We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with amazing views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Antica Torre!! We stayed in the Grand Deluxe Romantic room whilst my parents stayed in the Grand Deluxe Library room. Both rooms were exquisite with amazing views over the river and Florence!! And the views from the rooftop terrace (where a great breakfast was served every morning) are truly spectacular looking over all of Florence. The staff were fantastic and recommended superior quality restaurants. Even before our arrival, staff were very helpful with providing information with respect to tickets and tours. A highly recommended hotel in a brilliant location and when we return to Florence, we will definitely be staying at the Antica Torre!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
grazie for the precious words!
We always do our best to provide the most excellent service in terms of quality of services and smiles! The rooms you mentioned are fine decorated and we put all our care in the details attention.
We look forward to welcome you in Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    92
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
372
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Antica Torre and it is as good as most of these reviews say. Our room overlooked the Arno with a view to Ponte Vecchio. Even more breathtaking views exist from the roof terrace, the perfect location for an evening drink and watching the sunset. All practical boxes ticked - clean, central location and well maintained. Service with a smile and very friendly. No hesitation in recommending this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for the kind words.
I'm proud that the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 respect your expectation and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Yours Faithfully.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is as fantastic as everyone says it is. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect: within walking distance of Firenze SM Novella train station and in the heart of the city. We enjoyed the rooftop decks every night for drinks and the sunset over the Arno. Soaking in the warm Tuscan breezes on the rooftop decks as we sipped Chianti, we were in heaven. The morning breakfast (included) was also terrific. Our room for my wife, son and me was extremely spacious, well appointed and included a living room with a bed/couch, bedroom and bathroom. As close to perfect as it gets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Family Guest,
it's such a pleasure to read your comment.
I want to thank you personally for the kind words regarding the property, the location, the staff, and the family room! We offer beautiful Suites for families or interconnecting rooms such as special amenities for kids, so I'll take the opportunity to express all my welcome to families!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Fantastic central location for all the main attractions but look carefully for this building - it's understated and easy to miss. Fabulous roof terrace with panoramic views of Florence. Our room had a balcony with views of the river and the Ponte Vecchio. Very friendly staff and the best breakfast we experinced during our tour of Italy. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
your words are completely true, the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 is an "Hidden Gem", but we will do all possible to avoid you to miss us again!
Grazie.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The curtains are pulled back revealing a full moon over the Duomo and the bells in the cities clock towers start pealing...sigh...that's was our second experience at the Anitica Torrre...The first was arriving at our own Medieval Tower! Short distance from the train station and within safe walking distance of all the City's major attractions. A wonderful staff that treats you like a VIP and attends to your every need. Memorable unique features are the Terrace with classic views of Florence and having breakfast and evening drinks on that terrace! Very good breakfast buffet and an open "honor bar" with hard and soft drinks/mixers/wines that guests can access 24/7--pretty nice after a long day or for a late night wine craving! First day in Florence was a Walking Tour arranged by the front desk with a a lovely graduate student who took us all over the city--wonderful way to get oriented and locate the "bests" (best place for gelato, coffee, chocolate, pizza, panini, shopping, statues, fountains, streets, piazzas, buildings, etc. to go back to later--take notes as you go!!) We also scheduled a Foodie Tour of Florence and had an interesting and very good time tasting our way around the city with a guide that knew all the best places!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors that face the City (Duomo and bell towers = same side as the Terrace) Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
your words sound like music and I'm really proud to read such wonderful comments! Our goal is to let you feel home and this is the reason we have an honor bar always available and, at the same time we offer the Bar service with a bartender on the evening... you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 in total relax, as in your home!
I look forward to welcome you back home,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The Antica deserves its excellent reputation on trip advisor. The reviews were the reason we chose this hotel and it didn't disappoint. Friendly staff, most helpful when recommending good eateries! The rooftop bar is a delight, lovely place to take pre dinner drinks or just to chill after a long days sight seeing. The location for shop aholics and sightseers both was perfect!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with many Tripadvisor' users much more because the comments of some other globetrotters convinced you to choose the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1!
I'm proud we met your expectations and I'll share your words with all the staff!
Grazie.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent only two nights here and it was not enough! the hotel was lovely and the location could not be beat. Merely two blocks from the Uffizi Museum!!!! We were three people and had a suite and it was really large. The room came with breakfast daily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your words regarding your stay at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I really wish to have the opportunity, on the next time, to host you for a longer period and I'll assure our best service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and soon,
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via dei Tornabuoni 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Torre di Via de' Tornabuoni 1 in Florence is a stunning Historical Residence, centrally located in the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance. The Residence is a Medieval Tower dating from the thirteenth century in elegant Via Tornabuoni, synonymous with the most prestigious brands of Florence. Most of the rooms have a wonderful and exclusive view of the city, the Arno River or of Via Tornabuoni with Santa Trinità square and bridge.All the rooms come fully equipped with all the creature comforts expected of a luxury establishment, including plasma television with Sat-TV, DVD player and free DVD library for our guests, complimentary wireless connection, telephone with direct phone lines, mini-bar, elettronic safe, air conditioning, heating, private bathroom with bath or shower and hair-dryer, slippers.On the rooftop terrace, a Mediterranean and American breakfast is served every morning on a rich buffet served with Richard Ginori porcelains, accompanied by hot beverages and fresh fruit juices. This is all framed by a unique and breathtaking panoramic view of Florence and the surrounding hills, that will contribute to start your day in the most pleasant way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.