We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Casa di Morfeo to your Saves list
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Ghibellina 51, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A small gem -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at La Casa di Morfeo for three nights in December. It is a wonderful small hotel in the heart of Florence situated inside an apartment house. You might miss it at first, but be vigilant as it is worth the search. The staff was very warm and helpful to us and gave us excellent advice as to what places to see and how to get to them. A small hint: the lighting in the hallway is not always on (an attempt to save electricity I assume). There is a switch in the hallway you can use. I do not remember its exact location, but the staff will show you where it is.

We were visiting our daughter and her family and when they joined us for breakfast one day, they were very well received - even the 5 and 7 year old boys. We were told we would have to pay for the extra breakfasts ahead of time so we were pleasantly surprised when they told us the boys were not charged.

We also received excellent suggestions for dinners. The only warning is be aware that the numbering system for addresses in Florence is not good. We were told by our daughter that businesses and homes are numbered differently so you cannot necessarily follow the numbers in order as we do in the states.

We recommend this hotel highly and would stay here again.

Ellen L.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Ellen,
we would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel, to spend your time with such of kind words and to pay so much attention finding us!
We tried to do our best helping our guests and giving them tips about our city and when people like you apreciate our job it means that we're working on the good way and we are very proud if we are able to let you feel at home!

Thank again for your kindness and we will be very glad to lodge you again in the future toghether with your wonderful family and grandchildren!

We wish you all the best!
Samuela, Clara & all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    52
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
149
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i stayed in Hotel La Casa Di Morfeo for 2 nights Mid November 2012, it was really perfect starting from the very lovely, helpful and friendly stuff and special thanks to Samuela who was keen for our arrival and helped us a lot, unforunately i can't remeber the rest of the names but also the lady who welcomed us and gave us an overview + a map for the city also the lady who helps in the breakfast :) everybody was perfect, location is perfect very clost to SMN Station and a bus station infront of the hotel, you wont need a bus that much as the hotel is just right in the center :). i really recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your stay in Florence.

Our mission is to ensure our clients a pleasant stay, unique and unforgettable, without loosing an informal and familiar ambience.

It was a great pleasure, to have you, as our guest and we would like to send our best wishes.

Thanks again for the kind review, we wish to host you again in the future.

Best regards

Samuela and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights in mid-November and I must say, La Casa di Morfeo more than exceeded my expectations!
From the moment we were greeted by the ever so lovely Clara, who took the time to point out to us the main tourist attractions, restaurants and gelato bars, we knew we were in for a treat.

The rooms were well designed, spacious and clean. The staff greeted us each and every time we entered or exited the hotel, and every time we requested assistance, it was handled promptly.
Clara and Caesar were also kind enough to arrange a birthday cake for my partner and it was something we both fully appreciated.

Breakfast was enjoyable, particularly the ready to eat rolls, yogurts and pates.

The hotel is situated just outside the heart of Florence, but a quick stroll to the end of the street (Via Ghibellina) will see you reach Duomo in no time. In addition, there is an array of quality restaurants along Via Ghibellina so you will not be short on dining options. We firmly recommend you try Trattoria Osteria Da Que' Ganzi, which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel along the abovementioned street - high quality Italian meal at affordable prices.

Thank you Clara and team for being amazing hosts and making our stay in Florence so pleasant. Next time we are in Florence, be prepared to reserve a room for us :)

Room Tip: Taxi fare from Santa Maria Novella station should be between 8-10 euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very very much for your review!

I can not describe my happiness in reading such nice words, expecially reading that my personal and professional effort to make your stay pleasant and relaxing has been appreciated.

I hope, we all hope, you will remember your stay at La Casa di Morfeo as a great time and we

wish to meet you again in the future!

Thanks again! Take care!

All the best

Clara and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I would like to thank the staff especially samuela for organising my wife's birthday flowers cake etc. they also booked museum reservations before we arrived.great location, nice tidy rooms , and really great staff , thank you very much for a nice stay, very welcoming ! mr and mrs Barrett

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Barrett,

I am so happy to read such nice review... and also that my effort to make your anniversary special and memorable was appreciated.

