We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 461 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to eat breakfast with a view of one of the iconic scenes in the world, stay here. The roof top terrace has 2 sides, one overlooking the arno and 1 overlooking the duomo. We were stuck as to which view we wanted most, both were fantastic.

The view isn't the only plus of this hotel though. The staff are fantastic. Helpful doesn't even begin to explain their service. They had sorted a great restaurant for our first night and also gave us directions to a trattoria away from the tourists for lunch the next day.

You get the best of both worlds here. It's close the the Florence tourist sights but also you can walk across the bridge over the river to get away from the tourist traps and eat like a local.

Our room was spacious with a bath and a separate shower. Big tv too if that's your thing.

Perfect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear hoggat,
grazie for your comment and for your words regarding the view from our terrace - I'm from Florence and I should admit it's probably the best I've never seen in my life!
We wish to welcome you again in the future and we will be happy to recommend more great restaurant and trattoria in town.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    95
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
129
411
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family, including 2 children (ages 12 and 8), stayed in the Panoramic Suite at this lovely hotel. We came from staying in a suite at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand and this hotel did not disappoint!

As many reviews mention, the location can not be beat. Our lovely room was spacious, with a private terrace overlooking the Arno.

The rooftop terrace and restaurant is the place to be in Florence. The view from this terrace is spectacular, and the complementary breakfast is good. We were lucky to be in town for a fireworks show and the guests all gathered on the roof top balcony for the best seats in town.

But, a hotel is only as good as its staff, and in this area, this hotel is peerless. We didn't plan ahead and found that the horseback riding excursions (outside tour company) in Tuscany were sold out. The front desk began making calls in the morning, and found a driver who took us to a private ranch where we enjoyed a day of horseback riding. The driver also took us to a restaurant that had probably the best view in Tuscany.

The staff, especially the restaurant staff, made us feel like family. Always trying to do something special, and my children fell in love with them. Latiffa and others gave our children a special gift during our last breakfast before check out. My kids were almost in tears because they were so sad about leaving. ### To Latiffa, Madison and Austin say "hello" and they miss you ###

We continue to recommended this hotel to our friends and to anyone considering an amazing hotel (and staff) in Florence.

This hotel is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TripforFour,
thank you for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
First, I need to thank evrybody for the passion in theirjob and above all ,I'll thank Latifa for getting your son's stay in Florence so wonderful!
I look forward to welcome all your friends, and please, feel free to contact me directly for any information you may need.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Many hotels have staff who are friendly, helpful and efficient. Sometimes, it takes a really exceptional experience to understand the difference between service that is very good and service that is truly outstanding. We were fortunate to have had such an experience at a recent stay in Florence.

To a person, the staff at the Antica Torre were helpful and friendly, but various instances set their service at a higher level than merely very good. One example is the advice given us at reception when we were planning our Sunday schedule with very limited time available to us to see Michelangelo's David (state museums are closed on Mondays and we were slated to leave on the Tuesday). We were advised to try going to the Accademia at 5pm when the daily crowds would be at their lowest, and we would still have 90 mintues to visit the gallery. This was one example out of many in which staff gave very helpful advice during our stay, and is the kind of specific advice one does not always receive. Staff also helped with arranging dinner reservations, train reservations, calling taxis and recommending places to eat and things to see. I have stayed at hotels where such help resulted in a service charge, or where tips were expected, but not at the Antica Torre. Every facet of the staff's work and behaviour was exemplary and made staying in Florence that much better.

The hotel's location is wonderful: across the street from the Arno, and about two blocks from the Uffizi. This in itself is not surprising as central Florence is quite compact, and it is difficult to imagine any hotel in the area being described as poorly located. As with many boutique hotels, trying to find the entrance if you do not know it is there can be a bit of a challenge. That said, its address on the Via Tornabuoni means getting to the hotel entrance does not require too much of an adventure.

We were on a fifth floor room near the back of the hotel, and had a bit of a view over the rooftops of adjoining buildings. Rooms on lower floors would allow even less to look at. That said, the view from the rooftop terrance is spectacular. This is where breakfast is served, and we spent a good chunk of one sunny morning sipping coffee on the terrance. There was construction going on in the road in front of the hotel, and staff seemed to think it was anybody's guess when the work would end. However, the work crews knocked off at a very civil hour each afternoon, so nobody's sleep would have been disrupted by the noise.

Our room was a little plain, and could have used a new coat of paint by a professional painter (the paint job looked like something I would have done myself). That said, the room was spotless, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed although I am still puzzled what it is most hotels in Europe have against shower curtains large enough to keep the water from spraying out onto the floor.

One other word, the elevator is best approached with a bit of a Zen attitude. It is a small, old hydraulic elevator that moves at a speed that is almost surreally slow.

Will we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely. In fact we are planning our next visit to Florence and stay at the Antica Torre already.

Room Tip: As with many boutique hotels, the Antica Torre does not appear geared to families. It is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear WDTVancouver_Canada,
grazie grazie grazie for the keen description of the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Your words are so much important to motivate the staff to offer always suggestions and reccomandation to all our guests!
Please, feel free to contact me directly for your next visit of Florence and I'll be happy to offer the best available service - again!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location - excellent!
The staff - international and helpful.
The terrace - a very special amenity for guests.
The breakfast - average but I seldom have high expectations for the buffet.

The room - a generous size and the rooftop view (we booked last minute and did not pay top dollar) fine, pleasant. The room was spare, comfortable and the old armoire was a charming piece. The bathroom marble was specific, not to my taste, but in good condition so I appreciated it. The room and bathroom were clean. But the soft goods...sigh. The curtains, bedding, and carpet looked cheap, worn and dated, even if they are not. The room decor lacked and does not resemble any photos of the property that I've seen posted on Trip.

All in all, the room did not detract from our positive experience in a significant way but I am amused by the adoring reviews. Clearly we chose poorly, needed to have paid more for more, or got the dud room that day.

Location, service, cleanliness win the day in our experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Naviguesstrix,
thank you for sharing your experience with many other travellers.
I'm glad you appreciated the location, the staff, the terrace and the breakfast but at the same time, I'm sorry if the room you booked was not to your taste. Our rooms respect the traditional Florentine style in terms of decoration and athmosphere so I'm sure our style is for many but not for everybody.
I look forward to welcome you again in order to let you experience a different room category, like a Grand Deluxe or a Suite.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the mid of December with my wife on 5th floor. What an amazing hotel!! Everything was really great. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary of marriage and this place made us fall in love again!! Very nice staff and astonishing view from our room!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Carl Pater,
thank you for choosing the ANtica torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 for such a wonderful celebration!
I'm glad you felt again in love in Florence and I wish to welcome you every year for the next 100 anniversary!
KLooking forward to welcoming you again,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The worst thing was the service from the porter- we had to wait at the end of the road because of road works taking place and police chatted to my hubby as to why was he parked there! Very embarrassing!!! When we questioned the porter as to where was the driver to valet our car, he just shrugged his shoulders and meandered off!!!
However the manager and receptionist were just simply lovely!!! They stayed calm with us-especially hubby as he was ill at the time of all this- they made our stay wonderful! It truly is a fabulous hotel, beautiful rooms, great views, fantastic food for breakfast- everything on the table!
I have to say the rooms are immaculate! Dust free!! Great for an allergy sufferer like me! The bed linen is beautiful, crisp, clean and soft. Turn down service was unexpected and delightful.
One cannot fault the hotel at all, great for sight seeing. Definitely a hotel to stay in- comfortable, very clean, beautifully kept and wonderful staff apart from the porter.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mctutums,
I personally want to thank you for your message and for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to speak with you directly at the arrival and I'm glad you appreciate our desire to welcome you in the warmer possible way.
I really look forward to welcome you again in Florence and I wish, for the next time, to have Via Tornabuoni without construction, in order to take care of your car directly.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to everything....especially the shopping. Great rooftop terrace with honesty bar ..rare these days. Staff friendly and polite and the suite we stayed in huge with two full bathrooms. Beautiful

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Stays999,
Thank you for your kind opinion about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1!
It's always a pleasure to read so nice comment as your and I really look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.