We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perseo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perseo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I arrived at Santa Maria Novella station which is a very short and simple 5-10 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of the building that its in, but there is a lift. I was greeted by Laura who was very friendly and helpful and showed me to my room. The room was a good size and very clean, it was facing the road but this wasnt a problem as the windows blocked out any road noise. The hotel is situated right in the middle of all of the most popular tourist areas, with the duomo literally about a minute from the front of the hotel and the Piazza della Signoria only 10 minutes away. I stayed here for 5 days and walked to everything because it is all so close. I would definitely return to this hotel because of the friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    401
    55
    10
    5
See reviews for
317
567
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found Hotel Perseo via TripAdviser. Given its relatively low cost and its central location I was v impressed - great value for money. While not 'fancy', Perseo is clean, rooms (and ensuites) are fresh (look recently renovated), staff v friendly and speak excellent English. Breakfast (included) was diverse too. A stone's throw from main train station and the awesome Duomo! Location meant you could pop back and drop off shopping or have a quick rest before venturing out again for afternoon/evening. Hotel also happy to book tix to Uffizi, Gallery of Academia, Tuscany etc in advance for you. Consider buying Firenze card - covers many entry fees and you can jump in express lane, bypassing 2 hour queues (and that was during spring season!). Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is relatively comfortable and in a great location literally a stone's throw away from the Duomo. The staff were always welcoming and friendly. The hotel really has a family run feel to it. We were given a room on the 4th floor with fantastic views across the city. Unfortunately this view includes bells which would go off at various times throughout the day, especially on a Sunday morning. But that's what you get for being so close to a main square and this isn't a reflection of the hotel!

Other cons are that the walls are thin, the beds are on the harder side and the pillows are low (with no other options if you're not used to low pillows). To some these may be pros.

If you're looking for a good location, a safe environment, a reasonably priced room (relative to the area) and staff that truly go out of their way to make you feel at home then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Laura and her staff are very helpful and accommodating in every way. Hotel Perseo is very clean and quiet. The location is ideal, very safe, and close to everything from the SMN train station to all the sites worth seeing, all the places worth eating at, and all the stuff worth shopping for. Definitely a wonderful value. Everything is worthwhile in Florence is within a twenty minute walk.

Room Tip: Pick the fourth floor for a nice view and away from the front as the Hotel is on Via Cerretani which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is located right in the centre so you can walk around florence mani streets.
Breakfast was good and so was the staff. The rooms were small but its similar to other hotels in Florence. It also at a walkable distance from the Train Station (10 min) if you want to travel .
They booked for us the Museum as one has to book them in advance to avoid long waiting period.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

1 block from the Duomo, can not ask better, our window faced it, excellent location!, service is great!, breakfast is superb!!, very clean, we stayed in a room for 4, apparently recent renovated. Price is very competitive. Would stay there again in our next trip to Florence!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left it was a joy to be there. Laura at reception welcomed us joyfully and was always more than happy to give us assistance with any request. I cannot thank her enough for her joyful disposition and positive energy at all times, it helped me even when the rain prevented us to accomplish all of the things we had hoped.

The rooms are quite large considering our previous experience in another hotel and very clean. The bathroom was spacious as well.

The breakfast has a good choice of cold cuts, cheese, bread, fruit, jams, etc. Very good coffee and juices too.

The hotel is steps away from Il Duomo and many of the central destinations. The train station is some ten minutes walk away, so all in all we were really happy with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Cerretani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#51 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#72 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.