We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122, Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“a real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at Antica Torre. They have upgraded their rooms (and prices) since our stay four years ago. The rooms are well furnished, quiet and the location could not be better. Breakfast is excellent and tea and coffee are available all day. They have a lovely outdoor area where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful view of Florence and the Arno river. The staff is professional and welcoming and offer excellent service. This is the place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Italia222,
grazie for sharing your second experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad you appreciate our policy to include coffee and tea, all products in Florence, as amenity for our guests; and we wish we can welcome you soon and again in a next future.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Florence after spending 4 nights at Antica Torre. We found the historical property in one of the best locations in Florence. Located on the river Arno our room faced the river and had beautiful views of city, hills and people, people, people. Great to open our window early in the morning and late afternoon to get some fresh air and enjoy watching the hustle bustle of Florence ( room #105 ) on the 5th floor. As others have said: the views are very nice. The best of the views is from the rooftop - a great place to take some special photos. The service was very good and they were very attentive to our needs. The only thing I found a little different was they closed their reception area at night. I think it was 10:00PM - 7:00AM? Really did not bother us, just not use to that. Breakfast was nice and again eating with the views was very relaxing - great place to meet others traveling. Location, Location, Location - everything seemed to be very close - lot of eateries, museums, churches and of course shopping or the bus station was only 10 min. away to catch tours, etc..

Room Tip: Again, # 105 on 5th floor ( they # a little differently). Saw a peak of the suite next to us on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear stevemathis,
thnak you for your kind comment.
It's a great pleasure to have the opportunity to inform all the Tripadvisor's readers that Reception is actually open till 10.00pm but, as many hotels in Italy, during the night we have a night porter available for emergency and anyway, for all the guests' need.
I llok forward to welcome you again in the future, and please, feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One might expect a lovely hotel located in the heart of the fashion district to be stuffy and/or haughty, but nothing could be further from the truth. We found ourselves not only next to the Arno River, but within easy walking distance of EVERYTHING we went to Florence to see. Most importantly, the warmhearted staff at this refined hotel could not have been more gracious! On the rooftop (terrazzo) we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, afternoon cocktails and lovely, quiet views of this spectacular city. When we return to Florence, there is no question that we will return to this fabulous "home!"

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsh35715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear jsh35715,
thank you for the comment!
We all love our job and much more we adore the Antica torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 so it's such an easy thing to open our arms in a warm welcome!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime and if you are coming back to Florence, call us.
Yours Faithfully,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Vacationed in Florence for 8 days with my husband and had the most amazing experience at Antica Torre. What a wonderful little boutique hotel with amazing service, first class accommodations and breathtaking views. The breakfast every morning was a feast - coupled with amazing cappuccino. The entire staff here speaks wonderful English and always have a smile on their face. So helpful with dinner reservations, and booking tours. The room (deluxe library) had such a great view - was immaculate, comfortable and the bathroom with separate shower (and water pressure to die for) will please any American tourist. I could live here, at Antica Torre AND Florence forever. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear 2dogsinmd,
what a comment!
I'm really proud to read your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 and I want to thank you for all the positive points you mentioned.
I really wish to welcome again at the Antica Torre and in your Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The good- it's a nice boutique hotel at a great location, with a rooftop which has views to die for and super helpful service. Good breakfast and again, did I mention the rooftop views? The view of the Duomo while having breakfast and late night tea was just awesome!

We had some small issues with the bathroom- could not get the flush to work properly and there was a problem with the hot water. The water would either be too hot or just cold- not a good experience in the cold weather of Florence in March! They did fix the flush, but could not do anything about the hot water. It took a lot of adjusting, every time we showered.

Other than that, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear arunimap,
thank you for sharing your experience with many other travellers around the world.
I'm glad you appreciated our service, the location and the views and I'm sorry if we couldn't solve in time the problem with the temperature of the water but I thank you for informing us in time.
I look forward to welcome you again i nFlorence and I'll be happy to offer our best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed here for a few nights whilst touring Italy but enjoyed our stay very much. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable. The views across the city were fantastic. This hotel is very central - perfect for exploring the city and an excellent choice for us. The shops are bit too tempting though!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sparkly F,
grazie for expressing your comment regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We are glad you appreciated all our peculiarities, including the big temptations which are the shops around us; in fact, Via Tornabuoni is the most fashion street of the city!
I look forward to welcome you back agaion in a next future and please, feel free to contact me directly, in order to serve you always our best treatment.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The view - Appreciating Florence requires a rooftop view. The two open-air rooftop decks have them, with stunning views of the Duomo on one side and the Arno on the other. The enclosed rooftop breakfast area and bar shares this jaw-dropping skyline view.

Location - There may be more charming locations in Florence than across from the Ferragamo museum on the ritziest shopping stretch in town. But the location is convenient, just minutes to the Duomo, the Uffizi, and the Pitti Palace. And it is possible to find some funky, non-touristy restaurants only a few minutes walk across the Arno.

Service - Friendly, helpful, and gracious service from the charming women at the front desk to the solicitous wait staff at the bar/breakfast area. The front desk in particular were quite helpful in making dinner reservations.

Rooms - Charming decor, comfortable beds, antique furnishings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear sunra7
thank you for expressing your opinion about your recent stay at the ANtica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad to see you appreciated all the services we provided and the location, the view and the rooms - it's music for my ears!
I really wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Florence and pleas,e call me anytime.
Grazie,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing