We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room, perfect location and the rooftop patio has amazing views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room, perfect location and the rooftop patio has amazing views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is such a gem in the best part of Florence right off the Arno and nestled among the best shops and sights of Florence. The room, while small, was exquisitely decorated in silks and the best bedding one can find. The lovely rooftop patio was wonderful early in the morning or evening with breathtaking views of all of Florence and the hills surrounding the city. The staff is very helpful and want to please their guests so they go out of their way to provide suggestions and make reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Azsunshine1930,
grazie for the time you spent writing about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We are always happy to read these words and we will find motivation and enthusiasm on your comment.
We look forward to welcome you soon and please, feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    92
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
117
374
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When I booked the Antica Torre Tornabuoni hotel a year ago for a writer's retreat I planned to run in Florence, I said on my website that it was the "best" hotel in Florence. I made that statement on the basis of a tour (including the two stunning terraces) and a meeting with Cristina about my event. Now that I have not only stayed there, but also hosted a group of 8 women for a week, I can say it from direct experience. Antica Torre Tornabuoni is the best hotel in Florence. Period.

Let's begin with the views from the terraces and the breakfast room. You'd have to be made of stone in order for them not to take your breath away. The rooms are gorgeous, stylish and comfortable, all while maintaining the atmosphere of being in a medieval tower. The breakfast is fantastic - the best of any hotel I've stayed in anywhere in Italy. The hotel itself is an historic building - part medieval tower and part renaissance palazzo. It's steps from the Santa Trinita bridge (one down from the Ponte Vecchio), and faces the tony shopping street of Via Tornabuoni.

But all of these amazing features pale to the excellence of the staff and the service. It's almost as if the staff can anticipate your needs before you realize what they are and make sure they are attended to. You can imagine that running a group event in a hotel for a week would present some unique challenges - and it did. We made some unusual requests (sliding writing prompts under the participants' doors at night, borrowing chargers, scissors, tape, etc.), had times when we needed special assistance such as transportation for part, but not all of our group, or we needed to use the space on the terrace for group events. All of these requests went alongside usual things like museum and restaurant reservations. Each and every need was handled immediately and with a smile.

We were all made to feel so welcome at Antica Torre. The participants in my retreat had nothing but fabulous things to say about the hotel, which is pretty amazing when you consider that there were 8 of us in total. Grazie mille to Cristina, Daniel, Maria, Martina, Lorenzo and all the others!! It's not often your experience far exceeds expectations, but that is exactly what happened for the first annual Writer's Renaissance retreat in Florence. So much so that I've already booked the hotel for my group again for 2014!!

Alla prossima volta!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear jfoshed,
I should thank you for giving us the chance to welcome such a wonderful group of writers!!!
We were happy to be involved in your wonderful initiatives so everybody was proud to assit you in any request you might have, also, we really wish to have the opportunity to welcome again and soon your special writers for Writer's Renaissance retreat in Florence (session 2)....
Ci vediamo presto,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a superb four night stay here for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. The room was large, clean and comfortable and looked across the Arno river. The roof top terrace was a delight for breakfast and to sit outside for an early evening drink looking towards the Duomo with the Tuscan hills in the background, or across the red tiled roofs to the river. The staff without exception were excellent, firendly, polite and helpful. They recommended some excellent restaurants for dinner, one (The Golden View) with a fantastic view of the Ponte Vecchio, and another (Pariones) just around around the corner with an atmospheric cellar. With high standards and high expectations this hotel met the mark, not cheap but quality and value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear WYTravellers,
what should I say if not: thank you!
I'm glad you spend here such wonderful celebrations as wedding anniversary and your wife's birthday; I'm glad we respect your expectation!
We look forward to welcome you back for many other anniversaries and gfeel free to contact us directly anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family stayed here in March '13 for three nights. We all loved it. The rooms were beautiful and the "library" room particularly well sized. Our rooms were clearly very recently renovated/decorated and were very tastefully done. The bathrooms were nice and modern and functional (which isnt always the case in europe).

The rooftop restaurant offered spectacular views of Florence - made you want to sit there all day. The breakfasts were great with extensive offerings.

The location was also great. You are very close to pretty much anywhere you want to be in Florence but also not in the middle of heavily touristy areas.

It should be noted that this isn't what i'd call a traditional hotel. There isnt a real lobby area and i don't think there is room service etc. Of course there is housekeeping and the front desk staff are very helpful with arrangements etc. I only point this out in case you want a "typical" hotel situation. We didnt feel like we missed out on anything - and we are used to nicer hotels (eg Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton)

We would absolutely stay at this hotel again. We look forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RolandPark,
thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'll take the opportunity to inform that we are not an hotel but we are an Historical Residence, which means that our property is a historical building where it is possible to host guests in a charming atmosphere full of history. Thanks to this law of 2000, just in Tuscany, we are able to have guests inside the Palace and let them feel as the owner is open his arm to welcome guests.
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and in case you are planning to come back Florence, contact us directly, in order to assure our best available service.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at Antica Torre. They have upgraded their rooms (and prices) since our stay four years ago. The rooms are well furnished, quiet and the location could not be better. Breakfast is excellent and tea and coffee are available all day. They have a lovely outdoor area where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful view of Florence and the Arno river. The staff is professional and welcoming and offer excellent service. This is the place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Italia222,
grazie for sharing your second experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad you appreciate our policy to include coffee and tea, all products in Florence, as amenity for our guests; and we wish we can welcome you soon and again in a next future.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Florence after spending 4 nights at Antica Torre. We found the historical property in one of the best locations in Florence. Located on the river Arno our room faced the river and had beautiful views of city, hills and people, people, people. Great to open our window early in the morning and late afternoon to get some fresh air and enjoy watching the hustle bustle of Florence ( room #105 ) on the 5th floor. As others have said: the views are very nice. The best of the views is from the rooftop - a great place to take some special photos. The service was very good and they were very attentive to our needs. The only thing I found a little different was they closed their reception area at night. I think it was 10:00PM - 7:00AM? Really did not bother us, just not use to that. Breakfast was nice and again eating with the views was very relaxing - great place to meet others traveling. Location, Location, Location - everything seemed to be very close - lot of eateries, museums, churches and of course shopping or the bus station was only 10 min. away to catch tours, etc..

Room Tip: Again, # 105 on 5th floor ( they # a little differently). Saw a peak of the suite next to us on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear stevemathis,
thnak you for your kind comment.
It's a great pleasure to have the opportunity to inform all the Tripadvisor's readers that Reception is actually open till 10.00pm but, as many hotels in Italy, during the night we have a night porter available for emergency and anyway, for all the guests' need.
I llok forward to welcome you again in the future, and please, feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One might expect a lovely hotel located in the heart of the fashion district to be stuffy and/or haughty, but nothing could be further from the truth. We found ourselves not only next to the Arno River, but within easy walking distance of EVERYTHING we went to Florence to see. Most importantly, the warmhearted staff at this refined hotel could not have been more gracious! On the rooftop (terrazzo) we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, afternoon cocktails and lovely, quiet views of this spectacular city. When we return to Florence, there is no question that we will return to this fabulous "home!"

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear jsh35715,
thank you for the comment!
We all love our job and much more we adore the Antica torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 so it's such an easy thing to open our arms in a warm welcome!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and if you are coming back to Florence, call us.
Yours Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.