We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122, Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've just recently returned from a wonderful trip to Florence and this hotel was the icing on the cake.
The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni is a beautiful little hotel, within easy walking distance from the railway station and most of the major attractions in Florence. We walked everywhere and nothing was too far away. We had a lovely room with our own balcony which was very nice. The views from the two rooftop terraces are superb and are a nice place to relax with a drink. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome and I would like to thank them for helping to make our stay so enjoyable. We wanted to go to a good restaurant for a nice meal on Valentines night and were recommended one by the reception staff which they booked for us and we were not disappointed. We sat at a table right by the Arno river overlooking the Ponte Vecchio bridge and had a delicious meal and a great night which we will never forget. The breakfast was very good, normal continental breakfast but they also did sausages, crispy bacon and scrambled egg. All in all, a great little hotel which we would definitely return to the next time we go to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purplehouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear purplehouse59,
Thank you for the wonderful opinion you shared with many other travellers about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'll thank all the staff for the suggestion they gave you on St. Valentine's and I wish we will have the opportunity to suggest more local place for wonderful meals on your next visit of Florence.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni has been our home away from home on our last two visits. We love the location, the staff, and the elegant design. The hotel is on the Arno across from Ferragamo and is within easy strolling distance of a number of remarkable restaurants. We love the view from the roof terrace and the delicious breakfast served there in the mornings. There is also a very capable bartender there in the evenings. Our next stay in Florence will definately be at Antica Torre.

Room Tip: The Suites are beautifully scaled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear GaryInman,
it's a pleasure to see that this was your second stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1!
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome again in the future so you'll discover all the news coming in our Tower.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family, including 2 children (ages 12 and 8), stayed in the Panoramic Suite at this lovely hotel. We came from staying in a suite at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand and this hotel did not disappoint!

As many reviews mention, the location can not be beat. Our lovely room was spacious, with a private terrace overlooking the Arno.

The rooftop terrace and restaurant is the place to be in Florence. The view from this terrace is spectacular, and the complementary breakfast is good. We were lucky to be in town for a fireworks show and the guests all gathered on the roof top balcony for the best seats in town.

But, a hotel is only as good as its staff, and in this area, this hotel is peerless. We didn't plan ahead and found that the horseback riding excursions (outside tour company) in Tuscany were sold out. The front desk began making calls in the morning, and found a driver who took us to a private ranch where we enjoyed a day of horseback riding. The driver also took us to a restaurant that had probably the best view in Tuscany.

The staff, especially the restaurant staff, made us feel like family. Always trying to do something special, and my children fell in love with them. Latiffa and others gave our children a special gift during our last breakfast before check out. My kids were almost in tears because they were so sad about leaving. ### To Latiffa, Madison and Austin say "hello" and they miss you ###

We continue to recommended this hotel to our friends and to anyone considering an amazing hotel (and staff) in Florence.

This hotel is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TripforFour,
thank you for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
First, I need to thank evrybody for the passion in theirjob and above all ,I'll thank Latifa for getting your son's stay in Florence so wonderful!
I look forward to welcome all your friends, and please, feel free to contact me directly for any information you may need.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Many hotels have staff who are friendly, helpful and efficient. Sometimes, it takes a really exceptional experience to understand the difference between service that is very good and service that is truly outstanding. We were fortunate to have had such an experience at a recent stay in Florence.

To a person, the staff at the Antica Torre were helpful and friendly, but various instances set their service at a higher level than merely very good. One example is the advice given us at reception when we were planning our Sunday schedule with very limited time available to us to see Michelangelo's David (state museums are closed on Mondays and we were slated to leave on the Tuesday). We were advised to try going to the Accademia at 5pm when the daily crowds would be at their lowest, and we would still have 90 mintues to visit the gallery. This was one example out of many in which staff gave very helpful advice during our stay, and is the kind of specific advice one does not always receive. Staff also helped with arranging dinner reservations, train reservations, calling taxis and recommending places to eat and things to see. I have stayed at hotels where such help resulted in a service charge, or where tips were expected, but not at the Antica Torre. Every facet of the staff's work and behaviour was exemplary and made staying in Florence that much better.

