We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel River to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel River
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #145 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved our time in Florence, and the Hotel River was a great hotel and surpased our expectations. It was great value for money and much nicer than other similarly prced hotels we stayed in throughout Italy and France. Our room had a nice balcony and a great view of the river. We like being a little way away from the hustle and bustle and it was a nice walk to the attractions. The concierge was very helpful with good English. He booked us into a great tour of Tuscany and recommended some nice local restaurants. We were on our honeymoon and really appreciated the complementary bottle of champagne. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    210
    67
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
224
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a great hotel...from the people who run it to the rooms and the views and the breakfast...this is a great hotel at a great price. We send many clients here also, since our company is "LOVERS OF ITALY" we get a lot of...."OH I loved this hotel...." from them. All and all a great, warm, clean, fairly priced hotel right on the river....We will keep going back and I plan on telling more and more people about the great experence of "Hotel River" in Florence.....

Room Tip: Great rooms with River views or terraces, if you can afford them, but the also offer a terrace open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is excellent and all staff and facilities were excellent. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the main city and all its attractions, in August in high temperatures this walk did feel a little tedious. However the hotel overlooks the river and without the scorching temperatures the walk would have been good exercise and pleasant. I guess to summarize in August any walk takes all your energy. If I have one negative it is the breakfast was the same each of the three days and as the hotel was crowded finding a table sometimes took a few minutes to sort out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Let me begin by saying that when I look for a hotel when traveling in Europe, I look for the basics meaning a good, clean bed and private bathroom with a safe and internet. This place fit it all. It is located a bit further down the Arno but not too far since you walk everywhere anyway (10 min walk to Ponte Vecchio). We stayed in the lower part near the dining area and enjoyed it. Wireless service did not work too well down there but it worked fine on the terrace which is nearby. It also worked fine in the lobby. Breakfast was normal small European fare with salami and breads. This hotel is not the Ritz but it is far from Motel 6. We stayed there for 5 nights and was perfectly comfortable there. Rooms are normal european double size but the point to which I want to make is we literally woke up, ate a bit of the breakfast and did not come home until late. We were non stop trying to see as much as possible so this hotel was perfect it all the traveling ways. If you want luxury and hanging out in the hotel all day, this probably is not for you. If you want a good place to sleep, shower and relax at night, this is prefect. Price is good also ($115 a night) Oh and the staff spoke good English.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was a great location to stay for sightseeing. It was only a 15/20 minute walk to the Uffizi and about ten minutes to the Santa Croce. Apart from being pleasant being by the river it helped us get our bearings and was probably cooler too. Obviously we got some mosquito bites but it wasn't an issue as our room was air-conditioned (we couldn't have done without it as the temperatures were in the high 30's).

Breakfast was good and the room was clean. The bathroom was excellent. There is a little terrace on the top floor overlooking the weir which would be lovely to sit on when the weather is cool enough! There is also an attractive courtyard to sit out in and a conservatory area to have breakfast in or sit in during the day as well as a few more comfortable chairs by reception. The only channel in English on the TV was CNN.

I would definitely recomment this hotel but Florence means a lot of walking and if this were a problem a more central hotel might be better.

Take note that there is now a tourist tax of 3 euros per person a night!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the courtyard would have been quieter than one with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is wonderful, artistic, delicate and elegant, like Florence itself.

River hotel is a perfect place, and those who administrate it have a strong attention to tiny details. Nothing is placed outside the elegance and armony! Rooms, bathrooms, restaurant, everything is touched by taste and elegance appealling to all our senses: from the music, the visual effects of the interior design and the river view, to the wonderful perfume smell in all rooms.

The only thing shading this splendour is the distance to sites-the walking distance to Ponte Vecchio and Uffizzi is about 30 min. However, the walk along Arno River is very pleasant and romantic .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was nicer than any hotel in the U.S. that I've stayed at - the quality of the service was amazing. Small, intimate hotel across from the Arno River, located a 15 minute walk from the center of Florence. Beautifully and tastefully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean bathroom, good shower. Even wool blankets! Concierge was always most helpful and the price was terrific too. We stayed for a week, had a quiet room, and they serve breakfast in a dining room with an adjacent enclosed area. Pleasant courtyard in the back where our rooms faced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#88 Business Hotel in Florence
#135 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.