We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Orcagna Hotel to your Saves list
Orcagna Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orcagna 57, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Eskisehir, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had doubts about the place at first-because it is 2 stars- they were all erased right after I entered my room. It was always clean, the breakfast was decent and the location of the hotel was incredibly perfect. Close to the city centre-10 minutes walk ;) Only negative thing about it was the mosquitos :(

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your stay was ok and we hope to welcome you again.
Warm regards and Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    183
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
80
186
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay, and would stay here again. When I book a hotel there are two things that are most important to me: location and cleanliness. And Orcagna met those two needs, and more! It's just a short walk from the Duomo and is on a nice, quiet street. The room and bathroom was very clean and modern, and to my surprise, quite large! I've never stayed in a large room at a budget hotel in Europe! The hotel was quiet and they had a great breakfast buffet in the morning! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Very happy we found this inexpensive, wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear that you did like the room and the breakfast and that you appreciated the quality of service and the location. We thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Best Regards
Hotel Orcagna Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Comfortable rooms, with modern decoration (and some cool tech elements (eg windows moving through an electric system).
Service ok and prices quite competitive- although there is noone at the reception late at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear George,
thank you very much for your kind words. Hoping to see you again, warm regards
Hotel Orcagna Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We loved our stay at the Orcagna Hotel. The room was HUGE, modern, clean,and had a private balcony. Bring your own wash cloths tho, the hotel does not provide them. The location was great for all the sights in Florence. In a quiet, family friendly, neighborhood with good cafe's very close by. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was typical of Italian breakfasts; coffee, juice, fresh fruit, crackers, bread, Italian cold cuts, cheese, cereal. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Florence and will recommend it to anyone I know going there. The only downside, you turn in your hotel key when leaving the hotel and the front door is locked at about 8:00 PM, you have to go to their sister hotel across the street for someone to let you in.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, and that is about the only nice thing I can say about this hotel.
The hotels policies are very unwelcoming, for a place which we were required to pay for upon booking they seemed to be very untrusting of the guests. A swipe key is required to access your room which you need to hand in at reception whenever you leave the hotel, if you are returning to the hotel after 8PM you have to go to the sister hotel across the street to get your key and wait for the reception there to come over and unlock the front door.
Parking is required to be paid separately and you need to hand your car keys in at reception and ask for your key whenever you need to access your car. On checking out we were given the remote for the garage and told to return it once we had gotten out, but the receptionist had come down to the garage to check on us before we had even managed to do this.
When we first walked into our room there was a heavy scent of bleach, we opened the windows and doors to try and help the smell work it's way out of the room but after a few hours found it wasn't helping at all. I thought I would see if I turned on the shower if it would help get rid of the smell and once I stepped into the shower I could see that the bleach that had been used to clean the shower had not been rinsed off the tiles at all hence why the odor was so strong, fortunately they had a shower hose which I was able to rinse the tiles with at this point.
The shower had very poor water pressure, and the temperature of the water was warm at best with an occasional hot blast.
While you could not hear much street noise in your hotel room, the walls between rooms was incredibly thin and you could hear just about everything the people in any neighbouring rooms were doing.
The hotel was within walking distance of the city center and this was the only real highlight to the accommodation. I felt the accommodation was greatly overpriced for what you received.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location if you want easy access to all the sites of Florence, but the best part is that the 20 min walk into the center from the hotel takes you through streets with some of the best bars and restaurants that are much cheaper than the ones in the center.
The rooms in the hotel are beautiful and have clearly recently been renovated, however the shower is open into the room so you better take your bikini if your aren't that close with who you are sharing a room with. There is also a lovely courtyard that the rooms with the balconies look onto.
The only criticism I have is that you have to hand your key in at night and collect it from a hotel across the road after 8pm and that the breakfast wasn't great. But if I was back in Florence I would stay here, it was ideal for our 3 night stay and without staying here would have missed out on some of the best bars and aperitivos ever!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a short break in Florence a few months back and i have finally got round to scribing a few thoughts.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of all the major sites, the area is clean, safe and quiet at night, we felt completely at ease walking out and about later in the evening and were able to try a couple of near by bars which were excellent.

The rooms: Modern, spacious and very comfortable; we felt right at home and the place was immaculately clean, we slept well and wanted for nothing, we were really impressed with the standard.

Service: Superb, staff were very helpful and never anything less than charming, nothing was too much trouble and they made every effort to ensure we had a good stay.

Breakfast: a continental buffet, nothing overly exotic but a nice selection of pastries, cheeses, fruit, cereals and yoghurts, all fresh and lots of it.

Value? Very good, don't be put off by the two star rating, the place is nice and at the cost seems competitive with similar establishments, all in all we greatly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stop again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you very much! Your words about your stay, about our hotel and our staff are so kind! Thank you again for sharing with us and with Tripadvisor's Readers your positive experience.
We hope obviously to see you again!
Best regards
Hotel Orcagna Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orcagna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.