We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a climb but what a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)

Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)
Piazza del Duomo | Historical Center, 10000 Florence, Italy
055-230-2885
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 212 attractions in Florence
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Bradley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite a climb but what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was quite a climb to the top but the view was well worth it! There are levels to stop and rest along the way. The steps are stone and there are alot of them but once you get to the top you can see all of Florence. We purchased the Firenze Card so our admission was included and we got right in, no waiting. A must do!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    380
    33
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Worth the climb for Duomo views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I climbed the Duomo back in 2009, so on this trip I decided to climb the campanile. So glad I did - the duomo views were worth it. The climb is easy - I was in a hurry and was rushing it as well, but they have levels on the way up for nice breaks if you need it. Go to the top and enjoy the views of the city and especially the duomo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Architecture at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

traditional florentine Art and architecture from the middle ages to the Renaissance, also see the Baptistery

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Get there early for a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I got there 15 minutes after it opened on Easter Monday and there was no queue at all. Paid my €6 and set off to the top. Not sure whether it was a good idea but decided to count the steps as I went up so I knew how close to the top I was getting.

With very few people in the tower it was a very pleasant experience - cant imagine what it would be like with people trying to pass each other on the steps. Stopped for a couple of photo opportunities on the way up and then was soon at the top. The view is fantastic and you get a very privileged view of the whole of Florence including the Duomo next door.

Descended quickly to avoid meting too many people on the stairs. My legs certainly were aching at the bottom but a great place to visit to was worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giurgiu, Giurgiu, Romania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I love climbing the stairs at Campanile. Many stairs indeed, but you can rest at each level (there are four levels including the top). Nice views over the city and neighbourhoods.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.