We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great supermarket near the Duomo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pegna

Pegna
Via dello Studio, 8, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 282701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 190 Shopping in Florence
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialty shop in central Florence since 1860, a nice place to stop and shop for a bit of gourmet products from Tuscany.
otterystmary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great supermarket near the Duomo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

wide choice of local and European food and beverages. Loose tea and colourful dried pasta excellent value.Cheery staff

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Grocery Store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a nice place to pick up groceries. They have a great selection. Many things from exclusive items, wines, groceries and toiletries. The prices are reasonable. It is just south of the Piazza del Duomo.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Shop, Convenient Grocery Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This little hidden gem at a little alley off the duomo is a small grocery shop that we accidentally wondered into. The shop has little traffic, despite being in prime location, with almost no tourists when we visited the place. Perhaps one reason could be that the shop is beautifully laid out, making it looks like an expensive specialty shop, but the prices are actually reasonable and much cheaper than other shops meant for tourists.

Besides selling deli, which other reviewers have written about, Pegna also sells everything a tourist needs, from bottled water (0.75 Euro versus 2.00 Euro at other touristy shops) to bathing needs. We stopped in this shop twice a day just to get water (since it is hot summer and it is close to our hotel).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,122 reviews 3,122 reviews
1,903 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,052 helpful votes 8,052 helpful votes
“PEGNA - Very good gourmet deli foods if tired of eating at restaurants every meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had eaten at a few restaurants, mostly those highly advised on Trip Advisor, that were just 'so-so' quality in our minds and were losing interest in spending time trying to find an acceptable meal so we popped into the PEGNA shop, located in the heart of the city centre, recognizing the gourmet food name from our DK Travel Guide book. This was a very good decision.

We picked up a nice bread, local salami, a couple cheeses and olives and enjoyed the best food we had in Florence on this trip, back in our hotel room. The deli products sold here were very fine quality, tasting delicious, much better than what we are able to find in Hong Kong at our international supermarkets and food importers.

Prices were not cheap at PEGNA but they were certainly not restaurant-like prices and the food was just what we needed and wanted. They had wines and other beverages as well, although we didn't avail during out stop here. Overall, this was a very good stop for us and we can highly recommend PEGNA for picking up light food to have at a picnic or back in your hotel from here, especially if you find yourself tired of the Italian restaurants.

Another option is to pick up similar food stuffs at the Mercato Centrale on the north side of the city centre. We didn't buy from here but found some great looking light foods as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegna also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.