We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel In Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 461 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel In Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I don't know what I can add that has not already been said about this amazing hotel. The location is great and the views from the rooftop have to be seen. We spent 4 nights here last week in the grand deluxe romantic room and it was wonderful. We had three windows that opened to the river. I also agree with all of the previous statements about the staff. Everyone was professional, friendly and really went out of their way to make sure you have everything you could need to enjoy Florence. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear JL4350,
grazie for the precious comment about your recent stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I should confess that the Grand Deluxe Romantic is really a unique junior suite with fine decoration: the beige and azure-striped walls offer a “Damasco” motif inspired by a historic eighteenth-century Florentine fabric.
We wish to let you experience for your next visit of Florence, a different but unique suite as the Library or the Renaissance Suite or our Panormaic Suite with a private balcony overlooking the river.
SIncerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    95
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
383
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Florence was our favorite city and Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni was our favorite hotel. we were traveling with a two year old and the staff was amazing When we arrived there were toys in her room, a feature we have never experienced before. the wait staff at an excellent breakfast and the bar man in the afternoon met our every need. With two roof top terraces to relax on at the end of the day. The rooms were very well appointed, even included a blue ray player and the latest movies. As wonderful as the hotel was, the location is in the heart of the city yet very quiet at night. When we moved on to our next location we all said we wish we could go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear nmfMaine,
I'm full of pride reading the opinion of your stay at the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1.
We do our best to offer always, the best possible service and, especially with kids, we always want to satisfy their needs, that's why we provide children's specific amenities such as cribs, changing tables, baby chairs, electrical plug ans much more, few toys!
I'm also glad to see that you appreciated the selection of DVDs we offer to all our guests with no extracharge, we will try to keep always our selection updated with all the new movies!
We look forward top welcome you back in the future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Italy. We stayed for four days and me and my husband felt every penny spent here is worthwhile. first and foremost, let me start by saying, the location is unbeatable! you are close to everything, walking distance to ponte vecchio, piazza de la signorina, Uffizi gallery, the views from the hotel is a guarded secret that I hope wont change, what a view of Florence!! From the staff, to the room, to the location and the views, you won't regret staying here!!. Now keep it a secret so we can keep sharing this fantastic place!!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect and I have a distinct feeling you can't get a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear lissel c,
ssshhhhhhh: let's keep the secret!
I'm glad that the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 is an hidden gem and much more, I'm happy to confirm that the terraces and the bar are EXCLUSIVE for our guests only, that means, it's a special private place for our guests, and our guests will always have a seat and a table in their "own" terrace...
I wish to keep a seat for you in the Terraces for your next visit of Florence.
See you soon,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is such a gem in the best part of Florence right off the Arno and nestled among the best shops and sights of Florence. The room, while small, was exquisitely decorated in silks and the best bedding one can find. The lovely rooftop patio was wonderful early in the morning or evening with breathtaking views of all of Florence and the hills surrounding the city. The staff is very helpful and want to please their guests so they go out of their way to provide suggestions and make reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Azsunshine1930,
grazie for the time you spent writing about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We are always happy to read these words and we will find motivation and enthusiasm on your comment.
We look forward to welcome you soon and please, feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When I booked the Antica Torre Tornabuoni hotel a year ago for a writer's retreat I planned to run in Florence, I said on my website that it was the "best" hotel in Florence. I made that statement on the basis of a tour (including the two stunning terraces) and a meeting with Cristina about my event. Now that I have not only stayed there, but also hosted a group of 8 women for a week, I can say it from direct experience. Antica Torre Tornabuoni is the best hotel in Florence. Period.

Let's begin with the views from the terraces and the breakfast room. You'd have to be made of stone in order for them not to take your breath away. The rooms are gorgeous, stylish and comfortable, all while maintaining the atmosphere of being in a medieval tower. The breakfast is fantastic - the best of any hotel I've stayed in anywhere in Italy. The hotel itself is an historic building - part medieval tower and part renaissance palazzo. It's steps from the Santa Trinita bridge (one down from the Ponte Vecchio), and faces the tony shopping street of Via Tornabuoni.

But all of these amazing features pale to the excellence of the staff and the service. It's almost as if the staff can anticipate your needs before you realize what they are and make sure they are attended to. You can imagine that running a group event in a hotel for a week would present some unique challenges - and it did. We made some unusual requests (sliding writing prompts under the participants' doors at night, borrowing chargers, scissors, tape, etc.), had times when we needed special assistance such as transportation for part, but not all of our group, or we needed to use the space on the terrace for group events. All of these requests went alongside usual things like museum and restaurant reservations. Each and every need was handled immediately and with a smile.

We were all made to feel so welcome at Antica Torre. The participants in my retreat had nothing but fabulous things to say about the hotel, which is pretty amazing when you consider that there were 8 of us in total. Grazie mille to Cristina, Daniel, Maria, Martina, Lorenzo and all the others!! It's not often your experience far exceeds expectations, but that is exactly what happened for the first annual Writer's Renaissance retreat in Florence. So much so that I've already booked the hotel for my group again for 2014!!

Alla prossima volta!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear jfoshed,
I should thank you for giving us the chance to welcome such a wonderful group of writers!!!
We were happy to be involved in your wonderful initiatives so everybody was proud to assit you in any request you might have, also, we really wish to have the opportunity to welcome again and soon your special writers for Writer's Renaissance retreat in Florence (session 2)....
Ci vediamo presto,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a superb four night stay here for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. The room was large, clean and comfortable and looked across the Arno river. The roof top terrace was a delight for breakfast and to sit outside for an early evening drink looking towards the Duomo with the Tuscan hills in the background, or across the red tiled roofs to the river. The staff without exception were excellent, firendly, polite and helpful. They recommended some excellent restaurants for dinner, one (The Golden View) with a fantastic view of the Ponte Vecchio, and another (Pariones) just around around the corner with an atmospheric cellar. With high standards and high expectations this hotel met the mark, not cheap but quality and value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear WYTravellers,
what should I say if not: thank you!
I'm glad you spend here such wonderful celebrations as wedding anniversary and your wife's birthday; I'm glad we respect your expectation!
We look forward to welcome you back for many other anniversaries and gfeel free to contact us directly anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family stayed here in March '13 for three nights. We all loved it. The rooms were beautiful and the "library" room particularly well sized. Our rooms were clearly very recently renovated/decorated and were very tastefully done. The bathrooms were nice and modern and functional (which isnt always the case in europe).

The rooftop restaurant offered spectacular views of Florence - made you want to sit there all day. The breakfasts were great with extensive offerings.

The location was also great. You are very close to pretty much anywhere you want to be in Florence but also not in the middle of heavily touristy areas.

It should be noted that this isn't what i'd call a traditional hotel. There isnt a real lobby area and i don't think there is room service etc. Of course there is housekeeping and the front desk staff are very helpful with arrangements etc. I only point this out in case you want a "typical" hotel situation. We didnt feel like we missed out on anything - and we are used to nicer hotels (eg Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton)

We would absolutely stay at this hotel again. We look forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RolandPark,
thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'll take the opportunity to inform that we are not an hotel but we are an Historical Residence, which means that our property is a historical building where it is possible to host guests in a charming atmosphere full of history. Thanks to this law of 2000, just in Tuscany, we are able to have guests inside the Palace and let them feel as the owner is open his arm to welcome guests.
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and in case you are planning to come back Florence, contact us directly, in order to assure our best available service.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.