We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Room Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centro to your Saves list
Hotel Centro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ginori 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor Room Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I spent 1 month in Europe. The location was great, neall all the sites. However, this was by far one of the worst hotel that we've stayed in. Our room along with the reception area smelled of cigarettes. We did not have our own private bathroom so we had to share. The shower was in the middle of the bathroom right next to the toilet, with only curtains cover. So evertime we showered, the whole entire bathroom is spashed/covered with water. Or if you come in after someone who had shower you would have to wipe down everything before you can use it. Our room was very stuffy and hot. I felt dirty the whole entire time that I was there, even after my shower.

The streets were busy and the noise was unbearable. The street also smell of urine. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    48
    19
    17
See reviews for
22
94
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Centro from this October (2012). If you are reading other reviews which focus on the size of the room, I suspect that those posting have not frequented Europe. European hotel rooms are frequently small, and can not be compared to those in North America. Also more common in Europe, our accommodation was had a shared/public bathroom.

We chose Hotel Centro due to a combination of price and location. The hotel is ideally situated to explore Florence, being within a few minutes walk from the Duomo, Ufizzi Gallery, Academia and the Mercato Centro. The hotel is typical of Italian and French budget hotels we have used in the past. The room was clean, and the hotel had small public room areas with books to read. The shared bathroom was very dated, and I would suggest bringing shower shoes (or flip flops). The water was HOT, and the shower small but functional. The furnishings are very bare, and as with many older European Hotels, you can usually smell some lingering vestiges of the smokers there before you.

The staff were excellent. The service counter is manned at all times, and I found each employee to be very helpful. When I was trying to call my work back in the US, and was unable to make an international call, the cleaning woman showed up to our room with a tray of coffees. She sensed my frustration and felt bad that she could not help. The day manager was always lovely, offering help when needed and a smile upon our return.

For those looking to spend their dollars on an experience in lieu of a bed, Hotel Centro is safe, clean, and friendly. While certainly no-frills, it offered no unpleasant surprises either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Good: Location is great, near all the sites. Everyone at reception was very nice and helpful.

The Bad: The Hotel is located on a very narrow street and since it is downtown, the streets were pretty busy and you could hear clearly what passersby were saying (I could recite whole conversations) the noise kept me up all night. We came by car and had to pay 44 Euro in parking fees for 24 hours (not the fault of the Hotel, but didn't realize that parking would we SO expensive).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I paid a very low rate for this hotel and got the value I hoped for. The location is excellent very central for walking to all attractions.
The staff are pleasant and have enough English to get by.
The rooms are very small with shared bathroom, potentially noisy and no air conditiining so certainly not luxury but were cleaned daily and fine just to sleep in if street noise does not bother you (I slept fine).
Overall if you just want a bed and a shower in a great location for a bargain price book here!
Also just to mention - great cocktail bar just across street if you like a late night drink.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I booked this hotel on a deal from expedia, so we got two nights for $61 total, so we were slightly concerned and didn't expect much. The room was VERY small, the window was broken, so it got to be a little noisy, and we did have to share a bathroom, but honestly, for the price, it wasn't that bad. It is in a great location and we walked around in the evening/night both nights we were there and felt completely safe. It's one block from San Lorenzo's market and the Medici Chapels and not too much farther to the train station. It was nice to do some shopping, be able to drop the bags off and then continue on with the day. The hotel was very clean too and we did eat breakfast there one morning and it was more than adequete. We did not realize we did not get breakfast as part of our reservation, but the owner said it was fine and never charged us. He was a nice guy and if we come to Florence again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there.

Room Tip: They have rooms with bathrooms, so if you are looking for this, be sure to ask in when you make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children - 9 and 12 yrs) stayed here at the end of July. The location is great - walking distance to everything and just around the corner from l'academia. The hotel seems very safe - you have to ring to be let in 2 sets of doors. The room felt a bit dark and very warm. We had a really hard time sleeping because there was just a ceiling fan generating air and the fan sounded like it was going to fall out of the ceiling. Breakfast was fine but you could end up having to wait for your turn because the room is small. Not a horrible choice and probably better when it's not summer (and so hot!). Location is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were two women and booked Hotel Centro for 2 nights/3 days. We had mistakenly booked a room with a detached bathroom, and were quite weary of the same. Fortunately, the shared extremely bathroom was clean and right opposite our room, so it worked for us.

The room was quite small, just enough for two people. It was clean and overlooked the street (gave me good photography opportunities). Breakfast does not come inclusive, which was quite disapponting. The second floor corridor has some good books (in French). The staff is extremely hospitable and helpful.

What works for the hotel is the location. It is very close to Accademia and Duomo, a maximum of 10 minutes and 7 minutes, respectively. It is approximately 10 minutes from the station. All on foot. Some of the nice cafes are in and around the hotel.

The lobby is small, so is the breakfast space. While walking inwards the hotel, you will be introduced to some of the smallest elevators you may ever be in. Also, the elevator to the second floor is particularly small and differently shaped. The use of space may surprise you!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an air-conditioned room for Summers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Address: Via Ginori 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.