We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first timers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel River to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel River
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #148 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Venice, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“first timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel only few days ago, April 12 till 15th.
This hotel is for those who likes to walk as it is good 15 min walk to nearest places.
Loved the location, right on the river, so peaceful and away from the crowds.
Rooms are smaller then some might expect but nice and clean.
We choose the 210, which has small balcony.
We got tired after visiting museums and wandering the streets, bought some food in a supermarket across the river, bottle of wine, had a nice lunch on a balcony.
There is small terrace on the top floor, best views from there.
Must mention that the service is excellent, everyone is so helpful.

Room Tip: we'll be glad to answer any questions as all memories are still fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    210
    67
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
223
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

To tell you the truth, I was a little put off by the fact that this is a "Best Western Hotel". I'm not a fan of chains. But... and this is good news ... you'd never know that it was. Historic, beautiful building, only a few dozen rooms, and great location in central Florence. The desk staff was always extremely helpful when we asked for restaurant recommendations and directions. Continental breakfast was better than average, and there's even a little bar where you can have a cocktail or wine. I'd stay there again. Only negative ... wifi was spotty. But we encountered that everywhere throughout Italy. It wasn't the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hotel is located close to Santa Croce and is a 15 minute walk to the Uffizi. The rooms are small, but are very very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, but not outstanding. It is the old story, you get what you pay for. Our room price was under 90 Euros for one night. We normally stay at a different Best Western when in Florence, but we decided to give this one a try. All in all it was good value, quiet and somewhat conveniently located. If you want a better breakfast or bigger room, pay more at a larger hotel. Good for budget minded travellers watching their money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel was in a good location, overlooking the river, a few minutes walk to all the squares and bars, which is lovely.

Hotel was nice and friendly, and very clean.

Few faults, Double bed was twins pushed together, toilet door didn't shut, and no tea and coffee making facilities. But all ok apart from that.. :)

Overall was a great stay in Florence and great stay at hotel. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for front rooms facing the river, we were at the back, not great view, but we wer'nt there o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When my husband and I chose this hotel we did so because of it's location...On the River, close to the Duomo and a five minute walk to Maggiore Car Rental. We really weren't expecting the room to be as spacious and well appointed as it was and our room had a view of the river so that was a bonus. The cost was moderate, the room was very clean,the service was excellent and the breakfast was good. If you choose this hotel, ask the concierge where he would take someone special for a lovely meal. He will send you to a fabulous restaurant that you might miss,otherwise!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

During our stay in Rome, Venice and Paris our budget for two rooms per night at four night stay was the same for every destination. Location and a good night’s stay were key for us. And this hotel delivered, from the location, friendly staff, hotel amenities, to the spacious rooms. Cleanliness is an obvious mastered skill, as our rooms were made up every time we left our rooms, which included our afternoon naps! The rooms do have safes, but we never used them. Taxi service is readily available that are checked over by the front doors men. More times than not, we walked and enjoyed every minute of it. The area is my favorite, 1 minute walk to a piazza filled with food, coffee shops, shopping and historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.