We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)

Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)
Piazza del Duomo | Historical Center, 10000 Florence, Italy
055-230-2885
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 214 attractions in Florence
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is recommended for people without a fear of heights and claustrophobia as one of us was crawling up the last of the 414 steps. But the view was well worth the climb!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,185
    385
    33
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go on, test your fitness.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a fairly tough climb to the top up a narrow winding staircase, with others coming in the opposite direction, but there are plenty of resting stages along the way and it is definitely worth it for the view from the top.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great for picture taking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the view at the top is amazing, but getting to it was a nightmare. you have to go up A LOT of stairs, which was fine for me, but many people had problems. My problem was that at the last 2 levels, the staircase became extremely narrow, and some people were so tired that they could absolutely not move, making everyone stuck, and me being claustrophobic started panicking. By the time I got to the top, I really couldn't enjoy the beautiful view, and was already dreading the way back down. Also not recommended for anyone with fear of heights.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go and see it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is wonderful. Almost all Florence is, you may say. But even being repetitive I have to say it deserves a leisure visit. Florence was not made in a day and so, deserves a long visit to be enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tiring but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are hundreds of steps, no lift and the stairs are quite narrow so you have to be careful when passing people but the views from the top are amazing and well worth the 6 euros you pay to go up there.

There is a gift shop at the bottom selling mostly the same stuff that is sold in almost every musseum and tourist site in Florence and there several terraces part way up where you can have a sit down and rest, but if you can, you should try and climb to the top where there is an enclosed walkway around the top and you can see all around and get great views of the city.

Climbing this tower takes a lot of effort and it can be difficult for people with heart problems, disabilities or general health issues. There is no wheelchair access to the tower so if you cannot walk, there is probably little you can do here. Those unsteady on their feet may have some difficulties but as long as you take it steady and rest where you can, it should be managable. I am 28, overweight and have asthma and for me it was a struggle but I made it all the way to the top so for most people it should be easy enough.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) to your Saves list