We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist House Ghiberti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tourist House Ghiberti to your Saves list
Tourist House Ghiberti
Via Bufalini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Believe the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

An excellent, quality and value-for-money guest house. Fantastic facilities including a jacuzzi (great for a post-Florence-walkabout soak), spacious rooms (and beds) and, most importantly, dedicated hosts. The central location makes all of Florence's sites and eateries (ask for recommendations!) easily accessible. This place is so good I've overused parenthesis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    76
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
332
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This B and B in the heart of Florence is an excellent place to call home while visiting this exciting city. It has a central location, very comfortable, wonderful breakfast to start your day and the rooms are perfect. It is an oasis in a very busy city and gives you comfort as you set out again for a fantastic adventure of your day. I can not say enough about Tourist House Ghiberti. I was in Florence 9 years ago and stayed at this delightful B&B and I returned to find it as great as it was before. I will not wait another 9 years to return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at THG for 4 nights in early October with my daughter. I have been to Florence once before and stayed at a hotel far enough out of the city that we had to take a bus in each day. The locations of THG made up for any increase in price that we paid. We were 2 blocks from the Duomo and could walk anywhere -- the Accademia, the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Oltrarno, the Central Market, etc. We arrived very late on the first night and were directed to one of several pizzerias still open for a wonderful first night meal. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom with bath tub was great. Our room faced Via Bufalini and was right across from a hospital, but we experienced no problem with noise thanks to the double windows and shutters, all of which could be opened up for fresh air. The breakfast was bountiful, delicious and fresh and gave us tons of energy for our daily touring. We loved eating in the small courtyard to start our days. Our hosts were pleasant, efficient, and never tired of answering our many questions. They helped us with our Italian, called taxis for us, and always gave us excellent directions. The beds were a little firm for our liking, but we used the extra blankets in the wardrobe to make them a little softer. I hope to be able to return to Florence again some day and if I do, I'll also hope to stay at THG. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

like others we wondered if it would live up to its rave reviews.well after spending 4 nights there it does.what a great location but nice and quiet.our room did not lack for anything and put some 4 star hotels we've stayed at to shame.our host and hostess could not do enough to make our stay comfortable.the breakfast selection was excellent i loved the diy boiled eggs and toast and brilliant marmalade! twinnings breakfast tea also.a special mention to our host's home baking.all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

3 days and 2 nights in Florence was on our itinerary on our recent extensive trip through Italy last month. We decided on the Tourist House Ghiberti after doing our due diligence reviews of other travellers experiences in Florence and we were not disappointed! Ghiberti House is ideally located mere steps away from every attraction in Florence including the train station which we arrived in after our stay in Venice. The rooms have every amenity and convenience you could think of including A/C, telephone, satellite TV, DVD player, in-room PC, free WiFi, and wall safe for valuables. The breakfasts were included in the room rates and consisted of fresh pastries, egg boiler, assorted chesses and meats, fruit and yogurts. The House also had an indoor hot tub and sauna which we did not use. Claudio was extremely helpful in all matters including recommendations for good restaurants to dine in throughout Florence as well as directions although it is hard to really get lost in the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only drawback was the bed which was extremely uncomfortable...after a day of walking kilometres around the city and long nighttime strolls in this beautiful city a good nights sleep is not something we could say we had. Still, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This B&B is very close to the city center and right around the corner from the Duomo. It is an easy 8 minute walk from the train station. Easy to find from a guy that gets lost easily. Claudio was helpful from the first step into his place. You can tell he takes pride in his business and that is to make your stay in Florence as comfortable problem free as possible. Claudio had great recommendations for restuarants and spent time talking with us about Florence and the surroundings. Great customer service. Would return to this place if ever I return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great B&B overall.

Rooms were clean, relaxing, comfortable and had Italian charm. Our room was super quiet as well as it faced the duomo. There was a family restaurant around the corner that was quite good as well.

Customer service was steller, hospitable as owners took pride in their establishment.

The location of Ghiberti is close to everything in Florence. Wife and I were very happy with our short stay here.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist House Ghiberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist House Ghiberti

Address: Via Bufalini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist House Ghiberti is situated in the heart of Florence, close to the Duomo. It is a family run hotel with modern comforts and technology.The rooms, retaining the proper Florentine style and hung with pictures by renowned Italian artists, have private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, computer with free internet access, TV 32 inches lcd, mini bar, kettle with tea and coffee, Satellite Decoder for tv and radio, DVD-CD player with movies at disposal in different languages and much more. Free WI-FI everywhere. A big jacuzzi and a sauna are at disposal of the guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tourist House Ghiberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Ghiberti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist House Ghiberti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.