We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family stayed here in March '13 for three nights. We all loved it. The rooms were beautiful and the "library" room particularly well sized. Our rooms were clearly very recently renovated/decorated and were very tastefully done. The bathrooms were nice and modern and functional (which isnt always the case in europe).

The rooftop restaurant offered spectacular views of Florence - made you want to sit there all day. The breakfasts were great with extensive offerings.

The location was also great. You are very close to pretty much anywhere you want to be in Florence but also not in the middle of heavily touristy areas.

It should be noted that this isn't what i'd call a traditional hotel. There isnt a real lobby area and i don't think there is room service etc. Of course there is housekeeping and the front desk staff are very helpful with arrangements etc. I only point this out in case you want a "typical" hotel situation. We didnt feel like we missed out on anything - and we are used to nicer hotels (eg Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton)

We would absolutely stay at this hotel again. We look forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RolandPark,
thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'll take the opportunity to inform that we are not an hotel but we are an Historical Residence, which means that our property is a historical building where it is possible to host guests in a charming atmosphere full of history. Thanks to this law of 2000, just in Tuscany, we are able to have guests inside the Palace and let them feel as the owner is open his arm to welcome guests.
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and in case you are planning to come back Florence, contact us directly, in order to assure our best available service.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    90
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
113
360
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at Antica Torre. They have upgraded their rooms (and prices) since our stay four years ago. The rooms are well furnished, quiet and the location could not be better. Breakfast is excellent and tea and coffee are available all day. They have a lovely outdoor area where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful view of Florence and the Arno river. The staff is professional and welcoming and offer excellent service. This is the place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Italia222,
grazie for sharing your second experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad you appreciate our policy to include coffee and tea, all products in Florence, as amenity for our guests; and we wish we can welcome you soon and again in a next future.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Florence after spending 4 nights at Antica Torre. We found the historical property in one of the best locations in Florence. Located on the river Arno our room faced the river and had beautiful views of city, hills and people, people, people. Great to open our window early in the morning and late afternoon to get some fresh air and enjoy watching the hustle bustle of Florence ( room #105 ) on the 5th floor. As others have said: the views are very nice. The best of the views is from the rooftop - a great place to take some special photos. The service was very good and they were very attentive to our needs. The only thing I found a little different was they closed their reception area at night. I think it was 10:00PM - 7:00AM? Really did not bother us, just not use to that. Breakfast was nice and again eating with the views was very relaxing - great place to meet others traveling. Location, Location, Location - everything seemed to be very close - lot of eateries, museums, churches and of course shopping or the bus station was only 10 min. away to catch tours, etc..

Room Tip: Again, # 105 on 5th floor ( they # a little differently). Saw a peak of the suite next to us on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear stevemathis,
thnak you for your kind comment.
It's a great pleasure to have the opportunity to inform all the Tripadvisor's readers that Reception is actually open till 10.00pm but, as many hotels in Italy, during the night we have a night porter available for emergency and anyway, for all the guests' need.
I llok forward to welcome you again in the future, and please, feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One might expect a lovely hotel located in the heart of the fashion district to be stuffy and/or haughty, but nothing could be further from the truth. We found ourselves not only next to the Arno River, but within easy walking distance of EVERYTHING we went to Florence to see. Most importantly, the warmhearted staff at this refined hotel could not have been more gracious! On the rooftop (terrazzo) we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, afternoon cocktails and lovely, quiet views of this spectacular city. When we return to Florence, there is no question that we will return to this fabulous "home!"

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear jsh35715,
thank you for the comment!
We all love our job and much more we adore the Antica torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 so it's such an easy thing to open our arms in a warm welcome!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and if you are coming back to Florence, call us.
Yours Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Vacationed in Florence for 8 days with my husband and had the most amazing experience at Antica Torre. What a wonderful little boutique hotel with amazing service, first class accommodations and breathtaking views. The breakfast every morning was a feast - coupled with amazing cappuccino. The entire staff here speaks wonderful English and always have a smile on their face. So helpful with dinner reservations, and booking tours. The room (deluxe library) had such a great view - was immaculate, comfortable and the bathroom with separate shower (and water pressure to die for) will please any American tourist. I could live here, at Antica Torre AND Florence forever. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear 2dogsinmd,
what a comment!
I'm really proud to read your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 and I want to thank you for all the positive points you mentioned.
I really wish to welcome again at the Antica Torre and in your Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The good- it's a nice boutique hotel at a great location, with a rooftop which has views to die for and super helpful service. Good breakfast and again, did I mention the rooftop views? The view of the Duomo while having breakfast and late night tea was just awesome!

We had some small issues with the bathroom- could not get the flush to work properly and there was a problem with the hot water. The water would either be too hot or just cold- not a good experience in the cold weather of Florence in March! They did fix the flush, but could not do anything about the hot water. It took a lot of adjusting, every time we showered.

Other than that, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear arunimap,
thank you for sharing your experience with many other travellers around the world.
I'm glad you appreciated our service, the location and the views and I'm sorry if we couldn't solve in time the problem with the temperature of the water but I thank you for informing us in time.
I look forward to welcome you again i nFlorence and I'll be happy to offer our best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed here for a few nights whilst touring Italy but enjoyed our stay very much. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable. The views across the city were fantastic. This hotel is very central - perfect for exploring the city and an excellent choice for us. The shops are bit too tempting though!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sparkly F,
grazie for expressing your comment regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We are glad you appreciated all our peculiarities, including the big temptations which are the shops around us; in fact, Via Tornabuoni is the most fashion street of the city!
I look forward to welcome you back agaion in a next future and please, feel free to contact me directly, in order to serve you always our best treatment.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.