We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the Heart of Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abaco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abaco to your Saves list
Hotel Abaco
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Banchi 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the Heart of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My three friends and I stayed here as part of a trip around Europe via the train. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast, although simple, was good. More importantly, the hotel is located in the center of tourist Florence, mere blocks from all the major attractions such as the Duomo (200 yards down the road), the river, and the Uffizi. For the money, the Hotel Abaco is definitely worth a stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights early July. Great location being fairly central. The rooms are small but clean. Tiny bathroom but functional. Air con, wi-fi and breakfast all included. All in all not disappointed and good value for money

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We would stay again, but here are the pros and cons

Pros:
• Located near the Duomo - just a block or two away
• Clean
• Good value

Cons:
• Many stairs up
• The rooms open onto a central, small, eating area. You hear people outside your door
• The staff did not speak good english ( if you care )
• Rooms are small ( to be expected )
• Breakfast is not great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during the first half of our Italy vacation. We chose the Abaco because of its value and great location, and on the personal recommendation of our daughter and son-in-law. It proved to be a good choice for us. We could easily walk to all the major sights, as well as to/from the main train station/bus terminal. It is close to a lot of nice restaurants and shops, as well. We enjoyed the simple continental breakfasts (served by friendly but no-nonsense Aurora) and the quaint decor. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Yes, the private baths are tiny, but adequate. The double windows allow for the shutting out of most street noise at night. We had a nice ceiling fan. Not sure how it would have been if A/C were needed. The stairs only prepared us for the climbing we would later be doing in Tuscan hill towns. We did not mind them. It is advisable to pack light with smaller rolling bags for Europe anyway. We recommend the Abaco if simplicity and value appeal to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely little hotel just around the corner from the duomo.
Only about a ten minute walk to/from the station and 5ish to the centre of Florence.
Room was beautifully decorated in a vintage boutique-y style but the bathroom was perhaps a little too old fashioned. That said, everything worked well and was clean!
Some noise from street below despite being high up- windows are pretty old school too!
Breakfast is served just outside the rooms whenever you request it-juice, coffee, breads and pastries. Staff very friendly.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of Florence. You should avoid if your legs cannot stand the stairs because you should climb to arrive to the main door expecially with heavy luggage, by the way extremely raccomended if you want to save money, room quite clean and good breackfast, cheap price make this choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place was nice and charming. My main concern is that there are too many stairs if you are faint of heart or have too much luggage. The location is in the heart of the city, the rooms are nice and have themes by artists. The shower head mount broke the morning we were using it, and by the time we returned to our room later that day, it was fixed. We did not have to tell them about it.
The shower is integrated in with the sink and toilet, so be aware!
The breakfast was good, with great coffee and rolls with jam. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a pleasant Florence experience with not too much fanciness.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in what they offer, and we made sure we had one with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Abaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco

Address: Via dei Banchi 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abaco 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Abaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.