We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I CAN SEE FOR MILES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giotto's Bell Tower

Giotto's Bell Tower
Piazza del Duomo | Historical Center, 10000 Florence, Italy
055-230-2885
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Giotto's Bell Tower like an insider
Skip the Line
$63*
and up
Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance...
Ranked #13 of 415 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aubrey, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I CAN SEE FOR MILES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We climbed to the top of the duomo and waved to persons on the campanile and were able to view some of the bells. On the ground we walked around it to admire the different kinds of marble. Such a magnificent piece of architecture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,016
    674
    68
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is recommended for people without a fear of heights and claustrophobia as one of us was crawling up the last of the 414 steps. But the view was well worth the climb!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go on, test your fitness.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a fairly tough climb to the top up a narrow winding staircase, with others coming in the opposite direction, but there are plenty of resting stages along the way and it is definitely worth it for the view from the top.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great for picture taking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the view at the top is amazing, but getting to it was a nightmare. you have to go up A LOT of stairs, which was fine for me, but many people had problems. My problem was that at the last 2 levels, the staircase became extremely narrow, and some people were so tired that they could absolutely not move, making everyone stuck, and me being claustrophobic started panicking. By the time I got to the top, I really couldn't enjoy the beautiful view, and was already dreading the way back down. Also not recommended for anyone with fear of heights.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Go and see it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is wonderful. Almost all Florence is, you may say. But even being repetitive I have to say it deserves a leisure visit. Florence was not made in a day and so, deserves a long visit to be enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto's Bell Tower also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Giotto's Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giotto's Bell Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.