We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perseo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perseo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights in Oct 2013. The location is incredible, just a couple blocks from the cathedral and an easy walk to the other big sites and shopping in the city. There is an elevator to get you an your luggage to the third floor, where you'll have to check in. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, more so than at many of the other hotels I've stayed in. They always have recommendations about where to eat or what to do, and if you have a specific question about bus schedules or how to get tickets, they will look it up for you. They even helped us print out tickets we bought to a wine tour. The room we stayed in was very clean and spacious for the most part. Im sensitive to light and was glad they had external shutters to block out the sun. There were a couple of devices in the room that had small lights on them that shone once we turned off the lights to sleep, but the front desk cheerfully gave me tape and paper to cover those up. also, the windows did a good job of keeping a lot of the noise of the city out. The included breakfast was nice. They had cereal, milk, cut meat and cheese, yogurt, fresh and can ed fruit, biscuits, toast, and someone was there to make coffee if you wanted it. While the relatively breakfast room was sometimes crowded, we never had to wait to get a seat as suggested by other reviewers. And once, the staff let us eat our leftovers from dinner by opening up the breakfast room during our lunchtime and giving us plates and silverware (there are refrigerators in the room). Also, the value was terrific. Given the location, the clean rooms, and friendly staff, the price was really very reasonable.

A few - minor in the scheme of things- cons: I agree with some of the other reviewers that there could have been more hanging space in the room as there was only one small closet area and only one small area for a carry on sized luggage to be placed. I ended up putting my larger suitcase on the couch. The bathroom, while very clean, also lacked much shelf space around the sink and in the shower, and the shower head kept falling down when I angled it. Also, being American, Im rather used to more shower space, but I made it work with the smaller shower. Also, and this is a very particular comment based on my own personal preference, but the pillows were very thin. I tried using two pillows but that was too much. I only mention this because it did impact my sleep.

Overall, this was a very positive experience and I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, especially for the price!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    401
    55
    10
    5
See reviews for
318
567
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in an excellent location, just a few steps away from the Duomo. The staff are quite friendly, and the room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Given the glowing reviews here, I was a little bit disappointed with the overall experience - it was still good, but not quite as good as I was expecting. There were a few minor irritations: the breakfast room was very small, which meant that people often had to queue to be seated for breakfast in the morning. The in-room wifi was very flaky and often unusable. There was not much clothes hanging/storage space in our room (one wardrobe for two people to share and no extra storage). And the shower cubicle leaked onto the bathroom floor when in use, so we had to put down an extra towel on the floor to mop up the water. Having said that, it's a relatively good price and an excellent location, so I would stay there again, just with slightly lower expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel Perseo is a good value hotel with clean, comfortable, spacious facilities and decent staff in Florence - which can have quite expensive hotels. We took 2 rooms there in late Sep as part of a family group of 6 - travelling for a month in Europe.
The best bit was the location - a short 10min walk from the train station and literally round the corner (1 min) from the main attraction the Duomo. However, Florence is a very compact city so it would be fair to say the Hotel was so central as to be close and walking distance to everything - San Lorenzo markets, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria, Uffizi and around the main Centro Storico area. The longest walk is to Piazzale Michelangelo which is across the river and up the hill - touch set of stairs - but yes the views are worth it.
The hotel offers a decent continental breakfast (which includes boiled eggs) and we were very pleased with the selection - fresh and adequate.The staff were helpful and gave us some great restaurant suggestions - Zaza's was awesome - eat there if you can. The hotel itself is on the 3rd floor of the building so you take a tiny 2 person lift or the stairs. It is like on the main street so right next to it are all the shops and restaurants. However there is no noise in the rooms.
For budget conscious travellers who are looking for a clean, safe, value for money hotel which is very well located and has decent staff you can not go past Hotel Perseo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a pleasant high-speed trip from Rome, the train stops, we walk a fairly short distance on Via de Cerretani street with wheeled suitcases in tow, and we are there--Hotel Perseo.

Hotel Perseo offers the convenience of not needing transportation as one can easily walk from the busy train station, to the Duomo, to all points of interests with great ease in this historic, ancient city. (Check it out on Google Earth and you'll see how close it is to everything.)
The carved stone hotel name is in good view above the entry and also on the right side of the hallway which helped us find the location easily. There are nice shops along the street level.

The hotel reception, not on the ground level, is up a (somewhat iffy) small rather antique elevator on Level 3 with Hotel Perseo rooms on both Level 3 and 4. The building seems to have a couple other hotels within the same building which is a bit strange for U.S. Americans, but this had no negative influence on our stay. (We also found this multi-hotel approach within a building in Rome.)

