We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD PRICE, EXCELLENT LOCATION BUT THE ELEVATOR......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duomo Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duomo Firenze to your Saves list
Hotel Duomo Firenze
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #32 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A GOOD PRICE, EXCELLENT LOCATION BUT THE ELEVATOR......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel is in the 4th floor of an old building. Only 2 person in a very small and very old lift. But Francesca and Catherina from the reception are amazing and have do the best for us.It is a simple and clean hotel in the heart of fLORENCE; the breakfast is good and the place is near everything.
It shoud be better if they provide some cofee/tea machine in the rooms; the mini frigo was very poor.

Room Tip: We were at room 25. Good but very noisely by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    150
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
212
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I loved Hotel Duomo. The location is ideal for seeing all the wonderful sites in Florence. The staff was very accommodating and the room was extremely comfortable and modern. We still talk about how wonderful our visit to Florence was and are recommending this hotel to everyone who is traveling there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for several days in mid June. 4 of us in a triple room (room 23). It was a squeeze but it worked well. I was traveling with my mother and two sons (9 & 12). It was their first trip to Italy and they could not get over the view we had of the Duomo. The bathroom was big and also had a wonderful window with a view, too. The breakfast was pleasant, excellent cappucino and hot chocolate, yogurt, granola, eggs, bacon, toast, etc. The front desk was helpful, especially Alberto. The small elevator for 2 was wonderful (classic and a bonus instead of stairs). The rooms and public areas were comfortable and well maintained. The location was withing a 10 minute walk of all major sites. The boys occasionally played with a wall ball out on the piazza of the Duomo and loved it. The energy of the area was high, noisy at night. But, with windows closed it was not an issue. Would stay definitely here again. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had a triple room. No. 23. The extra bed wasn't so great, but the bathroom was modern, large and the room full of windows on the Piazza de Duomo. Nice staff, good coffee and breakfast. The restaurant around the corner Buca Nicolino completed the perfect address for a hotel, as if the Duomo in front wasn't enough! Ha. The food was fabulous. Oh, and the parking arrangement was excellent and reasonable. For shopping this was also an excellent address. A 5-10 minute walk to the Museo Uffizi. The museo staff were the only grouchy Italians we met. Such a great location. The hotel room had noise at night with tourists drinking and talking loud on the piazza below so to sleep one had to keep the windows closed, but there was good air conditioning. We opened the windows to the cross-breeze and lovely side of the Duomo around two and enjoyed the rest of our night's sleep with the windows open. Highly recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Rooms are nicely appointed and clean-our room was large by European standards. It was clear that the property was recently remodeled-the bathroom was quite nice and had modern fixtures. No carpet on floors-which for us was a comfort as we knew we were walking on clean floors each day. Breakfast was just right-lots of options by continental breakfast standards. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times-we felt an "at home" warmth from them. Location next to the Duomo could not be more perfect-we had a view of the Duomo and could hear the "buzz" from the piazza with the windows open-but the world was quiet when we shut the windows to sleep.

A few "good to knows". Arriving at night, you walk through an old, dark arched entrance and find your way to a small elevator. The elevator can hold two people and one large bag. This whole scene was a bit concerning until we got to the fourth floor and entered the lobby-which was modern and bright. This entry process is not so bad in the daylight and after the first time when you know what awaits at the end of the elevator ride. Second, while some rooms are on the same floor as the lobby, there are some on the floor above (and perhaps below-not sure about that)-and there is no elevator service within the hotel. However, we found the staff aware of the challenge this presents and very eager to help bring our bags both up to the room on arrival and down from the room on departure.

The value of this property based on the room rate is excellent. The room information booklet indicated that it was required to pay cash seperately for wired/wireless internet service-but this was not the case-just go to the front desk an request an internet access code-no additional charges were applied to our bill nor was cash requested.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was a wonderful homebase to see Florence and Tuscany!

Room Tip: Would recommend room on overlooking Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We've been here twice! Both times in August. Wonderfull hotel with fantastic location. It's close to everything: to historical center and Santa Maria Novella railway station. Our room was with duomo view, the street was overcrowded even at night but it was very quiet in the room. It seems I've found my hotel for my visits to Florence. The only problem is poor breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was my second time at the Hotel Duomo. Location is fantastic - you look out on the duomo at third or fourth floor level & its only 40 or 50 feet away. As before, service was excellent. My friend Lisa had to arrive two nights later than originally planned. Although we didn't ask, the staff were happy to only charge for dingle occupancy for the first two nights. Very generous. We came & went at various times throughout the day & it was never a problem. Slightly expensive maybe, but highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Florence
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duomo Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.