We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cinque Terre - Fabulous with the Tuscan Tour Guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours

Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours
Piazza della Repubblica | And various locations, 50122 Florence, Italy
011.39.328.965.3558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 320 Activities in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Over 10 years ago owner Paul Costa of Tuscan Tour Guide began his small private tour guide company. Since then he has led tours for Gordon Getty, Radio KISS 108 & NECN TV host Billy Costa and thousands of travelers of Royal Caribbean, Disney, Oceania, Seven Seas, Carnival, Seabourn & Norwegian Cruise Lines. Designing every tour to suit the expectations of each couple, family or group has made lifetime memories for thousands of tourists.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Cinque Terre - Fabulous with the Tuscan Tour Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I were on a Mediterranean cruise and selected a one day tour of the Cinque Terre while docked in Livorno (Florence/Pisa). It was an incredible day - the views were spectuacular from the highways, the coastline walk and from the sea. A must see when visiting this part of Italy. Paul, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgable and passionate about this region of Italy, the various crops (especially olives), the marble quarries, the history and the future. Having been raised for part of his life in New York, Paul's English and North American knowledge really added to our enjoyment of this superb tour. Memorable, beautiful and informative!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paul Costa brilliant, funny tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had tour from cruise ship with Paul in April this year. His knowledge of Tuscany is vast on all subjects. He talked us through the Pisa and Florence history of politics, culture and economics which helped us to understand and appreciate what we were to see. Paul has a great sense of humour which appeals to all ages and this added to our great experience with him as our guide. If we visit this area again in the future we will definitely seek him out to further our knowledge. Very happy and recommend++++

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cinqueterre-- breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My daughter and I toured Cinqueterre with Paul in May 2012. It was a ship-sponsored one-day excursion from Norwegian Epic's port call in Livorno, and we had previously visited Florence.

Paul provided a wealth of information on Italian customs, culture, olive oil, history, language-- and, oh yes, a very full day of walking, transport by boats and rail, and more history and culture.

The Cinqueterre is not-to-be-missed. It's difficult to describe adequately the beauty and unique nature of this lovely corner of Italia. There were lemon trees, cliffs, rocky crags, awesome shorelines-- I think my daughter and I logged about 500 pictures during this day.

Paul's familiarity with the people in the region payed great dividends-- especially as evidenced by his ability to get the entire group seated at various restaurants in Monterosso in a very reasonable period of time

There were some challenges experienced by members of our group, sensitively managed while attending to the group as a whole.

If you can only take one tour in Northern Italy, this is the one to book. And if you can choose your guide, Paul's your man.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Pompeii,Florence and Rome, Paris Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 10 days on tour with Paul. Not only is he knowledgeable of the sites we visited but personable and accommodating as well. We could not have asked for a better guide. I had been to Florence, Rome and Paris before (25 years ago) but my husband and son had not, so having Paul there to be sure we all saw and appreciated not only the "highlights" of these cities but the history and hidden treasures each has to offer as well. We could not be more pleased with our trip and certainly will be making a return trip and calling upon Paul to be our host. My husband was born on Camp Darby in Livorno when his father was in the army and we have yet to get to that part of Italy. Maybe we will come in by cruise next time, spend a week and catch the next ship out!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most Capable Hands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Paul knows it all and helps everyone enjoy it.
A pleasure to be in the hands of a tour guide who is the best.
Would recommend him.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Tour Guide - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.