno.
The staff is outstanding. Everybody was extremely helpful and friendly.
Antica Torre's location is very convenient and within easy walking distance to all the important sights and the two roof top terraces are simply wonderful. At night, after the bartender is gone, it is still possible to enjoy a drink on the terrace using their honor system.
Instead of taking a taxi, we had arranged private transportation from and to the airport through the hotel and the driver was punctual, informative and very entertaining.
We highly recommend Antica Torre and will definitely stay there again next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sabine-CO,
thank you for choosing the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 for your stay in Florence.
I'm glad you appreciate the service of transfer with our private driver, honestly in almost 10 years we have never had a complain about the service!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime if you are planning to return in Florence soon,
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here the beginning of April for 3 nights. Excellent location and walking distance to all sights-- we walked to Pitti Palace, Boboli gardens, baslica de san miniato, piazza michelangelo, galileo museum, duomo, uffizi, the academy, and the train station! Room was a decent size for 2 people. A little odd scent everytime we would come back to the room--we found that it was the plug in air freshener so we just unplugged it and everything was better! Helpful staff. Gorgeous views from rooftop. Nice continental breakfast -- some gluten free options would be nice...I stuck to the yogurt, fruit and coffee. Otherwise I nice array of breads, pastries..etc. Get there early...I also found that hotels in italy do not stock hair conditioner so bring some if you need it! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Crna85,
thank you for sharing the experience in Florence with all the Tripadvisor's users.
I'm happy to inform that the scent you had in your room is a special fragrance produced in Florence by a famous company called Dr. Vranjes and we are proud to offer this amenity in the room with all Mediterranean flavours.
Breakfast is served on the top floor and we offer a wide selection of food, including eggs, bacon and wurstel and, much more it's a buffet breakfast with gluten free food upon request; so I'm afraid you did not mention it to our staff otherwise we would be glad to propose it suddenly.
We look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.