We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosary Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rosary Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosary Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Ripoli 169, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Florence
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small room, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Little bit out of city center, but prefectly connected. Room was small, but clean. Shower super small. Great price. First we were affraid that it will be lost case, but the service showed as fanstastic!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    59
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
168
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel. The price was great, there was free self-serve alcohol, the rooms were large...etc. However, for every pro there was a con. Let's start with the location. Yes it was nice to be out of the main touristy part, but this place was really out there. The bus into town (23) came infrequently and was always packed to the brim with people. Clearly Florence needs to add more buses on this route. I did like the pizzeria next door, though.

The free alcohol was indeed free but very awkward to access. It was in the room right off the front desk. The room is VERY small and cramped. It felt too weird to help ourselves with the front desk clerk watching us. It did not seem inviting. From the description on their website, I imagined a libarary room where you could pour yourself a drink and relax. This was not the case. It was a very cramped space with a table and two chairs you could barely get to. Basically it was set up in the hallway, constantly in the way.

The lady who checked us in was awesome. She gave us a free bottle of champagne and some strawberries b/c it was our honeymoon. This was very nice and I am thankful for it. However, the rest of our experiences with the staff was not as favorable. There was only ever one person working at a time and you would have to wait in line to speak with them. This hotel really needs two staff members during check in and check out.

Onto the rooms...they are outdated!! It was great that our room was large with a sofa. But our comforter and rug seemed like they were from the '80s...old and gross!! It's odd b/c there was a beautiful dark grey tile floor under the gross old oriental rug. It would be a cheap renovation for them to ditch the rugs and buy new comforters. Par for the course, the large room and sofa was ruined by the old finishes. Pros = cons.

The bathroom was decently sized but there were odd things about it as well. The shower was rectangle shaped. So at first glimpse it looked larger than most in Europe, but upon showering the odd shape is actually much smaller. I think the scented toilet paper was a miss. It smelled like old musk.

Overall, I would not stay here again unless it was renovated. The location is just too far from the major attractions and I would want a more modern room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moni873, Proprietario at Hotel Rosary Garden, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is sad to learn that, although all our efforts, not all our guests are completely satisfied, but I must say that sometimes it is just depending on expectations that really cannot combine with the essence of our hotel and that we try to transmit in the presentation and the images on our website. The Rosary Garden Hotel is a boutique three-star hotel, family run, traditional and not contemporary or modern style, small (13 rooms only), at Km. 2,5 from the historical centre of Florence.

Its style, as clearly explained and shown on the photos published on the website, is a combination among Tuscan and English country houses, with warm colours, cherry wood furniture made by Florentine artisans, some original antique ‘800 pieces of furniture (from England and The Netherland), original Persian carpets and British old printings on the walls. The hotel has been completely refurbished in 2000 and constantly well maintained during the years, so thinking about the ’80 is a wrong interpretation of a style that maybe did not meet your personal taste, but nothing to do with old and gross. In Europe, traditional and antique is not the same as outdated, and every purchase we make is carefully selected to maintain the style of the house. The size of the shower in your bathroom is m. 1.15 x 0.70 (inches. 45.30 x 27.55), so we think of a very good standard for Italy and Europe.

The location of the Rosary Garden is one of the best to be outside the historical centre, especially for those who travel by car, as city centre can be reached in 10 minutes by bus or taxi or 30 minutes walk (being the historical centre pedestrian, you must pay at least Euros 35/40,00 daily to put your car in a private garage - which is obligatory). Busses are running very often, from every 4-5 minutes on weekdays to 10-12 minutes on festivities (as per your arrival date), and slow down towards the night. I am sorry if you have experienced a disservice of the public transportation, but, as long as you have stayed here one night only, kindly note that once cannot be the rule, (as you can read for example in the previous feedback). For information, just check the public bus website www.ataf.net bus lines 23, 31 and 32.

