We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist House Ghiberti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tourist House Ghiberti to your Saves list
Tourist House Ghiberti
Via Bufalini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location, great value, great room, great service/breakfast! Just a great place.
The only downside, if worth mentioning is the closeness of the reception area to the rooms / room doors. Every laud conversation in the reception and the main door to the stairway can be heard into the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    76
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
332
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My daughter and i stayed at the Tourist house Ghiberti while visiting my daughter, who was studying abroad in Florence. This B & B really has everything one would want, unless you crave a big hotel with a bar. It is quiet, in a great location, 1 block from the Duomo! You walk down the block and as you turn the corner, there it is.... the magnificent Duomo and the center of town. Fifteen minute walk from the train station, walking to Ufizzi and Academia and Ponte Vechio. The B&B itself, is extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. We stayed in a large room, that had a desk, desktop computer, tv with cable, individually controlled lights over bed, large bathroom with nice shower in bathtub, very technologically savvy B & B. It is family run, the owner is very accommodating with directions, recommendations, ordering tickets to museums, use of printer, ordering taxis (which ALWAYS come in 2 minutes- exactly!) They prepare a very nice breakfast which you can eat inside or outside on the patio/terrace. It includes pastries, a cake they bake every two days, eggs you can boil yourself, cheese, meats, cereals, fresh fruit, great jams, nice celection of teas and he will make you an espreso, capaccino or whatever, if you ask. i saw 3 of the 7 roooms available. 2 were very large and the 3rd was smaller, but adequate. There is a jacuzzi and sauna, which we didn't use, cause we were out most of the time. Oh and did i mention free WI-FI for any and all devices! There is a good security system as well. On street level you use your card to enter, and there is a small elevator that will take you up to the second floor where the B & B is ,with another locked door to enter. The owner is always there and available for assistance, don't hesitate to ask. His English is pretty good as well. In addition, after having checked many possibilities in Rome, Florence and Venice, where we traveled, I actually called the B & B to book, after i tried on line to get a special discount. The owner was very nice and efficient. I got my confirmation in email etc. Very easy.The Tourist House Ghiberti provided the most ammenities for the best price. So, if you want a quiet place to stay that has all the ammenities and a great location, this is the place to stay. I would definitely return, if i am lucky enough to come back to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room if needed. Also if you want an outside room facing the street. The outside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful seven days in Florence last week and our stay at the Tourist House Ghiberti was one reason why our holiday was a complete success.

The THG is very central, just round the corner from the Duomo. It is easy to walk to all the sites in the centre. The hotel is small with only a few rooms but a lot of thought and consideration have been put into making the rooms very comfortable with lots of space and an outstanding bathroom. All the details given on the website are accurate and there are no exaggerations. Our room was at the back and so there was no noise at night. I don't know what the rooms overlooking the front were like but the street was not noisy when we came back in the evening.

We would not hesitate to stay at the THG again if we return to Florence - magari!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Let's start with the location. Smack in back of the Florence Baptistry (which in turn is right across the piazza from the Duomo)...so couldn't be closer and within walking distance of all the highlights of Florence.. For a European bed room...it was huge with a king sized bed and with an equally large and well appointed bathroom. Five stars for the heated bath towels alone. Very good large and varied breakfast buffet included. Our host and owner Claudio was very helpful in all kinds of ways and directed us to good but inexpensive places to eat. This is not a glamorous place...but charming and a great stay. There are only a handful of rooms so book it right away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tourist House Ghiberti is a great place to stay while visiting Florence. The rooms are spacious, very clean (spotless actually) and bright. All rooms have a free wireless, TV, and a computer (we didn’t use the last two). The owners were very helpful with all kinds of arrangements a tourist may need. For us, they helped to find a one-day car rental, which is very non-trivial task in Florence. Breakfast was nice and a lovely outdoor patio area is priceless. Only couple of minutes from the Duomo, you are indeed in the heart of the city. We stayed here for six nights and every day experienced the growing feeling of being at home. IF we will have a chance to be in Florence again, this would be our first choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Tourist House Ghiberti from 14-21 March as part of a 30-day holiday/"art pilgrimage" in Italy, France and the Netherlands. In that time, we stayed at 5 hotels and guesthouses...typically at the three-star+ level...and I have to say that Tourist House Ghiberti provided by far the best accommodation and service of any of them.
The location is fantastic...just behind the Doumo...it would be difficult to find anything more central. The proximity to the Duomo shouldn't be too surprising, since the hotel is actually part of the building in which Ghiberti fsashioned the wonderful door of the Baptistry, a bit of history that tickled us greatly.
The bedrooms were outstanding., very large by European standards, comfortable, quiet and well appointed. . The spotless en-suitre bathrooms were similarly generously proportioned. The (free) WiFi worked faultlessly.
The buffet breakfast was both generous and varied and the breakfast room had a pleasant ambience.
However, what made our stay truly memorable was the outsanding service provided by our hosts, Claudio and Christelle, for whom nothing was too much trouble. They were a mine of information, steering us in the direction of the best tours and restaurants, making reservations and advising on the opening hours of the many attractions the city has to offer. We weren't disappointed by any of their recommendations!
We would both be glad to recommend Tourist House Ghiberti to anyone looking for accommodation with location, stylre and comfort and who values excellent and friendly service.We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Florence.

Stuart,
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This guest house is a block behind the Duomo and provided easy access to museums, the central market, the major plazas and the river and was only a 10 minute walk from the train. Our room was bright and surprisingly large (and so was the bathroom). It was also very quiet despite some bus traffic on our small street and large oversized windows (with good shutters). Nice amenities (even a sauna), good breakfast. The staff were not as welcoming and the overall feel of the place was less intimate than we had come to expect from B and Bs, but this was a great place to stay in Florence and we would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: we enjoyed a "large room with double bed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist House Ghiberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist House Ghiberti

Address: Via Bufalini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist House Ghiberti is situated in the heart of Florence, close to the Duomo. It is a family run hotel with modern comforts and technology.The rooms, retaining the proper Florentine style and hung with pictures by renowned Italian artists, have private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, computer with free internet access, TV 32 inches lcd, mini bar, kettle with tea and coffee, Satellite Decoder for tv and radio, DVD-CD player with movies at disposal in different languages and much more. Free WI-FI everywhere. A big jacuzzi and a sauna are at disposal of the guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tourist House Ghiberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Ghiberti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist House Ghiberti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.