What great good fortune we had as our rather spacious (by European standards) room faced the church bells of Santa Maria Maggiore, the only bells rung by the church members as other churches use recordings and speakers. These lovely bells' delightful ringing woke the morning with their lovely chimes as the sun smiled on Florence.

It was nice to have two English speaking TV stations with CNN International and BBC. The safe within the closet was also useful. Along side the small sitting room near the reception is a computer with internet for checking emails, etc. if one chooses not to bring a computer or smart phone on this trip.

Owners (an Aussie and an Italian) are super helpful, friendly, intelligent, interesting individuals. Their ability to speak multiple languages was most helpful to us and other guests from other parts of the world. Their staff is well trained and efficient and very helpful to all guests regardless of requests. Their professionalism perhaps makes up for the hotel beginning to look a bit on the tired side in that an updated paint job could cheer things up a bit as could some new hallway flooring. Having said that, the rooms were in line with most functional European hotels. The furnishings and fittings worked out just fine and the bathroom was of adequate size and was kept clean, and the king bed was comfortable.

Walk out of the building's entry and you in a shopping mecca (the Fifth Avenue of Florence) where you can purchase the most elegant high-end designer shoes, clothing, etc. and dine in lovely restaurants and cafes. Learn more about history, art and culture by visiting the Duomo, Uffizi (originally "offices" of the ever-so wealthy and influential Medici family), the Accademia and on and on, all within easy walk from this well-situated hotel.

Similarly, expensive, high-end fine leather goods are available at the leather school, Scuola del Cuoio created after WW II in collaboration within the Monastery of Santa Croce. Beautiful, historic location (church and school) even if you don't purchase any leather goods. This area is an easy walk from the Hotel Perseo as are Via Ariento's Central Market for fruit, veggies, foods and the Ponte Vecchio bridge with numerous gold shops. Everything is close by and an easy walk.

Be prepared, of course, out front of the hotel for the (presumed gypsy) elder woman crunched into a ball in a parking space with her begging-cup on the sidewalk. She seems to work a shift of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. after which she apparently goes home to come back the next day. Down the street within the main square are typically several (presumed gypsy) women colorfully dressed in long-sleeved tops and floor-length skirts, black hair in simple braid, and cups in hand as they also beg during their later afternoon shifts. Of course, be aware in this city as you would in any large city and put your valuables into a small punch that goes under your cloths, tucked into your waist band and use the hotel safe. Further, also be aware at the train station and avoid those who walk up to you offering "to help" as you work to maneuver the train ticket purchases, schedules, etc. These (predominately men) are not with the train company.

The morning breakfast typically included some a simple fruit sliced, cereals, croissants, pastries/breads, cheese and some meat (for those who eat meat), coffee/espresso and cappuccino freshly made upon request. The lovely kitchen manager would prepare you a second cappuccino if you chose to stay a bit longer in the café setting. The owner/managers were also flexible enough to allow an extended family to use the café for an early dinner one evening as the family brought in on their own food. Many hotels would not be so flexible. A nice touch.

So, long story short, we would stay here again. It met our needs very well and the owners were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Florence is a very expensive city and we chose the Perseo because of its reasonable price and great location very near to the Duomo. We got exactly what we expected. The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom clean and adequate. There was no view out of the window other than an air conditioning plant. The room was very quiet. For a special occasion, honeymoon etc the room would appear a bit spartan in decor but for a short city break it was fine. The reception staff were all very pleasant and extremely helpful. The breakfast was fine, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, pastries and ham and cheese. Visiting Florence again I would be very happy to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location less than half a short block from Duomo. Very friendly staff at front desk- helpful as well. Rooms are clean, well furnished, comfortable. Bath includes hair dryer, bidet and magnifying mirror!! Breakfast complete and something for everyone! Very highly recommended and would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Hotel Perseo for 2 nights.

The room was basic, but very clean. The service from the front desk was fantastic. The breakfast was included. It was continental: juice, water, coffee, cereals, toast, croissants, ham, cheese, jams, cookies and small amount of fruit. The location of the hotel was fantastic. It was just over 1 block from Duomo, so everything was within walking distance.

Upon arrival in Venice we walked from train station to hotel. Big mistake. Take a taxi! The hotel reception is on level 3. There is a very small lift to take you up.

Front desk staff are very knowledgable. They were helpful in recommending restaurants, laundromats and places to visit.

Overall, very clean, tidy, well located with great customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Cerretani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#51 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#72 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.