Our goal is to make our guest happy and satisfied about their stay and I am so pleased I could say we got it!

I wish we could meet again in the future and that you would choose again La Casa di Morfeo for your next holiday.

All the best

Samuela and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful bed-and-breakfast not far from all of Florences top attractions. Our room was very nice and everything was very clean. The breakfast was very good and the barista made us a cappuccino and he said it was the best in Rome. He was right, it was the best we had! The staff was helpful and kind. They even gave us a bottle of wine upon departure! We would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Our goal is to pamper you and make your stay memorable, pleasant and relaxing and everytime we

read such nice words it make us very happy and we always wish our personal and professional

effort is appreciated and helpful.

Wishing to host you again in the future,

All the best

Clara and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful Hotel with great staff. Cesare, Samuela, Rafaela, Alda, Guta, Adriana and Emilia, thank you for making us feel at home in Florence. Hotel room was spacious, very comfortable, very clean and easy to get to. Breakfast was great. Location was great with 3 sights on the same street and within walking distance; House of Bunoroti (Michelangelo's nephew), Museo Borgello and Palazzo Vechio. Although we tend to get lost easily, the hotel was greatly situated within walking distance to the Duomo and other attractions. The staff made us feel like old friends and made the BB our home away from home. Had a wonderful 7 days in Florence and hated to leave. Again thank you Casa di Morfeo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your stay in Florence.

Our mission is to ensure our clients a pleasant stay, unique and unforgettable, without loosing an informal and familiar ambience.

It was a great pleasure, to have you, as our guest and we would like to send our best wishes.

Thanks again for the kind review, we wish to host you again in the future.

Best regards

Samuela, Cesare, Raffaella, Greta, Emilia and Alda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall, a beautiful and clean place. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. The only reservation we had about it was the location.

We stayed for 3 nights in October. We arrived by train, and it was relatively easy to find although the directions from the website weren't helpful at all. The walk from the train station, estimated at 20 min by their directions, seemed longer than that. The staff's estimations of distance, like telling us it would take only 5-7 minutes to the Duomo, always seemed underestimates. For reference, we are young travelers who are fairly fast walkers, and we're used to walking being a given part of travel in historic cities like this. We saw major sights such as the Duomo, market, Uffizi, Accademia. We knew it wasn't right in the old city, but even so we were surprised, and the walk back to the hotel always seemed longer than we expected.

That said, everything else about the hotel was beyond criticism. It was stylish and beautiful, and looked exactly like the photos from the website. The room was clean and quiet. The street which the hotel is on is quiet and we had no difficulty with noise. The bathroom was very clean. Staff were incredibly kind. They really, really went out of their way to help us with anything we needed, including making reservations at museums and restaurants. They welcomed us with refreshments when we checked in, and packaged a huge breakfast for us when we had to catch an early morning flight out. Breakfasts were elaborate, with good selections of pastries, savory sandwiches, juices, yogurts, fresh fruit, and hot drinks to order.

Wifi: free to use, and decent. We could web surf and check email without difficulty, but skype was limited to voice only as video seemed to cause it to crash. From our limited experiences at other hotels this was a common problem, not just here.

Overall, the location is the only thing which would make me hesitate to stay here again. It might not seem far from Santa Croce Church, but the other main sights seemed far. Otherwise we liked the style, cleanliness, and especially the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your rewiev.

I am really surprised reading that you think we are really far away from the city center because the distance between Via Ghibellina and Via Calzaiuoli (Duomo) is less than 1,5 km (5-6 minutes walking).
Usually our guest appreciate the quiet and silent zone and consider the distance (not exactly central but still very close) a "plus" of our hotel because often the "earth" of the city could be very noisy during the night time...

Anyway, our company owns other 3 hotels very central (Duomo area, main train station area and Piazza della Repubblica) so if you liked our style and service next time you could choose one of them, we would be very happy to have you again!

Thanks for the nice words you reserved to our staff: we are really glad our personal and professional effort to make our guest happy was appreciated!

Clara and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casa di Morfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Address: Via Ghibellina 51, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa di Morfeo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Casa di Morfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.