As far as the free drinks and teas offered by the hotel are concerned, there should have been another misunderstanding. In front of the front desk, in the lobby, there is a silver tray with “Cantuccini di Prato” (traditional dry biscuits) and Vin Santo (Tuscan dessert wine) at disposal, but, in another area, the library and tea room (also shown on our website), at the top of the long corridor, there are, always at disposal, other liqueurs (4-5 bottles, Amaro, Martini, etc.) with snacks, and a samovar for hot water, with a selection of teas, infusions and butter biscuits, and I am sorry you did not see it. Maybe it was my fault, as I was so glad I could grant you an early check-in at 11:30am (you were staying one day only) and excited to bring you the special welcome for your honeymoon (Spumante and strawberries), that maybe I forgot to show you that area, and I apologize for it!

In conclusion, I have learned from experience that, as our good reputation is mainly based on our welcoming attitude, the sense of hospitality and the feeling that we can create with our guests during their stay, it is sometimes very difficult to transfer these feelings to customers they stay here only one night, as in your case, so we hope you will give us another opportunity, staying here for a longer period on your next trip to Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three days in this beautiful family run establishment , 2Km from the center of Florence. We chose it because it had was highly recommended on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. It is a small hotel, situated 100 meters from a good shopping arcade. The rooms were excellent and bathroom clean and comfortable. Reception was friendly and very helpful. There are two good restaurants beside it. The 31 and 32 bus stop is just 50 meters from hotel entrance. These buses are regular and terminate in Piatsa San Marco. Tickes 1.20 which can be got at reception.
There is a small but comfortable lounge for anyone to use.
Wifi is free but not very fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while visiting Florence. The hotel stuff was very friendly and informative, the lady told us how to take buses to the point of interest every morning. The size of the room is decent, and it's clean.
However, the shower area is so tiny that it is hard for me to even turn around. And the bed was not very comfy. Plus, I think the location is a bit far from the city center. (but they do have a huge supermarket across the street which is very convenient) The cable TV does not have too many English channels, and Wifi does not work well neither.
Again, I still like this little personal hotel, it was a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

At first we thought we had made mistake by booking this hotel because it was on the outskirts of Florence. However, this fact turned out to be an asset and welcome relief. First, the very close city bus stops made travel into central Florence quite simple and quick (20 minutes). The bus rides themselves were entertaining and informative, and the buses run frequently and on time. The location is a residential and business mix, with a large shopping plaza across the street and coin-operated laundry a couple of blocks away. Unlike many parts of Florence in tourist season, you will actually meet Italians in this neighborhood. We were in to see our daughter, who is studying in Florence, and so we appreciated the in-town bustle/out-of-town relaxation dimension of our stay. To be sure, some vigorous walkers (like our daughter) could dispense with buses altogether.

The hotel itself is small and charming. The common areas and bedrooms were tastefully decorated country Tuscan. The beds were firm, linens ample, and the room size was good. The place was clean, well-maintained, and attractive. The bathroom was a good size and design, and everything worked. The wi-fi worked well. Older notices may imply that there is a charge for wi-fi access, but this is no longer true (if it ever was true). The proprietor obviously takes pride in her family-run hotel. All dimensions of the hotel reflect that attitude. The desk staff was unfailingly helpful and attentive. There is no elevator, but we were helped with our luggage (the front staircase is steep).

The breakfast room was snug, but not unmanageably so. The continental breakfast was quite good and very robust (cheeses,meats, cereal, brioche, rolls, juice, coffee to your taste, etc., etc.). We were grateful for this, since we tend to eat a hearty breakfast, buy a sandwich for lunch at a pasticceria, and spend the food money on dinner.

It was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

lovely room with comfy bed, its a small family hotel with all the vintage garden designs...they are able to book museum tickets for you as well, that saves lots of time for us! anyway, I'll back to that hotel again if im going to florence!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I Would like to say what a fantastic hotel this is and thank you to all the staff especially monica who was so kind and helpful. Very clean and comfortable hotel enjoyed every minute of it I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rosary Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosary Garden

Address: Via di Ripoli 169, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#45 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#93 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosary Garden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling at home: a warm sensation that the Rosary Garden is able to convey to its guests. Completely refurbished, thus creating a charming atmosphere, elegant and friendly at the same time. Each bedroom is different from the other and equipped with air conditioning, direct telephone, free internet Wi-Fi, LCD satellite TV and digital channels, mini-bar, safe, make-up mirror, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rosary Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosary Garden Hotel
Rosary Garden Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosary Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.