We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour with Mario Gesù” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vasari Corridor

Vasari Corridor
PIazzale degli Uffizi, Florence, Italy
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 220 attractions in Florence
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tour with Mario Gesù”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we read about this corridor it was clear that we wanted to visit it (also because there are not many tours around).

We had the luck to have Mario Gesù as a guide (he does also other tours, see FlorenceTown). He does the tour in a very good way, including the guests and not only talking.. So first about 90 minutes in the Uffizi (we were lucky in that in December 2012 there were not too many people around. You could see Leonardo, Botticelli etc. without hassles) and then at least another hour in the Corridor from the Uffizi all the way to Palazzo Pitti crossing the Arno on the 2nd floor of the Ponte Vecchio... You wouldn't guess from outside that it's full with art. In the corridor you will see the world's most important self-portrait collection (Tintoretto, Corot, Rembrandt etc. etc.).

So if you're ready to spend 3 hours and like arts: do it. If you just want to have a look at the corridor you'll propably get bored after some time.

Would definitely do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    72
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't regret if you missed it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have first visited Florence in 2000 and then heard about the Vasari corridor and the 6 months in advance reservations to see it. Then, I tried to book this attraction for my parents in law when they visited Florence in 2010, but could not find available tickets for their days in the city, 3 months in advance. You can imagine my thrill when, this November, I was confirmed 3 tickets for the Vasari corridor (and Uffizzi gallery) on the occassion on my second visit to Florence. No matter I paid 95 Euro per ticket (no discounts of any kind are applicable). The reservation was made through a specialised agency (Florence Museums). The voucher received by mail indicated a meeting point to be reached 15 minutes before the tour time. Only when arrived to the Uffizi, I realised that the meeting point was at a different address, far away from the gallery and difficult to find even on the map. Eventually, after several phones to the agency, we managed to join our group. For the 95 Euro, you get a guided tour of the Uffizzi gallery (which is quite educational) headphones and the chance to visit the so mysterious Vasari corridor. The corridor was built by Vasari, the house architect of the Medici family with the purpose of connecting the former (Palazzo Vecchio) and the new residence (Palazzo Pitti) of the Medicis. The corridor starts with a small passarelle linking te last floor of Palazzo Veccchio to Uffizzi, then the route continues through the regular rooms of the Uffizis and, finally, you enter the corridor through a door in the Uffizzis. The passarelle and this particular part of the corridor were built anew by Vasari. This is also the starting point of the visit. The passage runs in parralel with the Uffizi towards the Arno river, then turns right and follows the Arno shore on top of a suspended structure similar to a viaduct, then crosses Ponte Vecchio on top of the existing buildings and continues on the other side of the river Arno through Boboli gardens till inside the Pitti palace; altoghether, 1km and 3.5 hours, but the visit stops at the Boboli gardens. Inside the corridor is the largest collection of self-portraits in Italy together with less famous paintings. On both sides of the passage there are small windows which the Medicis used to spy on the people in the city. One window opens inside one of the oldest church in Florence; for this, Vasari had to demolish the front part of the church. In fact, all houses on the route, except one on Ponte vecchio, were demolished in order to get a straight line for the corridor.

Overall, its' a nice tour, but only having the privilege of walking a secret passage it's not worth the effort and the price; unless you really love paintings and want to see the self portraits exhibition. I really think it would have been interesting enough to see it from outside, if it would been shown on a map (but it isn't and when you're inside you think it would have been so obvious to note it).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So many paintings to see and so little time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful privileged experience - just too little time to stop and study all the amazing paintings that are hidden in this corridor + listen to all the stories about the Medici ,their guests - and nearer to the present day- Hitler painting from the specially enlarged windows so in fond memory of this experience at least forbidding the departing German troops from blowing up the Ponte Vecchio with the other Florentine bridges when the Allies drove them north in 1944. Definitely worth the money to take the tour - but if you like art you will probably want to go back and start all over again!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Florence's must-see "hidden" attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

These days it seems that the Vasari Corridor is hardly a "hidden" attraction, but nevertheless there is something quite special about being herded off through a side door by Uffizi security as the other visitors look on. The art in the corridor doesn't have quite the same quality or fame as that in the main galleries, but the guide brings it to life and the thrill of the visit itself is inescapable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the crowded Uffizi into the silent corridor following the steps of the Medici, it was a completely special experience. And if you find portraits fascinating as I do, the collection of self portraits is thrillingly second to none. We did the visit from 'ticket Italy' for 55 euros each, and I can't imagine any more expensive group tour (8 of us) being any better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasari Corridor also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vasari Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasari Corridor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vasari Corridor to your Saves list