We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 461 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location is just perfect. All of Florence is within walking distance. The Ponte Vecchio is just a block away. The room we had was very nice, except it was loud at night. There is a bar right on the river that is apparently a very poplular place and people were hanging out until the early morning hours. But the views from our room were wonderful - and speaking of views - the roof top is incredible. We would switch from the Duomo side to the Arno side and back getting a refill at the bar on our way. The service was the best I have had in a long time. Everyone was friendly, they made wonderful recommendations for dinner, scheduled our car service pick up for us, and were just a wealth of knowledge and kindness. I can't wait to go back to the Antica Torre, although I will request a room on the other side of the hotel - away from the street on the River.

Room Tip: No Restaurant - but the breakfast in the morning was very good and had a little of everything for ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
grazie for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 with many other globetrotters!
I'm sorry for the noises at night but, as you wrote, the bar below called Riv'Alta is very popular so, wishing you can accept my sincere apoligizes, I'll be happy to offer you a lunch at Riv'Alta for your next visit of Florence.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon in Florence,
Yours Faithfully.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    95
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
129
412
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Antica Torre for three nights in September. We had two "deluxe" rooms and we could not have been more pleased with our accomodations. Both rooms were quite large, had king beds, quaility linens and an outdoor terrace. The bathrooms, were very nice, but smallish and the shower was lacking in water pressure (our only gripe). Both rooms had a view of the Duomo from their terraces. Service was excellent, and the hotel location was great - just minutes away from the Ponte Vecchio, and right in the mioddle of the fashionable shopping district. It is within easy walking distance to all the major sights in Florence. Nice breakfast included and free wifi, and an English speaking staff,a nd teh best part was the roof top terrace wher breakfast and evening cocktails were served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
your words are perfect to allocate the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 , in fact, we are situated in the most important fashion street of Florence and obviosly the most prestigious area!
I look forward to welcome you soon and again.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is relatively small, but the rooms are large and it is located right near all of the attraction in Florence. The rooftop is an open air pleasure where you can have breakfast and drinks. It has a view that is incredible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Distingued Guest,
thank you for expressing your opinion regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Our terraces are really the biggest open air pleasure!
I look forward to welcome you in the future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Slightly quirky city hotel located in a multiuse building with offices, built around an old church tower. Staff are sparse and sometimes hard-to-find, but always helpful and cheerful. Rooms are delightful, larger than most in Europe, and clean, well appointed and well lit. Good value for the money and excellent location. Others have described it well – this is a small, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you for the kind comment and I'll take the opportunity to introduce the history of our property, in fact the Tower House known as "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1" was built during the first half of the 13th century by the Guelf Family, the Ruggerinis. The Tower House is located at the corner of via de Tornabuoni, directly adjacent to the Bridge of Santa Trinita, beside the church of the same name.
I'm sure that the Staff sometimes it's hard to find because in order to satisfy all the guest's need, they personally check and verify every information in rooms and in all the common areas!
I look forrward to welcome you soon in Florence,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here early September. The hotel is in an ideal location.

We booked a "superior queen" room and it was spacious and well appointed. The two terraces provided amazing views of the city including
sunset over the Arno.

The staff was excellent and looked after all of our requests on a timely professional manner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind comment left on Tripadvisor.
Your words are precious and I wish you could help many other travellers to choose Florence as perfect location!
I look forward to welcome you in a next future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everything about this hotel was fantastic - i) the staff was very friendly, patient and extremely helpful, ii) rooms were clean, bright and well cooled, iii) rooftop setup had a great view and was perfect for breakfast and evening drinks (food/ drinks were delish), iv) hotel location was amazing, and v) everything was very reasonably priced.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence. It was the best hotel we stayed at in Italy (we went to Rome, Florence and Venice). Truly - the fantastic customer service made our experience at this hotel just perfect. The concierge was more than willing to assist with travel planning (in our case, this means helping us figure out which museum passes were best, find out more about the outlet bus, and offering THE BEST restaurant recommendations). I really felt like the staff genuinely cared about whether their guests were comfortable and enjoying themselves. Great experience all around.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small private balcony - didn't realize this would be the case. If this a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1,
I want to thank you personally for the kind words and I'll take the opportunity to express the gratitude of all our staff. Your comment offer enthusiasm to everybody and it encourages us to improve always.
We really look forward to welcome you back in a next future and we assure the best service in Italy ever!
Grazie.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow this hotel is magnificent! We absolutely loved our 2 night stay in this gorgeous hotel situated in a medieval ancient tower. From the warm reception by Ginevra to the wonderful helpful staff, the gorgeous rooms ( and we could only book a classic room as all others were full ), the perfect location 5 steps away from the Arno River, one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio and on one of the main shopping streets... to the comfort and elegance of the whole hotel.....we were so thrilled with our choice. Our room was beautiful, an extremely comfortable bed with good linen and a good compact bathroom with a large shower and all amenities. An elevator connects all floors, although a little slow at times.
A truly excellent buffet breakfast including Tuscan specialities, a real treat, was served on the rooftop terrace which has views that are out of this world.....360 deg panoramic vistas of exquisite Florence. At the end of a magnificent day sightseeing an honesty bar ( with a barman at times ) completes the fabulous experience on the terrace as one is mesmerised watching the sun set over the Arno River.
Within very easy walking distance to all the major sites this hotel comes highly recommended and we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: A room with a view over the river would be a bonus but even a view over the rooftops is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
what a pleasure to see your message!
I wish, for the next time, you could experience a Deluxe or Grand Deluxe category in order to let you feel more comfortable; so, in case of reservation, feel free to contact us directly in order to propose you more room' categories!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in a next future,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.