We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Airone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Airone Hotel to your Saves list
Airone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Toselli 147, 50147 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Beaver Creek, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never stay here again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. Thank goodness it was only for one night! When we arrived we didn't have any towels or toilet paper. We told the receptionist and when we returned at midnight we still didn't have any towels or toilet paper. The new receptionist was sleeping when we entered and while we asked him to get our basic supplies he fell asleep while talking to us. After we woke him up he brings us two towels both only for the feet and some toilet paper. Our shower still had the hair of the previous guest and their used soap in the sink! We will never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    31
    25
    50
See reviews for
12
51
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Don't stay here. The airco does not work and it is located in the middle of nowhere. It costs 20 euros to travel by taxi to the city center. The rooms and bathroom are tiny. Breakfast is minimal, although the croissants were fresh at 7 AM. Staff was unable to check us out and we had to wait for half an hour for another employee before we were allowed to pay for our stay. Upsides: free internet. (allowed us to book another hotel for the rest of our stay)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised by an assistent fluent in English - which is not common (in our experience anyway) in Italy. At that she was also very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, access to Florence by bus is quick and easy, there is a wonderful restaurant just down the road (offering delicious food at excellent prices); no complaints. If you like to bath the bath might be a tad on the small size, but other than that the experience was wonderful. We also had a beautiful view of the street from our window.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

It was not centrally located. It was dirty. The guy at the desk was completely unhelpful. I do not recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed here as part of a package deal that we booked at the last minute back in November. I had read the reviews after booking and was a little concerned, but my husband and I are the type of travelers who make the best of things so it wasn't so bad. The quality wasn't terrible but it did seem to be more like a hostel than a hotel. It is also quite a distance from the main sites of the city, however the hotel staff were very helpful in telling us how to catch a bus into town that was very convenient and only a block and a half from the hotel (the bus ride was about 10 minutes). We also like to walk when we travel so we did that too and it was about a half hour walk to the Ponte Vecchio and other sites in the city center (we do walk pretty fast though). The funny thing is that we stayed in two other much nicer hotels in Venice and Rome as part of the same package but I honestly slept the best in this hotel. The bed seemed like I would be uncomfortable but it actually was really comfortable and it was quieter than the other hotels we stayed in. The only really strange thing about this hotel was that the shower and the bathroom were sort of one in the same. There is no shower stall, you just sort of shower in the corner of the bathroom so water gets everywhere. It was a little tricky, but not a big deal. I guess I am just writing this to say if you are locked into staying here, don't stress too much but if you are looking for something on the nicer side that is very close to sites, this may not be the place for you. Enjoy Florence!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We booked this hotel through Hotel Club, it is listed as a 3 star hotel.
Basically it's a 1 star at best!!! Its 30 minutes hike from the train station, through not the pleasantest of areas, the streets have condom machines on them which makes you wonder.

When we arrived there the guy on the desk told us nothing about when or where breakfast was or what time check out was. When we found our room - bearing in mind we had made them aware we were on honeymoon, half the door frame was missing, in the room the walls were all cracked and had holes in them where clearly a TV bracket had been but had probably fallen off! The windows did not close properly, the floor wasn't clean. The bedding was clean as were the towels but very tired and both had holes in.

Because the windows didn't close properly it was noisy and the 'view' not very nice at all.

It is again 30 minutes walk to any half decent restaurants.

The following morning, we were told where breakfast was, at first glance this seemed ok, but on checking and tasting we were very dissappointed. Firstly, the coffee tasted burnt, the bread was dry and tasteless, the orange juice - well I think it was orange juice - you didn't wan't to try, it didn't look very nice! The hot chocolate was terrible. The ham and cheese were very thin processed slices on a plate under a light so were warm and sweaty! The cereal selection consited of basically tesco's value cornflakes!

All in all we were very very dissapointed, we really didn't like the place at all, fortunately we were only staying for one night so we coped but we strongly recomended you avoid this place as you would Bernard Matthews Turkeys!

Had we not already paid we would have turned around and walked another 40 minutes or so (with our 20 kilo rucksacks) and found somewhere else.
We will post some photo's when we get home but we're still on honeymoon but wanted to get a post up about this place as soon as possible.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Please do yourself a favor and avoid this "Hotel". It is not as pictured on the website. The room was dirty and very noisy. We could not sleep because of the street noise and other guests. The walls were paper thin and you could hear your neighbor using the bathroom etc. The window was broken and could not be closed. The mattresses were comparable to Army cots on springs, but not as comfortable.
The bathroom was full of mold and mildew. The tv set was a 12 inch model that we had to unplug to shut off.
The bath towels smelled like vinegar.
The lady at the front desk was unfriendly and was only concerned about getting her money.
The breakfeast consisted of dry cereal, day old croisants, and bitter coffee.
I will include some photos for you to view. The room cost us over $100 US dollars a day.
We would have expected better quality control from Travelocity.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay at this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airone Hotel

Address: Via Toselli 147, 50147 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Airone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.