We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A handy place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A handy place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the Annex which meant going around the corner and up an elevator, but it was quiet, clean, and roomy as well as a great value! The staff were excellent and the breakfast was generous and delicious. The hotel is right across from the train station where you can also get many buses, and an easy walk to important sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thank again for the clear explanation about our annex.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    103
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
108
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth Herts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had booked a De Luxe Room. The first one we were given, where we spent just one uncomfortable night, was in the main building. The room was so small that there was room only to walk sideways between the end of the bed and the window - which overlooked a wall with windows in it through which the lights in the corridor opposite shone throughout the night - the curtains in our room were of a "see through" fabric! There was only one hardback chair in the room. The bathroom was tiny and the shower hose could not be adjusted and sprayed water on the wall rather than on the person showering.

We complained, and the manager promised to put us in a better room for the next two nights. He was as good as his word and when we returned to the Hotel later that day our baggage had been moved to a newly renovated room on the ground floor. This was much bigger, overlooked the gardens and the outdoor breakfast area. The ceiling was opaque and the lights changed colour constantly but thankfully that feature could be turned off as it was making me dizzy! The bathroom was very modern and the accommodation generally was very clean.
Breakfast was served in a small-ish room on the ground floor. It was a help yourself breakfast from whatever was laid out in the small kitchen area beside the dining room. In good weather it was possible to eat outside but the seats were all taken whenever we were there.

The staff were very helpful indeed, loaning us umbrellas when there was a storm just as we were leaving to go to dinner and being generally pleasant.

There is no Restaurant for evening meals at this Hotel, but there is a very nice Restaurant a few yards down the road. We ate there on all three evenings (being unable to walk very far) and would recommend it - Trattoria dall 'Oste

The Hotel website states that there is "on site" parking. We didn't find this and I am not sure how to find out whether there actually IS any such parking. However, the Hotel is next door to a Public Car Park where you have to leave your keys so that they can park your car and, presumably, move it around when necessary. If you are staying at the Aurora you get this parking at the discounted rate of about €30 per night so for our 3 night stay the parking costs amounted to around £75.

The Hotel is convenient for trains and is not far from the point where the Hop-on/Hop off Buses start from so it is very easy to get around. The Duomo is not far away, nor are most of the other important sites. There are loads of Street Markets.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. The better rooms seem to be on the Ground Floor along a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Sorry for the inconvenient, we are going to renovate all the rooms of the hotel, at the moment the ground floor is completely renewed and the third floor now is renovate for a quarter.

We hope to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Right next to the train station and in heart of the city. All tourist attractions are few minutes away. No need for cab or bus. Bus station right behind the hotel, from where u take a bus to outlet mall.

The room was a little small and a tad noisy due to road traffic.. but not too bad. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok, not so great. Thank god they had a lift... of the 4 hotels we staid in Italy, this was the only one with a lift.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We value your comments.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here this past January and absolutely loved it! The staff was always friendly and willing to help. The location is right across from the train station, which was amazing because we had a lot of luggage! It was not even a 5 minute walk to the most popular sights like the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, etc. The room was lovely and had the basic necessities, though we didn't spend much time in the room it had a lovely view of the Duomo in the distance. Breakfast was really enjoyable and they even had a patio in the back to enjoy some outdoor space. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your so nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan Valley
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel which is opposite the entrance to SMN train station & around the corner from the bus station. When we dropped off our rental car we were delighted to find the hotel within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is a small modern hotel. The staff were very helpful.
We had a deluxe room which was a litttle funky with mood lighting that changed colour all the time, but could be turned off. Our room had french doors leading to our own little garden, which was so nice to chill in the late afternoon. The hotel is clean & had an amazing power shower.
We were very pleased with the central location & also enjoyed a good breakfast which we could have outside in the garden.
I would recommend this hotel as a central good location & would happily returned there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Easy to find, just across the train station and it's attached to the bus station. We've stayed there for four nights and are very satisfied with the service we had. Breakfast is average and it's served in the garden. They were the only hotel we stayed in Italy that had a fridge which is very convenient during the summer. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words of appreciation and for the time you spend for this, we will always be here trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Easy to find, near the train station. We stayed in the Annex which is just behind the hotel, in another building. For us it wasn't a problem, we booked the annex on purpose (it was cheaper), but be aware you have to walk down the street for at least 200m, so confirm the location of your apartment when you book to avoid surprises. Our apartment was the 402, which has a good size for 2 people. It has a big balcony, small TV and air conditioning. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast is served in the main building and has everything you need: coffee, milk, juice, yogurt, bread, croissants, cereals and cakes.

The building is ok, but the lift is old and we had to go up 4 floors by foot twice because people left the lift's doors open, what stops the lift. The bathroom could use a bit more of a cleaning, specially in the shower.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building, if the price is not too different from the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words and for the time you spend for this, I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel Aurora where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
Thanks a lot for clear explanation about the annex, we try to be more clear as possible but sometime the information, on the website, by e-mail get lost, probably we are all too in a hurry and we don’t keep attention to the information that instead you keep.
We look forward to see you again.
My best,
Giovanni Cirnigliaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Aurora is situated in an ideal position in Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella railway station, close to Palazzo dei Congressi, Fortezza da Basso and only 5 minutes by walk from the Dome. Internet is free, and all rooms offer air conditioning and a private bathroom.The hotel is situated in a neoclassical building from the beginning of the 20th century, completely renew WITH LIFT, and is overlooking with wide windows the historical centre and the romantic hills of Florence. Some room, superior level, are available with views of garden.The hotel is elegantly furnished and offers all the modern comforts, rooms include a minibar and an LCD TV, and buffet breakfast is available from 07:00 until 10:00. The hotel has a pleasant garden, a small oasis of relaxation in the city center.Hotel Aurora features a paid private parking and a large garage in agreement with the hotel. An experienced and professional staff will provide guests a personalised service and all kinds of tourist and travel info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.