The hotel's location is wonderful: across the street from the Arno, and about two blocks from the Uffizi. This in itself is not surprising as central Florence is quite compact, and it is difficult to imagine any hotel in the area being described as poorly located. As with many boutique hotels, trying to find the entrance if you do not know it is there can be a bit of a challenge. That said, its address on the Via Tornabuoni means getting to the hotel entrance does not require too much of an adventure.

We were on a fifth floor room near the back of the hotel, and had a bit of a view over the rooftops of adjoining buildings. Rooms on lower floors would allow even less to look at. That said, the view from the rooftop terrance is spectacular. This is where breakfast is served, and we spent a good chunk of one sunny morning sipping coffee on the terrance. There was construction going on in the road in front of the hotel, and staff seemed to think it was anybody's guess when the work would end. However, the work crews knocked off at a very civil hour each afternoon, so nobody's sleep would have been disrupted by the noise.

Our room was a little plain, and could have used a new coat of paint by a professional painter (the paint job looked like something I would have done myself). That said, the room was spotless, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed although I am still puzzled what it is most hotels in Europe have against shower curtains large enough to keep the water from spraying out onto the floor.

One other word, the elevator is best approached with a bit of a Zen attitude. It is a small, old hydraulic elevator that moves at a speed that is almost surreally slow.

Will we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely. In fact we are planning our next visit to Florence and stay at the Antica Torre already.

Room Tip: As with many boutique hotels, the Antica Torre does not appear geared to families. It is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear WDTVancouver_Canada,
grazie grazie grazie for the keen description of the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Your words are so much important to motivate the staff to offer always suggestions and reccomandation to all our guests!
Please, feel free to contact me directly for your next visit of Florence and I'll be happy to offer the best available service - again!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location - excellent!
The staff - international and helpful.
The terrace - a very special amenity for guests.
The breakfast - average but I seldom have high expectations for the buffet.

The room - a generous size and the rooftop view (we booked last minute and did not pay top dollar) fine, pleasant. The room was spare, comfortable and the old armoire was a charming piece. The bathroom marble was specific, not to my taste, but in good condition so I appreciated it. The room and bathroom were clean. But the soft goods...sigh. The curtains, bedding, and carpet looked cheap, worn and dated, even if they are not. The room decor lacked and does not resemble any photos of the property that I've seen posted on Trip.

All in all, the room did not detract from our positive experience in a significant way but I am amused by the adoring reviews. Clearly we chose poorly, needed to have paid more for more, or got the dud room that day.

Location, service, cleanliness win the day in our experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naviguesstrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Naviguesstrix,
thank you for sharing your experience with many other travellers.
I'm glad you appreciated the location, the staff, the terrace and the breakfast but at the same time, I'm sorry if the room you booked was not to your taste. Our rooms respect the traditional Florentine style in terms of decoration and athmosphere so I'm sure our style is for many but not for everybody.
I look forward to welcome you again in order to let you experience a different room category, like a Grand Deluxe or a Suite.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the mid of December with my wife on 5th floor. What an amazing hotel!! Everything was really great. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary of marriage and this place made us fall in love again!! Very nice staff and astonishing view from our room!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlPater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Carl Pater,
thank you for choosing the ANtica torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 for such a wonderful celebration!
I'm glad you felt again in love in Florence and I wish to welcome you every year for the next 100 anniversary!
KLooking forward to welcoming you again,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The worst thing was the service from the porter- we had to wait at the end of the road because of road works taking place and police chatted to my hubby as to why was he parked there! Very embarrassing!!! When we questioned the porter as to where was the driver to valet our car, he just shrugged his shoulders and meandered off!!!
However the manager and receptionist were just simply lovely!!! They stayed calm with us-especially hubby as he was ill at the time of all this- they made our stay wonderful! It truly is a fabulous hotel, beautiful rooms, great views, fantastic food for breakfast- everything on the table!
I have to say the rooms are immaculate! Dust free!! Great for an allergy sufferer like me! The bed linen is beautiful, crisp, clean and soft. Turn down service was unexpected and delightful.
One cannot fault the hotel at all, great for sight seeing. Definitely a hotel to stay in- comfortable, very clean, beautifully kept and wonderful staff apart from the porter.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mctutums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mctutums,
I personally want to thank you for your message and for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to speak with you directly at the arrival and I'm glad you appreciate our desire to welcome you in the warmer possible way.
I really look forward to welcome you again in Florence and I wish, for the next time, to have Via Tornabuoni without construction, in order to take care of your car directly.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing