We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love art...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours

Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours
Piazza della Repubblica | And various locations, 50122 Florence, Italy
011.39.328.965.3558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 322 Activities in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Over 10 years ago owner Paul Costa of Tuscan Tour Guide began his small private tour guide company. Since then he has led tours for Gordon Getty, Radio KISS 108 & NECN TV host Billy Costa and thousands of travelers of Royal Caribbean, Disney, Oceania, Seven Seas, Carnival, Seabourn & Norwegian Cruise Lines. Designing every tour to suit the expectations of each couple, family or group has made lifetime memories for thousands of tourists.
Collinsville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you love art...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

...you must hire Paul to walk you through the Uffizi and also to discuss The David. But also, his tour of Florence includes so much more, and he can tailor the tour to your interests. This is actually the second time I have hired Paul. On this trip, we were on a cruise and docked in Livorno for the day. Paul had a driver pick us up: Paolo---he was GREAT! Very funny and a good driver (a plus in Italy). We had a fun time discussing music with him (Lynard Skynard, Rolling Stones, etc...). He took us to Florence where we met up with Paul. My sister is an artist and majored in art/sculpture in college, so we focused our tour on art. Paul has advanced degrees in art history, etc... so he gave us an in depth tour of the Uffizi and of course, the David in the Accademia. We also walked around and discussed Florence history, the Ponte Vecchia bridge. We had time for a delicious lunch, then Paulo picked us up and took us to Pisa for a short photo op. Then we were back to the ship. I highly recommend Tuscan Tour Guide (obviously, since I have hired him twice in the last 2 years). You will not be disappointed! Helpful hint when traveling in Europe: have change available (5c,10c, 20c, 50c, 1 Euro coins) for toilets. This can really become an issue if you only have large bills like 20's.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best Tour. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was my family's first trip to Florence (and Italy for that matter). Paul (Tuscan Tour Guide) was recommended to us by a friend so we went ahead and booked a half-day tour with him. Our group consisted of Paul, my parents (55-60), myself (25) and my younger sister (20). Paul began his tour by asking us a series of questions to gauge our knowledge of Florence and to determine what type of tour to provide. We wanted to see the main sites so he took us to the highlights of Florence while painting a picture of what it was like to live in the city during the Renaissance period. I'll admit, I'm not the biggest history fan, but I was extremely intrigued with the history of Florence after this tour... Without Paul's commentary and insight, we would have missed so much history and interesting facts during our trips through the various museums and sites.

I wish we could've brought Paul around during our whole trip to Italy. He gave great recommendations on restaurants to visit and other sites to see. He genuinely wants you to have a fantastic stay in Florence and is definitely a part of why our trip was so great.

If you visit Florence, you HAVE to get a tour with Paul! You won't regret it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“entertaining and interesting tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoyed our four hour tour with Paul enormously. He was very entertaining and informative. We couldn't believe how quickly the time passed. We were very glad that we took the tour at the beginning of our vacation in Florence as the information he gave us about its history added greatly to the remainder of our stay. I highly recommend Paul. Best tour we have ever taken.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Guide & Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

When returning to Italy this summer, we knew exactly who to call to book our tours—Paul Costa—after the wonderful experience we had with him in Florence in July 2012. This year we were interested in a tour of the ruins at Pompeii. Paul worked with us via email planning out every detail of the tour, including recommended travel to and from the site. He responded in a timely manner and was very patient with our numerous questions. Paul set us up with a wonderful colleague and guide in Pompeii who was extremely knowledgeable of the site and made it fun to explore. She brought Pompeii to life in an engaging, informative manner.

Paul cannot only deliver a fabulous tour experience in person but he can make excellent arrangements for you in various locations. He is well connected and trustworthy. Paul works hard to make all your experiences in Italy memorable, insightful and fun. We look forward to working with Paul again in the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a private tour (6 persons) with Paul (Tuscan Tour Guide) and it was a wonderful experience! Not only was the tour informative and incredibly interesting, he was also quite entertaining and rendered us much new insight into the history and artists of Florence. He was extremely knowledgable yet had an energy and passion which was infectious. His tour was certainly an enjoyable and memorable learning experience we will always remember. We highly recommend his services!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.