This is a tough review for me. The people at this hotel were 5 stars easily. The owner, a New Zealander was exceptionally nice and very very helpful. She spent time with us to show us on the map places of interest etc. Her husband (we are assuming here) was equally nice offering my wife second cups of cappuccino for breakfast. All the cleaning staff and the front desk reception were all outstanding.
We selected this hotel on the TA reviews alone, and I think people have reviewed this hotel at 4.5 because of the service and location. This hotel is smack bang in the heart of the city. As you walk out of the hotel in the morning the first view is the duomo and what a view. Beautiful beyond words. SO the location is amazing.
The hotel is nice, please don't get me wrong, but I was disappointed in a couple of things. 1. The Hotel is kind of in the centre of the building, so the entrance is up a lift, and in winter the entrance is cold and kind of uninviting. A small sacrifice but considering the location.....still it is a downside.
2. The breakfast room is very small and cramped, so if there are a lot of guests then there is a wait. The breakfast itself is OK. Toast, cereal, boiled egg, yoghurt (but not that cold which annoys me given it is a milk product).....but a cappuccino freshly made and outstanding service. 3. and this is the killer for me and why this hotel did not rate 4 stars.....the shower is woeful. The space inside....how to explain......you know what it is like when you move left or right and the razor crashes to the ground and the two parts separate and you have to somehow bend down and pick them up.....over ad over. then this is the space! Also and this is the worst....the pressure was one step up from steam! OK I'm exaggerating, but it is the type of pressure that has you yelling out to your wife.....man this shower is cr#p!
Now I don't know if it is because the building is so old that the pipes cant take it, or that they put restrictors in the pipes to save water, but it is crazy, because I spend 3X the amount of time to have a decent shower and it takes ages to wash out shampoo and conditioner! And it cheeses off the customer, so if it is done on purpose to save water, it aint working with me!
4. The room s tiled and in the morning regardless of the A/C, the floor is cold. If you have tiles, you also need a rug!
I know I have had a whinge, but real feedback is important. Service 5 stars, hotel room 3.5.
So far this has been out least favourite room, but it was clean, the bath towels were more like bath sheets which was a big plus ad they changed the linen after the 2nd of our 4 day stay which was terrific and these guys the only hotel that has done this for us. So a couple of big pluses there.
Would I stay here again........ yes for the service, no for the woeful shower.
But thanks for the fantastic service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
December 17, 2012
Thanks for writing a review about my hotel, I am only sorry you didn't bother to tell us about your shower problem straight away, we fixed it in 30 seconds after reading your reveiew. The cleaning girls should have picked up the shower head needed to be changed, but they didn't. From reception it is impossible to resolve problems if we are the last to know about them. What a shame.
Report response as inappropriate
I don't have carpets in the rooms as we have a huge request to allergy free rooms, the temperature you experienced were not usual, the last few days have been lows of around 6°.
The yoghurts are placed on a stainless steel tray which contains ice underneath.
By now you are most probably back home to your Australian summer, enjoy the festive season. Thanks again for taking your time to share your thoughts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.