We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet, Comfortable and Convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel River to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel River
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #147 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sahuarita, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quiet, Comfortable and Convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a small property within walking distance of most Florence sights, yet in a quiet location beside the river. We walked to it from the main train station although with our luggage, it was almost too far. Lower floor rooms open to a pleasant garden area.There is a friendly and helpful staff and a good breakfast selection. We would choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    210
    67
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
223
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our arrival in Florence was bit of a culture shock having arrived from a short stay in Venice in the quieter end of the Island, but on arrival received a warm and very helpful welcome at reception. We had planned a trip to Pisa, and the staff could not have been more helpful in providing information to help us achieve this.
The setting of the hotel suited us perfectly as it is a little further away from the main centre, but we still found plenty to do. Found a smashing little Bistro a 10 minute walk away in the Piazza L Ghilberti called Gilda Bistrot which is well worth a visit if you iwant to experience fantastically cooked Tuscan food in a welcoming atmosphere - we have virtually no Italian but Gilda could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this stay in Florence as a surprise for my wife. The hotel was exactly as we wanted - comfortable and quiet and near but not too close to the city centre. All the main attractions were within 15-20 minutes walk with the nearest restaurants a similar distance away. The staff are (mostly) friendly and helpful. Although it claims to be a 4-star, I would assess it a 3-star as it lacks that little extra special feel. There are no in room coffee making facilities - however, a kettle did appear when I mentioned this oversight towards the end of our stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a comfortable place to stay not far from the Ponte Vecchio. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the main attractions. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. The Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good and well served. There are restaurants, but mostly back towards Ponte Vecchio - 10 - 15 minute walk. The only minor negative was the room was a bit hot and it wasn't time for air conditioning. We had a large window that opened, but there were already mosquitoes, and there was no screen.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel used to be a convent and is delightfully quirky with no anonymous bland hotel chain mentality. The rooms are comfortable, the bathroom equipped with lovely toiletries and fluffy towels, rooms have tv and minibar, all you could need. The breakfasts were lovely with something for everyone but the hotels best feature apart from location is its wonderfully helpful staff who really want your stay to be all you could wish for. Don't go for bland in a hotel go for individuality and stay at the River.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther E, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel River, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JanW52_13,

We are very happy to read your enthusiastic review.

Your positive feedback is always a source of motivation for all of us to enhance our guest experience.

We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service.

Our staff members take their roles very seriously, and try every day, to provide the best customer services

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards

Esther Enna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Hotel River with 4 colleagues whilst visiting Florence for a workshop nearby the hotel. On arrival the hotel seemed clean and welcoming with a nice reception area and a good location on the river front. We had booked into 3 classic double rooms and 1 classic twin. The rooms varied a little in size but the basic layout and amenities were the same and, whilst a little dated, provided everything you needed. My colleague was in room 312 (I think!) which was still a standard but had lovely high ceilings, a bigger bed and a great, quiet location overlooking the internal courtyard.

Unfortunately returning to my room on the second afternoon there was a very strong sewage smell which I reported to the reception staff. The manageress Esther immediately came up, apologised profusely and moved me to one of the recently updated superior rooms with access to the internal courtyard. The room was lovely, very clean and quiet with a more modern look.

Throughout our stay the staff (particularly Esther) were absolutely fantastic, always checking in and remembering little details like coffee preferences at breakfast. Overall, the hotel was fine, clean, comfortable and well located but it was the warmth and helpfulness of the people who worked there who really made it special.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the internal courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther E, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel River, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Cafinlays,

Thank you so much for your really nice words and your positive feedback after your stay at Hotel River.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays.

It is really important for us, to read that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Florence.

Warm Regards

Esther Enna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

What a joy this was! Booked through the excellent Citalia I was blessed with a glorious room overlooking the river with a little balcony complete with a couple of chairs and a table. They even provided March sunshine so as to make full use of it.The room was fresh , clean, well decorated but I was glad I was solo as it would have been a bit of a tight squeeze for two.The Continental breakfast was totally acceptable with a good choice, kept refreshed by the accommodating staff. In fact all of the staff I met were excellent, professional, friendly, helpful and one in particular very chatty about my life in sport. No problem. He was a good chap. The other great asset of this small but delightful hotel was its position. Not only did it have a great view but was in handy reach of most things and, if you didn't fancy walking then there are bus stops very close by with good value tickets.Florence is a beautiful city with many attractions and some very fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Two rooms overlooking the river on the fourth floor with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther E, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel River, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear Writer,

Thank you so much for your really nice words and your feedback after your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and we also appreciate your kind comments regarding our locations staff & breakfast!

Please if you are planning to be back in Florence send me an email to direzione.hotelriver@lhphotels.com

I will be more than happy to assist you !

Kind Regards,

Esther Enna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.